Scientists in the News

Horton H. Hobbs, Jr., will resign his professorship in biology at the University of Virginia on 31 January 1962, to accept an appointment as curator of zoology with the U.S. National Museum in Washington, D.C.

Carl H. Oppenheimer, former research scientist at the University of Texas' marine institute, has been appointed research associate professor of microbiology at the University of Miami's Institute of Marine Science.

Hirsch L. Silverman, professor of psychology at Yeshiva University's Graduate School of Education, will serve as visiting consulting professor during 1962–63 at Lane College (Jackson, Tenn.) and Florida Memorial College (St. Augustine, Fla.).

Guenther von Elbe, former vice president of Combustion & Explosives Research, Inc., in Pittsburgh, Pa., has been appointed a staff scientist at Atlantic Research Corporation's kinetics and combustion division in Alexandria, Va.

Robert B. Lawson, interim dean of the University of Miami School of Medicine, has been named professor and chairman of the department of pediatrics at Northwestern University Medical School.

Albert E. Sobel, head of the department of biochemistry at the Jewish Hospital of Brooklyn, has been named Claude Bernard visiting professor at the University of Montreal.

Norman N. Axelrod, of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, has been appointed assistant professor of physics at the University of Delaware. Axelrod has been spending a year's leave of absence at the University of London.

William R. Wright, of the University of Kansas, and Solomon L. Schwebel, of Lockheed Missiles and Space Division in Palo Alto, Calif., have been appointed associate professors of physics at the University of Cincinnati.

T. Marshall Hahn, dean of arts and sciences at Kansas State University, has been appointed president of Virginia Polytechnic Institute. He succeeds Walter S. Newman, who is retiring in June.

William W. Bauer has retired as director of the American Medical Association's department of health education. He is succeeded by Fred V. Hein, who has been consultant and assistant director of the department since 1946. Bauer will continue to serve as consultant to the AMA's division of environmental health.

George M. Bryan, former manager of Cal-Mont Industries' electro-chemistry section, has joined Acoustica Associates, Inc., in Los Angeles, as a senior scientist in the research department.

William G. Royce, of Cohu Electronics' Kin Tel Division, has been appointed director of engineering at Cimron Corporation in San Diego, Calif.

George F. Stevenson, assistant professor of pathology at Northwestern University Medical School, has been named clinical scientist of the year by the Association of Clinical Scientists.

John N. Goulias, a former technologist with Shell Oil Company's Wood River Refinery, has joined the research staff of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's operations evaluation group in Washington, D.C.

Charles M. Brinckerhoff, president of the Anaconda Company, has received Columbia University's 1961 Egleston Medal for "distinguished engineering achievement."

Louis P. Hellman, a former deputy director in the Navy Department's Bureau of Medicine and Surgery, has been appointed research program specialist in the research grants branch of the National Institutes of Health's division of general medical sciences.

J. Walter Hendrix, professor of plant pathology at Washington State University, is spending his sabbatical leave conducting research at the U.S. Army Chemical Corps Biological Laboratories in Fort Detrick, Maryland.

Ira H. Abbott, director of advanced research and technology for the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, has retired after more than 32 years of government service. Thomas F. Dixon, deputy associate administrator, will serve as acting director until a successor is named.

Thomas B. Warren, senior scientist at International Telephone and Telegraph Laboratories, has been appointed research director of Micro State Electronics Corporation's microwave components division.

William E. Edmonston, Jr., instructor in medical psychology at Washington University School of Medicine (Missouri), has received the first Bernard E. Gorton award for his paper on hypnotic age-regression.

Francis E. O'Meara, former project scientist for Booz-Allen Applied Research, has been appointed chief of the offense team in the U.S. Air Force Office of Operations Analysis.

James A. Miller, chairman of the department of anatomy at Tulane University, will spend 6 months during 1962 under a Fulbright award at the University of Turku in Finland.

Hans Muxfeldt, of the Technische Hochschule in Braunschweig, Germany, has become an associate professor in the chemistry department at the University of Wisconsin.

Don Fowler, former chief of industrial hygiene for the Chrysler Corporation, has been appointed health and safety director for the Lead Industries Association in New York. He succeeds the late Manfred Bowditch.

John C. Eberhart, former executive associate of the Commonwealth Fund in New York, has joined the staff of the National Institute of Mental Health as associate director for intramural research.

Raymond C. Machler, director of research and development for Leeds & Northrup Company in Philadelphia, has retired after 28 years with the company. He will engage in consulting work, with Leeds & Northrup as one of his clients.

Gustav Eckstein, emeritus professor of physiology at the University of Cincinnati college of medicine, has accepted a position as part-time member of the college's department of psychiatry.

Erratum. In the article "Olfactory stimuli in mammalian reproduction," by A. S. Parkes and H. M. Bruce [Science 134, 1049 (1961)], the acknowledgement (p. 1054, reference 31) should have read: "It is a pleasure to express our thanks to Dr. Dorothy Price for calling our attention to the work of Jan Martan on the supracaudal glands of the guinea pig. . ."