- Kenneth S. Pitzer, professor and former dean of the University of California's College of Chemistry (Berkeley), has been appointed president of Rice University. Pitzer is also chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission's General Advisory Committee and head of the chemistry section of the National Academy of Sciences.
- Reinout P. Kroon, former aeronautical research engineer with the Westinghouse Electric Corporation, has been appointed George Westinghouse professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Pennsylvania. Kroon has been serving as visiting professor of mechanical engineering at the university's Towne School of Civil and Mechanical Engineering since last July.
- John F. Dashiell, emeritus Kenan professor of psychology at the University of North Carolina, has been appointed distinguished lecturer in psychology at Florida State University, effective in September. During the current summer session he will serve as visiting professor of psychology at the University of Rochester.
- Carlton S. Proctor has been reappointed to serve as Engineers Joint Council representative to the U.S. National Commission for UNESCO.
- P. Edward Byerly, formerly with the U.S. Geological Survey, Washington, D.C., has joined the staff of the La Habra Laboratory, California Research Corporation, San Francisco, as a research geophysicist.
- Kenneth F. Wertman, head of the University of Arizona's department of bacteriology and medical technology, will serve as visiting professor of microbiology at the University of Costa Rica this summer, under terms of a grant from the U.S. Department of State's educational exchange program.
- Franz N. D. Kurie, retired technical director of the Navy Electronics Laboratory, San Diego, Calif., recently received the Navy's Distinguished Civilian Service award for the technical programs he initiated and fostered at the laboratory.
- Earl H. Wood, physiologist at the Mayo Clinic, will become the American Heart Association's tenth career investigator on 1 July.

- Paul A. Scherer, former executive officer of the Carnegie Institution of Washington and treasurer of the AAAS since 1954, has been appointed special consultant to the director of the National Science Foundation.
- Norman H. Jasper, former head of the Ship's Dynamic Division at the Navy's David Taylor Model Basin, Carderock, Md., has been appointed superintending scientist of the Navy Mine Defense Laboratory, Panama City, Fla.
- Saul D. Larks, assistant professor of biophysics at the University of California (Los Angeles), has been appointed professor of electrical engineering at Marquette University. His new duties will include the organization of a teaching and research program in bioelectric phenomena and biomedical engineering.
- C. G. Hunter, former professor of physiological hygiene at the University of Toronto School of Hygiene, Toronto, Canada, has been appointed director of Shell Research's newly established Tunstall Laboratory in Kent, England.
- David R. Mitchell has been named dean of the College of Mineral Industries at Pennsylvania State University. He will continue to serve as professor and chairman of the division of mineral engineering.
- Roger E. Batzel, nuclear chemist and head of the chemistry division at the University of California's Lawrence Radiation Laboratory (Livermore), has been appointed associate director for chemistry at the laboratory.
- Arnold L. Demain, currently with the Merck Sharp & Dohme Research Laboratories and president of the New Jersey branch of the American Society for Microbiology, has been appointed director of the summer microbiology program for secondary school students at the University of California (Davis).
- G. Böhnecke has retired after 15 years as president of the Deutsches Hydrographisches Institut, Hamburg. He will continue to serve as secretary of the Special Committee on Oceanographic Research of the International Council of Scientific Unions.

- Martin Block, associate professor of physics at Duke University, has been appointed chairman of Northwestern University's department of physics.
- Ernest C. Herrmann, Jr., former head of Schering Corporation's virus and tissue-culture laboratory, has been appointed virologist at the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn., in the section of microbiology.
- Wilbur H. Goss, assistant director for technical evaluation at Johns Hopkins University's Applied Physics Laboratory, has received the Navy Distinguished Public Service award for his work on long-range supersonic antiaircraft missiles.
- Benedict E. Abreu, presently with the clinical research department of Pitman-Moore Company, Indianapolis, Ind., has been appointed professor and chairman of the department of pharmacology, University of Texas School of Medicine, Galveston.
- Joseph L. Gillson, retired chief geologist for the DuPont Company, has been named William Otis Crosby lecturer in geology at Massachusetts Institute of Technology for the Academic year 1961–62.
- Stanley J. Sarnoff, chief of the National Heart Institute's laboratory of cardiovascular physiology, has received the 1961 Malcolm Rogers memorial award "for excellence in the field of cardiovascular disease."

Recent Deaths

Carl Gustav Jung, 85; founder of the the Jungian school of psychoanalysis; 6 June.

Frederick V. Rand, 78; editor-inchief of *Botanical Abstracts* in the early 1930's; botany and plant pathology specialist with the U.S. Department of Agriculture from 1935 until his retirement in 1949; 6 June.

Wilber Stout, 84; retired state geologist of Ohio Division of Geological Survey; 20 May.

Robert E. Swain, 86; emeritus professor of chemistry at Stanford University and acting president of the university 1929–33; 31 May.

Erratum: The short course in medical genetics described in the announcement at the bottom of column 2, page 632, in the 3 March issue, is supported by the National Foundation rather than the National Science Foundation.