Staff changes, to become effective 1 July, have been announced by the Public Health Service, Department of Health, Education, and Welfare.

David E. Price, now chief of the Bureau of State Services, will become deputy director of the National Institutes of Health, a position which has been vacant since the retirement of **Cassius J. Van Slyke** last December.

Theodore J. Bauer, present deputy chief of the Bureau of State Services, will succeed Price as bureau chief.

Kenneth M. Endicott, now an associate director of the National Institutes of Health, will be director of the National Cancer Institute, succeeding John R. Heller, who has been granted leave by the Public Health Service to accept the presidency of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York City. No successor has as yet been selected for Bauer's present post.

Leon Jacobs, chief of the Laboratory of Parasitic Diseases, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, Bethesda, Md., has been awarded a Fulbright fellowship to work at the Wallaceville Animal Research Station in collaboration with scientists of the New Zealand Department of Agriculture. He will be in New Zealand for the next 8 months studying toxoplasmosis, particularly in sheep. Jacobs has also received a Guggenheim Foundation grant that will permit him to return by way of Japan, Southeast Asia, and Europe and to study the parasitic disease problems of those areas. He will be back in the United States early in 1961.

William E. Bennett, professor of physics at Illinois Institute of Technology, will join the University of Buffalo in September.

The Virginia Section of the American Chemical Society has announced that its 1960 Distinguished Service Award will go to Rodney C. Berry, state chemist and director of the Division of Chemistry and Foods, Virginia Department of Agriculture.

The top award of \$1000 was given to Sister Mary Hermias Mennemeyer, chemistry and physics teacher at St. Francis Borgia High School, Washington, Mo., and Sister Mary Joecile Ksycki, head of the chemistry department, Notre Dame College, St. Louis,

Mo., for their joint entry, "Adventures in Radioactivity for High School Students."

Bausch and Lomb Optical Co. provided a microscope as a prize for the best entry in the field of biology. This, in addition to a \$500 award, went to Carolyn A. Gibson, biology teacher at North Hills High School, Pittsburgh, for her entry, "Cancer Research Team of North Hills High School Biology Students."

The STAR program is sponsored by the NSTA, a department of the National Education Association, under a grant from the National Cancer Institute of the National Institutes of Health. The awards are designed to stimulate and recognize promising new practices in high-school science teaching, grades 7 to 12.

Thomas R. O'Meara, Hughes Aircraft Company electrical engineer, has received the first Dr. William G. Tuller Memorial Award of the Institute of Radio Engineers "in recognition of the most outstanding technical paper dealing with electrical component parts published in professional journals in 1959."

Ivan C. Berlien joined the faculty of the University of Miami School of Medicine on 1 May as associate professor of psychiatry and director of psychiatric research. He has been a practicing psychiatrist in Detroit and assistant professor of psychiatry at the Wayne State College of Medicine.

Henry Taube, professor of chemistry at the University of Chicago, has been selected to receive the Harrison Howe Award of the Rochester Section of the American Chemical Society. He is being honored for his contributions to inorganic chemistry, particularly with respect to the reactions of ions in solution. Taube will deliver the Harrison Howe lecture in Rochester early in November.

Gustave J. Dammin, professor of pathology, Harvard Medical School, has been elected president of the tri-service Armed Forces Epidemiological Board. He succeeds Thomas Francis, chairman of the department of epidemiology, School of Public Health, University of Michigan, who had served as president of the AFEB since January 1958. Members of the board are appointed by the Secretary of the Army, and the members elect their own president.

Martin D. Davis, visiting associate professor of mathematics at New York University, has been appointed associate professor of mathematics at the Yeshiva University Graduate School of Mathematical Sciences.

Harry T. Stinson, Jr., has been appointed head of the department of genetics at the Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, New Haven. He succeeds **Donald F. Jones**, who will retire on 30 June after 45 years at the station. Stinson began his career at the station in 1952.

Hans Neurath, professor and executive officer, department of biochemistry, University of Washington (Seattle), was at the University of Redlands for 3 days in May as the Science Visitor for 1960. A gift from the Nutri-Bio Corporation of Los Angeles supported Neurath's visit.

B. S. Schweigert has been appointed professor and head of the department of food science at Michigan State University, East Lansing. He was formerly director of research and education for the American Meat Institute Foundation and associate professor of biochemistry at the University of Chicago.

James E. Canright, associate professor of botany at Indiana University, has been appointed a Guggenheim fellow for the year 1960–61. He will conduct a research program on primitive families of flowering plants (Ranales) in Malaya and Indonesia. His major centers of operation in the course of this study will be the Botanic Gardens of Indonesia (at Bogor, Java) and the Singapore Botanic Gardens.

Calvin W. Woodruff, professor of pediatrics at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, will resign on 30 June to accept appointment as professor of pediatrics and chairman of the department at the American University of Beirut (Lebanon). He will assume his new duties on 1 August.

Heinz G. F. Wilsdorf, head of the physics of metals branch of the Franklin Institute Laboratories, has been named technical director of solid-state sciences. In addition to the physics of metals branch, he will also direct the metallurgy branch and the magnetics and semiconductors branch.