Wright Rowe Adams, chairman of the department of medicine at the University of Chicago, has been appointed to the new post of associate dean of the biological sciences. Leon Jacobson, director of the Argonne Cancer Research Hospital, which is operated by the University of Chicago for the Atomic Energy Commission, has been appointed temporary chairman of the department of medicine.

Ernst Knöbil, now assistant professor at Harvard Medical School, has been appointed to the new Mellon professorship of physiology at the University of Pittsburgh. The chair was endowed by a grant from the Richard King Mellon Foundation.

Howard T. Karsner, a civilian employee of the Navy, has received the Navy's annual Conrad award for his work in submarine and aviation medicine. The award is named for Captain Robert Conrad, who, as head of the planning division of the Office of Naval Research, organized the Navy's basic research program.

Charles Huggins, director of the Ben May Laboratory for Cancer Research at the University of Chicago, has received the highest honor of the Peruvian Government, the "Order of the Sun." While visiting in Lima, he was called to the presidential palace, with no advance notice that he was to receive the gold medal.

Ernest C. Pollard, chairman of biophysics at Yale, has been appointed professor of biophysics at Penn State. This makes permanent a change made last July, when Pollard came to Penn State as a visiting professor.

Otto H. L. Heckmann, director of the observatory at the University of Hamburg, will receive the James Craig Watson medal for astronomy from the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. He heads an international project to catalog the motions of 180,000 stars visible in the Northern Hemisphere. Heckmann is known for his work in cosmological theory.

Columbia University has announced the appointment of Robert W. Houston, professor of chemical engineering, as laboratory director of the Industrial Reactor Laboratories at Plainsboro, N.J. Columbia has signed an agreement to operate the facility, which is owned

by ten industrial corporations engaged, to varying degrees, in nuclear research. The university has a 9-percent share in use of the laboratories, which include one of the world's largest privately owned nuclear research reactors.

Kenneth M. Endicott, director of the National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, Md., has announced the appointment of Carl G. Baker as associate director for program and of C. Gordon Zubrod as director of intramural research. Baker was formerly assistant director, with responsibility for intramural nonclinical research. In his new position he will work closely with Endicott in coordinating the major institute programs and with the institute's top extramural advisory committees on policy matters.

Zubrod, formerly clinical director of the institute, has been active in research on the use of drugs in cancer patients. In his new position he will direct both clinical and nonclinical research.

Robert W. Noyes has been appointed professor and head of the department of obstetrics and gynecology at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, effective 1 October. Noyes is at present associate professor at Stanford University.

Albert V. Baez, a former associate professor of physics at Harvey Mudd College, has been appointed chief of UNESCO's Division of Teaching Basic Sciences in Higher Education. Baez is expected to assume his duties at UNESCO headquarters in Paris sometime this year.

Maurice Ewing, professor of geology at Columbia University and director of the Lamont Geological Observatory, has received Dickinson College's \$1000 Priestley memorial award for his research in oceanography and earth sciences.

Lloyd A. Wood, former chief of the Office of Research Grants and Contracts of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, has been appointed director of the Physical Sciences Division of the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Air Force Research Division, Washington, D.C. In his new post he will manage the largest directorate of the AFOSR and will direct the spending of some \$15 million a year for basic research in the fields of nuclear physics, general and solid-state physics, and geophysics.

Edward U. Condon, head of the physics department of Washington University, St. Louis, has been named chairman of the Editorial Board of Directors of International Science and Technology, a new magazine which will be launched in January 1962, by Conover-Mast Publications Inc., to serve scientists and engineers in industry. Robert B. Colborn, who has been with McGraw-Hill Publishing Co. since 1936 and has been assistant managing editor of Business Week for the last 10 years, will be editor of the new publication.

Recent Deaths

Elda E. Anderson, Oak Ridge, Tenn.; 61; health physicist at Oak Ridge National Laboratory; former president of the Health Physics Society and chairman of the American Board of Health Physics; 18 Apr.

S. Howard Armstrong, Chicago, Ill.; 49; professor of medicine at the University of Illinois and dean of Cook County Graduate School of Medicine; 11 Mar.

Jules Bordet, Brussels; 90; winner of the Nobel prize for medicine and physiology in 1919; his discoveries in the field of serology were widely applied for the diagnosis of typhoid, tuberculosis, and other infectious diseases; the Wasserman test for diagnosis of syphilis is based on these principles; 6 Apr.

Paul Frederick Brande, Cambridge, Mass.; 30; fellow in physiology at the Harvard Medical School; 1 Apr.

J. Ben Hill, University Park, Pa.; 81; professor emeritus of botany at Pennsylvania State University; 31 Mar.

Matthew A. Hunter, Troy, N.Y.; 82; metallurgist; dean emeritus of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; 24 Mar.

Sir David Rivett, Sydney, Australia; 75; chemist; played a major role in the movement to reclaim millions of acres of barren land in the Australian "outback"; had served as chairman of the British Commonwealth Council of Scientific and Industrial Research and as president of the Australian and New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science; 3 Apr.

Raymond J. Strawinski, Baton Rouge, La.; 44; specialist in hydrocarbon microbiology; associate professor of bacteriology, Louisiana State University; 27 Jan.

Erratum: The officers of the American Meteorological Society said to have been elected this year in a recent news note [Science 133, 322 (1961)] were elected last year to 2-year terms.