chairman of the Davis-Berkeley departments of plant pathology since 1954.

Lysle D. Leach succeeds Kendrick as chairman of the Davis-Berkeley departments, and W. C. Snyder continues as vice-chairman.

The following men have been reappointed to the National Science Board.

The Rev. **Theodore M. Hesburgh**, president of the University of Notre Dame.

William V. Houston, president of the Rice Institute.

Joseph C. Morris, vice president of Tulane University.

The new appointees to the board were announced in the 15 July issue of *Science*.

Frederick J. Dockstader, assistant director of the Museum of the American Indian, Heye Foundation, New York, has been named director. He will succeed E. K. Burnett, who becomes director emeritus following a period of 30 years' service to the museum.

Keith R. Porter, who conducted pioneering research on cellular structure with the electron microscope, will become professor of biology at Harvard University on 1 July 1961. Until then, he will continue his research at the Rockefeller Institute, where he has been professor since 1956.

Alphonse Chapanis, professor of psychology and industrial engineering at the Johns Hopkins University, is taking a year's leave of absence, which he will spend as psychologist on the staff of the Office of Naval Research Branch Office in London. He will visit university, military, and industrial laboratories, attend scientific meetings, and give lectures throughout western Europe. His address will be: Office of Naval Research Branch Office, Keysign House, 429 Oxford St., London W.1, England.

Harold A. Scheraga, professor of chemistry at Cornell University and a leading investigator in the field of proteins, has been appointed chairman of the university's department of chemistry. He succeeds Franklin A. Long, who has completed his second 5-year term as department chairman.

Ernst W. Caspari, developmental geneticist and formerly chairman of the department of biology at Wesleyan University, has been appointed chair-29 JULY 1960 man of the department of biology at the University of Rochester, effective in September.

Arnold W. Ravin, former department chairman at Rochester, has been promoted to associate dean of the College of Arts and Science. During the academic year 1960–61, Ravin will be on sabbatical leave conducting genetic research, part of the time at the Institute de Génétique, Gif, France.

Heinz Werner, G. Stanley Hall professor of genetic psychology at Clark University, is retiring from the faculty and from the chairmanship of the university's department of psychology. He will continue in his posts of director and board chairman of the Institute of Human Development, an adjunct of the Clark department of psychology. He will also continue his grant-sponsored research in perception and language and will teach a graduate-level seminar.

George M. Briggs, executive secretary of the Biochemistry and Pharmacology Training Committees, Division of General Medical Sciences, National Institutes of Health, has been appointed chairman of the department of nutrition in the College of Agriculture at the University of California, Berkeley.

Oscar W. Richards, chief biologist of the American Optical Company's Research Department, Southbridge, Mass., has been elected an honorary fellow of the Royal Microscopical Society.

Paul W. Edwards, a chemical engineer with almost 40 years of service with the U.S. Department of Agriculture, has retired from the Agricultural Research Service's Eastern Utilization Research and Development Division in Wyndmoor, Pa. Edwards has been a member of the staff of the Wyndmoor laboratory since the first day of its operation, 17 August 1940, and has played a prominent role in many of its outstanding engineering developments. He has been in charge of unit operations investigations in the division's Engineering and Development Laboratory.

The American Museum of Natural History has announced several appointments.

William K. Emerson, formerly assistant curator in the Department of Fishes and Aquatic Biology, has been named chairman and assistant curator of the newly established Department of Living Invertebrates.

Norman D. Newell is chairman and curator of the newly established Department of Fossil Invertebrates. Since 1945 Newell has held positions both as curator of historical geology and fossil invertebrates at the Museum and professor of invertebrate paleontology at Columbia University.

Brian H. Mason, curator of physical geology and mineralogy, has been named chairman and curator of the newly established Department of Mineralogy.

Merrill S. Read will become director of nutrition service for the National Dairy Council, Chicago, on 15 August. He succeeds **Zoe E. Anderson**, who resigned on 1 June to become head of the department of home economics at Wayne State University. Read joins the Dairy Council from Virginia Polytechnic Institute, where, since last year, he has been visiting professor in the department of biochemistry and nutrition.

Evelyn L. Oginsky, associate professor of bacteriology at the University of Oregon Medical School, has received the 1960 Research Award of Iota Sigma Pi, national honor society for women chemists. The award is made once every 3 years to "recognize distinct achievement and to encourage a continuing and expanding career of greater promise." It has been presented only four times previously. Dr. Oginsky, co-author of the textbook *Introduction to Bacterial Physiology*, is widely recognized for her study and analysis of mode of action of streptomycin.

H. F. Stimson, a senior physicist in the National Bureau of Standards' Heat Division, has retired after more than 42 years of service. Stimson has made many contributions in the field of heat measurement and is recognized as one of the world's foremost authorities on the International Temperature Scale.

Ismael Vélez, professor of botany and director of the National Science Division of the Inter American University in San German, Puerto Rico, will lecture in botany at the University of Cuzco, Peru, from August through December.

Erratum. On the contents page of the 22 July issue, the authors of the report "Sound production by the satinfin shiner, *Notropis analostanus*, and related fishes," were incorrectly listed. H. E. Winn and J. F. Stout wrote the paper.