administration: Henry L. Ahlgren, director, Wisconsin Extension Service; Edward C. Crafts, assistant chief, Forest Service; Gladys G. Gallup, director, Extension Research and Training; Herbert L. J. Haller, assistant to the administrator, Agricultural Research Service; Edward F. Knipling, director, Entomology Research Division; William D. Termohlen, retired agricultural attaché to Japan; and Harry C. Trelogan, assistant administrator of the Agricultural Marketing Service.

R. Earl Storie will retire on 1 July after 39½ years of service with the University of California. He is professor of soils and plant nutrition and soil technologist in the California Agricultural Experiment Station. He is chairman of the California Soil Correlation Committee and consultant in the California Soil-Vegetation Survey. Storie is known as the originator of the Storie-Index for rating soils and of other land-classification techniques which are extensively used in this country and abroad.

General Matthew B. Ridgway has retired as chairman and chief executive officer of the Mellon Institute, Pittsburgh. Paul Mellon was elected chairman to succeed Ridgway; the latter was re-elected a trustee and will serve as a consultant to the institute.

R. B. Woodward, a leader in the laboratory synthesis of complex chemical substances, will become the Donner professor of science at Harvard University on 1 July. Woodward has carried on his research and teaching at Harvard since 1937, and since 1953 has been Morris Loeb professor of chemistry.

Murray M. Copeland has resigned as professor of oncology at Georgetown University Medical School (Washington, D.C.) to go to the University of Texas' M. D. Anderson Hospital and Tumor Institute at the Texas Medical Center, Houston, where he will become assistant director for education, effective 1 July.

Truman G. Blocker, Jr., will become chairman of the department of surgery of the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, on 1 July, when he succeeds Robert M. Moore, who is resigning as chairman in order to reduce his administrative responsibilities.

Virgil Boekelheide, professor of chemistry at the University of Rochester, has been appointed professor of chemistry, University of Oregon, Eugene, effective 1 June.

Two members of the Faculty of Public Health at Harvard University, Martha M. Eliot and Bertha S. Burke, will retire on 1 July. Dr. Eliot will become professor emeritus of maternal and child health and Mrs. Burke will become professor emeritus of maternal and child nutrition. The two scientists are the third and fourth women to be so honored by the university.

Halsted R. Holman has been named Guggenhime professor and executive of the department of medicine at Stanford University School of Medicine, effective 1 July. Holman, the first appointee to the new professorship, is now on the staff of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research in New York.

He succeeds **David A. Rytand,** Bloomfield professor of medicine, as head of the department. Rytand has been departmental executive since 1954 but asked to be relieved of his administrative duties 2 years ago. He remains on the faculty as Bloomfield professor.

Saul Krugman, associate professor of pediatrics at New York University Medical Center, has been appointed professor and chairman of the department of pediatrics at the center, effective 1 July. He succeeds L. Emmett Holt, Jr., who is retiring to devote full time to his research activities within the department.

Herbert E. Warden of Minneapolis, Minn., has been appointed associate professor of surgery at West Virginia University, effective 1 July. A heart surgeon and medical research scientist, Warden is the first appointee to the staff of Bernard Zimmermann, who recently was named professor of surgery.

Gerald Litwack, formerly associate professor of biochemistry at Rutgers University, has assumed the positions of director of biochemistry, Division of Cardiology, Philadelphia General Hospital, and research associate professor of biochemistry in medicine of the Graduate School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania. He also has been named an honorary professor at Rutgers University.

Lawrence I. Miller has received the J. Shelton Horsley Research Award of the Virginia Academy of Science. Miller, who is professor of plant pathology at Virginia Polytechnic Institute, was honored for his paper on "The Influence of Soil Components on the Survival and Development of the Sting Nematode."

Harold V. Anderson, who has taught chemistry at Lehigh University for 42 years, will retire on 30 June.

James A. Luker, professor of chemical engineering at Syracuse University, has been appointed chairman of the chemical engineering department in the university's College of Engineering.

Harold P. Stephenson, associate professor of mechanical engineering at Duke University, has been appointed chairman of the department of physics, Pfeiffer College, Misenheimer, N.C. He will assume his new duties on 1 September.

## Recent Deaths

Edgar B. Burchell, Larchmont, N.Y.; 88; retired bacteriologist and serologist at the New York Eye and Ear Hospital who for 30 years taught anatomy and bacteriology at the New York University School of Medicine; known for his study of the seventh (facial) nerve and for his work in the preparation of specimens, particularly those showing the structure of the ear; 19 May.

Merrill K. Lindsay, New Haven, Conn.; 75; retired professor of orthopedic surgery at Yale University; 24 May.

Hajime Masamune, Japan; 74; outstanding Japanese worker on mucopolysaccharides; professor of medical chemistry at the Medical School of Tohoku University from 1942 until his retirement in March 1959; professor of biochemistry at Hokkaido University, 1934–42; 19 Oct. 1959.

Dudley J. Morton, New York, N.Y.; 76; orthopedic surgeon and authority on the evolutionary development of the human foot and of erect posture and human locomotion; in 1924 was appointed associate professor of anatomy in the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Columbia University, where he served until 1944; charter member, secretary and treasurer of the Association of Physical Anthropologists; 22 May.