Richard L. Lehman, Lawrence Radiation Laboratory, University of California; Vaughn C. Moore, University of Minnesota Hospitals; Richard D. Neff, Tison-Pease Co., Los Angeles; and Donald Willhoit, University of Pittsburgh.

Leslie B. Arey, anatomist and professor emeritus at Northwestern University Medical School, has been named an adviser to the Laboratory of Perinatal Physiology, San Juan, Puerto Rico. The laboratory is part of the National Institutes of Health.

Leona Baumgartner, associate professor of pediatrics at Cornell Medical College and commissioner of health, New York City, and Roger Revelle, dean of the University of California's School of Science and Engineering and director of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, have been named members of the Advisory Council for the Peace Corps.

Howard J. Teas has been appointed head of the recently created Agricultural Bio-Sciences Division of the Puerto Rico Nuclear Center, University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez. He was previously associate professor of botany at the University of Florida Agricultural Experiment Station.

B. P. Pal, director of the Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, has been awarded the first Rafi Ahmed Kidwai memorial prize for agricultural research. He received the award for his work in breeding rustresistant varieties of wheat.

Stephen J. Angello, project manager of Westinghouse Electric Corporation's new products laboratories, has been named visiting Mackay professor of electrical engineering at the University of California, Berkeley.

Robert M. Hexter, senior fellow of the Mellon Institute, Pittsburgh, has received a Guggenheim fellowship and a Fulbright grant to engage in research on the electronic and vibrational spectra of molecular crystals at the Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa.

John S. Boyce, Jr., forest pathologist with the Southeastern Forest Experiment Station, Asheville, N.C., will join the University of Georgia's department of plant pathology and plant breeding on 1 July. **B. S. Chandrasekhar**, physicist, will become a visiting scientist at Imperial College, London.

Kan Chen, engineer, will conduct research in systems engineering at Stanford.

Donald P. Gaver, mathematician, will teach and carry on research in probability theory and statistics at Stanford.

Stanley L. Ruby, nuclear physicist, will hold a research fellowship at the Israel Atomic Energy Commission's research reactor establishment and at the Weizmann Institute, Rehovoth.

Irving H. Siegel, formerly a member of the senior staff of the President's Council of Economic Advisers, has been appointed chief of the new Military Economics and Costing Division of Johns Hopkins University's Operations Research Office.

Sam E. Stephenson, assistant professor of surgery, and Grant W. Liddle, associate professor of medicine, at Vanderbilt University, have been appointed associate directors of the university's Clinical Research Center.

Oswald K. Sagen, formerly chief of special studies in the U.S. National Health Survey, has been appointed chief of the National Office of Vital Statistics and assistant director of the National Center for Health Statistics, U.S. Public Health Service.

Edward A. Adelberg, chairman of the University of California's department of bacteriology, has been appointed professor of microbiology and chairman of the department at the Yale University School of Medicine.

Lawrence Z. Freedman, fellow at Stanford University's Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, has been named to a new professorship at the University of Chicago —that of research professor of psychiatry. He will head an intensive psychiatric study of nonconformist behavior. The project was established with a grant from the Foundations' Fund for Research in Psychiatry. Thelma C. Heatwole, patent liaison officer for the Philip Morris Company, has been honored by the Virginia Academy of Science for her leadership of the Junior Academy of Science over a 10-year period.

Georg von Bekesy, member of the faculty of Harvard University, has received the gold medal of the Acoustical Society of America for his research on the function of the human ear.

Peter G. Meek, administrator with the National Society for Crippled Children and Adults, has been appointed executive director of the National Health Council.

Yoshio Tanaka, research associate with the Geophysics Research Directorate, Air Force Cambridge Research Laboratories, Bedford, Mass., has been selected as the Guenter Loeser memorial lecturer for 1961. He was selected in recognition of his contributions to molecular spectroscopy, especially to knowledge of the structure of atmospheric gas molecules.

John S. Toll, chairman of the University of Maryland's physics department, has been elected chairman of the Federation of American Scientists. Other officers elected are Peter G. Bergmann (professor of physics, Syracuse), vice-chairman; William C. Davidon (Argonne National Laboratories), secretary; and M. Stanley Livingston (M.I.T.), treasurer.

Recent Deaths

Charles F. Crampton, 32; assistant professor of pathology and biochemistry, College of Medicine, University of Florida; formerly associated with the Rockefeller Institute; 23 Apr.

Hugo Roesler, Philadelphia; 62; cardiologist and associate professor of medicine at the Temple University Medical Center, Philadelphia; specialized in x-ray studies of the cardiovascular system and in electrocardiography; 26 Apr.

Frederick R. Wulsin, 68; anthropologist and member of the Secretary of the Army's advisory panel; 26 Feb.

Erratum. In the article "Behavioral thermoregulation," by B. Weiss and V. G. Laties [*Science* 133, 1338 (28 Apr. 1961)], the third sentence of the legend to Fig. 5 (p. 1341) should have read "Rats 2-1, 4-NN, and 0-1 were also run at an intensity setting of 75 wats." In the published article, rat 3-1 was erroneously included in the list given in this sentence.

SCIENCE, VOL. 133