Announcements

Grants, Fellowships, and Awards

Nominations are being accepted from AAAS fellows for the 1961 Theobald Smith award, for "demonstrated research in the field of the medical sciences" which shows independence of thought and originality. Any investigator who was less than 35 years old on 1 January 1961 and who is a citizen of the United States is eligible. The research is not to be judged in comparison with the work of more mature and experienced investigators. The award is given by Eli Lilly and Company under the auspices of the AAAS. Nominations must be received before 1 September. (Dr. Oscar Touster, Department of Biochemistry, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Nashville 5, Tenn.)

Postdoctoral research fellowships and grants to institutions in aid of **cardio**vascular research are being offered by the Life Insurance Medical Research Fund. Candidates desiring a postdoctoral research fellowship in any field of the medical sciences must submit applications by 1 October. Preference is given to those who wish to work on fundamental problems, particularly those related to cardiovascular function or disease. Minimum stipend is \$4500, with dependency and travel allowances.

Applications from institutions desiring support for physiological, biochemical, and other basic work broadly related to cardiovascular problems as well as for clinical research in this field, will be accepted *until 1 November*. (Scientific Director, Life Insurance Medical Research Fund, 1030 E. Lancaster Ave., Rosemont, Pa.)

Twenty-five scholarships are available to academic personnel who wish to attend the **infrared spectroscopy** sessions and the **gas chromatography** session of the Fisk Infrared Institute, to be held at Fisk University from 23 August to 1 September. The awards, which were made possible by a grant from the National Science Foundation, cover tuition, room and board, and travel. The deadline for applications is 20 July. (Director, Fisk Infrared Institute, Fisk University, 17th Ave. North and Jackson St., Nashville, Tenn.)

Scientists in the News

R. Elinor H. Judd, laboratory supervisor at the Robert Brigham Hospital Clinical Laboratories, has received the 1961 Corning award as the year's outstanding medical technologist in the United States. The award, given by the American Society of Medical Technologists, was presented at the annual meeting of the Society, in Seattle.

Four newly elected foreign associates of the National Academy of Sciences are as follows:

Keith E. Bullen, professor of applied mathematics, University of Sydney, Australia.

Boris Ephrussi, professor of genetics at the Sorbonne and director of the Genetics Laboratory at the National Center for Scientific Research, Gif-sur-Yvette, France.

Werner K. Heisenberg, director of the Max Planck Institute for Physics and Astrophysics, Munich, Germany.

Vladimir Prelog, professor of organic chemistry and director of the laboratory, Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich, Switzerland.

Ilmo Hela, director of the Institute of Marine Research, Finland, has been appointed chief scientist in charge of the newly established research program on the effects of radioactivity in the sea. The program will be conducted in Monaco under a trilateral agreement between the International Atomic Energy Agency, the Government of Monaco, and the Monaco Institute of Oceanography.

John C. Snyder, dean of the faculty of public health at Harvard, has been selected to be the university's first Henry Pickering Walcott professor of microbiology.

W. A. Deer, professor of geology at Manchester University, England, has been elected to the chair of mineralogy and petrology at Cambridge University, effective 1 October.

Robert W. Truitt, head of the department of aerospace engineering at Virginia Polytechnic Institute, has been appointed head of the department of mechanical engineering at North Carolina State College. He will be succeeded by **James B. Eades, Jr.**, professor of aerospace engineering at the institute.

Hans E. Hinteregger, physicist at Air Force Cambridge Research Laboratories' spectroscopic studies branch, has been presented the Air Force Meritorious Civilian Service award for his work in the field of ultraviolet radiation research.

K. R. Ramanathan, meteorologist with the Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad, India, has received the International Meteorological Organization prize of the World Meteorological Organization.

Henry A. Hill, organic chemist and vice president of National Polychemicals, Wilmington, Mass., has been elected president of Riverside Research Laboratory, Cambridge, Mass.

J. A. Scanlan, associate professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Texas, has been appointed director of the university's new nuclear reactor laboratory, which is to be established next year.

Winston H. Bostick, head of the physics department at Stevens Institute of Technology, has been awarded first prize in the annual international competition of the Gravity Research Foundation.

Gilbert L. Woodside, dean of the graduate school and former head of the department of zoology at the University of Massachusetts, will become provost of the university on 1 July.

Alfred Novak, professor of natural science at Michigan State University, has been appointed chairman of the division of science and mathematics at Stephens College, Columbia, Missouri.

James R. Oliver, professor of chemistry at the University of Southwestern Louisiana, has been appointed dean of the university's graduate school.

Joseph L. Bernier, chief of the Army Dental Corps and professor of oral pathology at Georgetown University, has been elected a fellow of the British Royal Society of Medicine.

Lorin W. Roberts, assistant professor of botany at the University of Idaho, was recently named a Chevalier de l'Ordre du Mérite Agricola by the French Minister of Agriculture.