of the United Kingdom to be named a Douglas Lea memorial lecturer. The lectures, given biennially, are sponsored by the British Hospital Physicists' Association.

Yudell L. Luke, head of the mathematical analysis section at Midwest Research Institute, has been named senior adviser for mathematics at the institute.

V. Lawrence Parsegian, former professor of nuclear engineering at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and dean of the institute's School of Engineering, has been named the first Rensselaer Professor.

Cadet Hand, professor of zoology at the University of California (Berkeley), has been appointed acting director of the university's new Marine Biology Field Station currently under development.

D. Jerome Fisher, professor of mineralogy at the University of Chicago, reached emeritus status on 1 October. He plans to continue with his research work in the department.

James A. R. Samson, research physicist who recently established a vacuum ultraviolet laboratory at Harvard, has joined the staff of the Geophysics Corporation of America.

Eleanor J. Bader, physical therapist and a former executive director of the Delaware Curative Workshop, Wilmington, has been appointed program consultant to the National Society for Crippled Children and Adults.

E. G. D. Murray, visiting professor in medical research at the University of Western Ontario, has been named the 12th Augustus B. Wadsworth lecturer of the State Association of Public Health Laboratories, New York

Walter O. Walker has retired as dean of research and industry and professor of chemistry at the University of Miami. He will remain at the university as director of the industrial chemical research laboratory.

Gilbert F. Hamilton, of Aberdeen University, Aberdeen, Scotland, will serve as visiting professor of anatomy at Marquette Medical School, Milwaukee, for the 1961–62 academic year.

Karl F. Meyer, professor emeritus of experimental pathology at the University of California Medical Center (San Francisco) and director emeritus of the university's George Williams Hooper Foundation for Medical Research, has received the 1961 Griffin award of the Animal Care Panel.

John W. Hamblen, former director of the computing center at the University of Kentucky, has been named director of Southern Illinois University's data processing and computing center.

Captain John R. Seal, former commanding officer of the Naval Medical Research Unit in Cairo, Egypt, has assumed command of the Naval Medical Research Institute, Naval Medical Center, Bethesda, Md.

J. Robert Snyder, former associate professor of chemical engineering at Villanova University, has been named associate professor of chemical engineering at Pennsylvania State University.

Chauncey G. Bly, former consultant in radioisotopes and pathology to the National Cancer Institute, has been appointed president of Thiel College, Greenville, Pa.

William A. Ogletree, physicist and former vice president and general manager of Computer Systems, Inc., has been appointed general manager of the Sarasota products division of Electro-Mechanical Research, Inc.

Charles E. Osgood, director of the University of Illinois' Institute of Communications Research, has been elected president of the American Psychological Association, effective in the fall of 1962.

Brooks T. Morris, director of the propulsion division of Marquardt Corporation, has been appointed to the newly established position of special assistant for reliability assurance at the California Institute of Technology Jet Propulsion Laboratory.

Daniel Fromm, professor in the newly formed department of food science and processing at North Carolina State College of Agriculture and Engineering, has received the Institute of American Poultry Industries' \$1000 award for his work in poultry and egg products technology.

James Watt, director of the National Heart Institute, has been appointed director of the Public Health Service's Division of International Health.

Howard L. Poss, former technical staff member of Radio Corporation of America Laboratories, has been appointed associate professor of physics at Temple University.

Cyrus O. Guss has been named professor of chemistry and chairman of the department at the University of Nevada. During the past year he has been serving as a visiting lecturer at the University of Illinois while on sabbatical leave from Colorado State University.

Charles H. Rammelkamp, Jr., professor of medicine at Western Reserve University, will receive the first research achievement award of the American Heart Association.

David C. Goldberg, of Westinghouse Electric Corporation's astronuclear laboratory, and Roger A. McIntyre, of the company's air arm division, have been appointed director and associate director, respectively, of the company's newly formed space materials department.

James S. Swinehart, assistant professor of chemistry at Wagner College, Staten Island, N.Y., has been appointed associate professor of chemistry at American University, Washington, D.C.

Jerome Rothstein, senior scientific executive for Edgerton, Germeshausen and Grier, Inc., in Boston, has been named vice president and chief scientist for Maser Optics, Inc., Cambridge, Mass., a recently formed company which specializes in lasers and coherent optics.

Recent Deaths

Homer T. Gittings, Jr., 40; laboratory group leader at the University of California's Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory; 7 Sept.

Lawrence Reynolds, 72; roentgenologist and past president of the American College of Radiology; 17 Aug.

Percy Viosca, Jr., 69; fisheries biologist with the Louisiana State Department of Conservation; 27 Aug.

Errratum. The last sentence in the next-to-last paragraph on page 873 of L. Pettit's letter "Soviet commitment to Lysenkoism" [Science 134, 872 (22 Sept. 1961)] mentions ". . . the familiar 1:21:1 ratio of red, pink, and white F_2 flowers. . . ." The ratio should have been 1:2:1.