Scientists in the News

Nicholaas Bloembergen of Harvard University and H. E. D. Scovil of the Bell Telephone Laboratories have been selected by the Franklin Institute to receive the Stuart Ballentine medal "for the invention of the three-level solid-state maser and its subsequent development for practical use."

Robert M. O'Neal, former associate professor of pathology at the Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, has been named professor and chairman of the department of pathology at Baylor University College of Medicine.

Frank J. Kreysa, of W. R. Grace and Company, Washington, D.C., has been appointed staff associate for physics, chemistry, and related sciences at the Smithsonian Institution's Science Information Exchange.

M. King Hubbert, consultant in general geology to the Shell Development Company, Houston, Texas, has been named visiting professor of geology and geophysics at Stanford for the winter quarters of the academic years 1961–62 and 1962–63.

Rhodes W. Fairbridge, professor of geology at Columbia, is on sabbatical leave as visiting professor at the Sorbonne, Paris.

Frederick H. Kasten, biologist at the A & M College of Texas, has been named the first Feulgen Memorial Lecturer by the Justus Liebig University of Giessen, Germany.

Frederick T. Hedgcock, associate professor of physics at the University of Ottawa, has been named manager of the Franklin Institute's magnetics and semi-conductor laboratory, Philadelphia.

MacRoy Gasque, of Duke University Medical School's department of preventive medicine, has been named to the newly created position of medical director at Olin Mathieson Chemical Corp.

John K. Clark, former associate professor of medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, has been appointed vice president of research and development at Smith, Kline and French Laboratories.

18 AUGUST 1961

Hao Wang, reader in the philosophy of mathematics at Oxford University, has been appointed Gordon McKay professor of mathematical logic and applied mathematics at Harvard.

Gustave J. Dammin, member of the faculty of medicine and pathologist-inchief at the Peter Bent Brigham Hospital, Boston, has been appointed the first Elsie T. Friedman professor of pathology at Harvard University Medical School.

Irving Schulman, professor of pediatrics at Northwestern University Medical School and director of hematology at Children's Memorial Hospital, has been appointed head of the department of pediatrics at the University of Illinois College of Medicine. He succeeds Heyworth N. Sanford, who is retiring.

Dragoslav Popovic, professor of nuclear reactor engineering at the University of Belgrade, has been appointed director of the International Atomic Energy Agency's Safeguards Division.

Joseph M. Foley, professor of neurology at Seton Hall University College of Medicine and Dentistry, has been appointed professor and director of the division of neurology at Western Reserve University's School of Medicine.

Hilton A. Smith, professor of chemistry at the University of Tennessee, has been appointed dean of the university's graduate school and coordinator of research, effective 1 September.

Alfred Lit, formerly with Bendix Systems Division, Ann Arbor, Michigan, has been appointed professor of psychology at Southern Illinois University.

Aaron Seamster, chairman of the department of biology, Northeast Louisiana State College, has been appointed dean of the division of pure and applied science. He will be succeeded as department chairman by **B. Earl Price**, associate professor of biology.

Joy B. Phillips, associate professor of zoology at Drew University, has received Sigma Delta Epsilon's first grantin-aid for research by a woman.

Roger E. Batzel, nuclear chemist and associate director of the University of California's Livermore Laboratory, has been appointed acting associate director for testing at the university's Lawrence Radiation Laboratory. He succeeds Gerald W. Johnson, who has been appointed chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission's Military Liaison Committee and assistant to the Secretary of Defense for atomic energy.

John T. Norton, dean of the graduate school and professor of physics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has received the Plansee plaque, awarded triennially by the International Plansee Society for Powder Metallurgy. He is the first American to receive the award.

Richard H. Bohning, assistant dean of Ohio State University's College of Agriculture and Home Economics, will direct the training of 36 Peace Corps volunteers, of whom 25 will be selected to serve in India in the Punjab.

Leo P. Vernon, on sabbatical leave from his post as professor of chemistry at Brigham Young University, has been appointed director of research at the Charles F. Kettering Laboratory, Yellow Springs, Ohio, effective 1 October.

William F. Bradley, professor and specialist in chemical crystallography and mineralogy at the University of Illinois, has been appointed professor of chemical engineering at the University of Texas.

Willard H. Bennett, head of the Atomic Physics Branch of the Naval Research Laboratory, has been named Burlington professor of physics at North Carolina State College.

John Thomas, associate professor of internal medicine at Meharry Medical College, has been appointed research collaborator in Brookhaven National Laboratory's medical department, under a program which provides facilities and funds for guest scientists.

William H. R. Shaw, associate professor of chemistry at the University of Texas, will become head of the University of Georgia's chemistry department on 1 September. He succeeds Alfred E. Scott, who is retiring.

Erratum: In "Scientists in the news" [134, 321 (4 Aug. 1961)] David Glick was erroneously reported to have been appointed head of the pathology department at Stanford University Medical School. Glick was named professor of pathology and head of the division of histochemistry in the pathology department. Alvin J. Cox is head of the department.