## **Association Affairs**

## **AAAS Membership**

1) Changes during 1960 New members elected	9,256
Losses	•
Deaths 349	
Resignations 1,921	
Dropped for non-	
payment of dues 4,181	
Total loss	6,451
Net increase	
during 1960	2,805
2) Totals as of 31 December 1960 Annual members in	
good standing Life and emeritus	56,283
members	1,149
Total in good	~~
standing	57,432
In arrears	3,508
New for 1961	1,157
Total membership	62,097

## Idaho Academy of Science

The Idaho Academy of Science, a new affiliate of the AAAS, was organized in 1958 to stimulate scientific education and research and the diffusion of scientific knowledge in the state of Idaho, to promote fraternal relationships among those engaged in scientific work, to assist in the development of the resources of the state, and to publish reports of scientific investigations pertaining to Idaho. Membership is open to all persons having an interest in science, and the membership roll currently exceeds 350. Among the various members are individuals from secondary as well as higher institutions of learning, government services, industry, agriculture, and the general citizenry.

Two publications, edited by Earl J. Larrison, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Idaho, are distributed. A newsletter, *The Retort*, appears four or five times a year and is devoted to academy news, forthcoming meetings, scientific activities in the state, and to items of general interest to members. The *Journal of the Idaho Academy of Science*, with two or three issues a year, contains papers reporting

original research, as well as reference articles on the natural resources of the state. Some articles published to date have included such subjects as wildlife photography, plankton sampling techniques, rodents of Idaho, autotetraploids, paleogeology, skin diving in biological research, and machine retrieval of literature.

Aided by a grant from the National Science Foundation, the academy is presently conducting a series of visits by scientists to Idaho high schools for consultation and lecturing. This program is directed by Elmer K. Raunio, Department of Physical Sciences, University of Idaho.

Four subsidiary sections of the academy have been organized so far. These are the zoology section (Harry K. Fritchman, Boise Junior College, president), botany section (Lorentz Pearson, Ricks College, president), physical science section (Boyd Henry, College of Idaho, president), and science education section (Merlin Nelson, Coeur d'Alene High School, president). The latter section is currently preparing a report on a proposed junior academy of science to be affiliated with the senior academy.

Annual meetings include business, general address, and paper sessions. The election of officers and other matters relating to the general conduct of the academy are taken care of at the general business meeting. Much of the time spent at annual meetings is concerned with the delivery of research papers in the various sections. One feature of general interest is the series of "Idaho Academy of Science Symposia," one of which is given at each annual meeting by a panel of experts on some topic of state interest. Two such symposia have dealt with the Idaho phosphate industry and the Palouse region. The academy recently conducted a successful joint meeting with the Northwest Scientific Association at Moscow. The next annual meeting will be held 21 and 22 April 1961 at the College of Idaho, Caldwell. In addition to the paper sessions, major addresses will be given by Richard Doane, manager, Atomic Energy Division of Phillips Petroleum Co. (Idaho Falls); Miles Willard, research director, Rodgers Bros. Seed Co. (Idaho Falls); and Joseph Trainer, University of Oregon Medical School, Portland. The subject of the symposium will be "The Snake River."

Current officers are as follows: president, Albert E. Taylor, Idaho State College, Pocatello; vice-president, Donald J. Obee, Boise Junior College, Boise; acting secretary, Allen J. Hollenbeck, Boise High School, Boise; acting treasurer, William F. Zelezny, Phillips Petroleum Co., Idaho Falls. The executive committee consists of William H. Baker, University of Idaho, Moscow, past president; Lyle M. Stanford, College of Idaho, Caldwell, program chairman; J. E. O'Connell, National Science Foundation, Washington, D.C., academy conference representative; Earl J. Larrison, University of Idaho, editor; Gilbert Ford, Northwest Nazarene College, Nampa, membership chairman; and Gordon Dixon, Ricks College, Rexburg, and Malcolm M. Renfrew, University of Idaho, as appointed members.

J. E. O'Connell, assistant professor of botany, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Idaho, and currently on leave with the National Science Foundation, is the academy's representative on the AAAS Council and Academy Conference.

EARL J. LARRISON University of Idaho, Moscow

## Tool and Manufacturing Engineers

Affiliation of the 40,000-member American Society of Tool and Manufacturing Engineers (ASTME) with the AAAS has been unanimously approved by the Association's committee on affiliation, board of directors, and council.

The society, which was founded in 1932 in Detroit, currently has some 170 senior chapters—156 in the United States, nine in Canada, three in Australia, and single chapters in Mexico City and Manila. It also has 32 student chapters at various colleges and universities in this country.

Nearly all members are active in some field of manufacturing engineering. The specialties of individual members range from basic scientific research in machining, metal forming, and the like to practical application of that research in the design of a modern production line.

The society's primary objective is to encourage the development and adoption of more efficient manufacturing methods in industry. The scope of its current activities is illustrated by its programs for 1961.

The ASTME Research Fund, administered by a team of scientists and