A. Starker Leopold, of the Museum of Vertebrate Zoology of the University of California, has received the Wildlife Society's award for the best publication in 1959 for his book, Wildlife of Mexico. Frank Belrose, of the Illinois Natural History Survey, received an honorable mention award for his work on lead poisoning of waterfowl.

Theodore P. Wright, vice president in charge of administering sponsored research of Cornell University, will retire on 1 July. Wright joined the Cornell faculty in 1948 after 4 years as head of the Civil Aeronautics Administration.

In 1921 Wright was executive engineer of the Curtiss Aeroplane and Motor Co. He became a vice president of Curtiss-Wright, chairman of the engineering planning and policy committee, and general manager of the airplane division.

After retirement, Wright will continue to be a trustee and member of the safety committee of the Power Reactor Development Corp. and a consultant to the reaction motors division of the Thiokol Chemical Corp.

C. Olin Ball has been named chairman of the department of food science at the Agricultural Experiment Station, Rutgers University. Ball, member of the staff since 1949, has been acting chairman since the resignation of Roy Morse late last year. Morse resigned to join the Lipton Tea Company.

Edward J. Albert, chairman of the board, Thwing-Albert Instrument Co., Philadelphia, Pa., has received the Scientific Apparatus Makers Association Award, the industry's highest honor.

The National Bureau of Standards has reorganized the atomic and radiation physics division into two new divisions. The radiation physics division is headed by **L. S. Taylor**, chief of the former division; the atomic physics division is headed by **Lewis M. Brancomb**, chief of the atomic physics section of the former division.

The Association of American Geographers has announced that Richard J. Russell and Richard Hartshorne have received Outstanding Achievement Citations and William L. Garrison and David Lowenthal, Meritorious Contribution Citations.

L. N. Recktenwald of the psychology department of Villanova University has been elected a life fellow of the International Institute of Arts and Letters.

Robert E. Connick has been named dean of the College of Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley, effective 1 July, when he leaves his post as chairman of the department of chemistry at Berkeley. Connick will succeed Kenneth S. Pitzer, who has served on the Berkeley faculty since 1937. Pitzer asked to be relieved of the deanship in order to devote more time to teaching and research activities, as well as to his duties as chairman of the university's Atomic Energy Projects Coordinating Council.

Robert W. Wilkins, professor of medicine at Boston University's School of Medicine, has been appointed chairman of the school's department of medicine and physician-in-chief and director of the Evans Memorial Department of Clinical Research at the Massachusetts Memorial Hospitals.

C. Sharp Cook has been selected as head of the Nucleonics Division of the U.S. Naval Radiological Defense Laboratory in San Francisco. Since 1953 he has been head of the Nuclear Radiation Branch.

Frederick D. Braddon, chief engineer of the marine division of the Sperry Gyroscope Company and creator of the gyro-compass that guided the atomic submarines Nautilus and Skate under the north-polar icecap, has received the Elmer A. Sperry Award for outstanding contributions to the field of transportation. The award, which was presented during a recent joint meeting of the Franklin Institute and the Philadelphia Science Teachers Association, is sponsored by four leading engineering societies—the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, the Society of Automotive Engineers, and the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers.

Reidar F. Sognnaes, associate dean of the Harvard School of Dental Medicine, has been appointed dean of the new School of Dentistry at the University of California, Los Angeles. Sognnaes, who will also have the title of professor of oral biology, is expected to assume his new duties at UCLA in July.

Two honors have been announced for **H. Orin Halvorson**, well-known microbiologist and director of the University of Illinois School of Life Sciences. He will receive the 13th annual Pasteur Award of the Society of Illinois Bacteriologists at a dinner meeting on 21 May in the Morrison Hotel, Chicago, and on 25 June he will receive a University of Minnesota Outstanding Alumni Achievement Award during a luncheon in Minneapolis.

Recent Deaths

Robert A. Cooke, New York, N.Y.; 79; pioneer allergist and founder of the Institute of Allergy at Roosevelt Hospital; taught applied immunology and clinical medicine at the Cornell University Medical College for 20 years until 1940; founded the Society for the Study of Asthma and Allied Conditions (now the American Academy of Allergy) and in 1938 established the Association of Allergy Clinics of Greater New York; 9 May.

Edward J. Finan, Washington, D.C.; professor of mathematics at Catholic University and a former dean of the Graduate School; 9 May.

Howard M. Mason, New York, N.Y.; 82; retired clinical professor of pediatrics at Babies Hospital; known for his research on glycogen, an animal starch that is used in the treatment of anemia; 8 May.

Emerson C. H. Morrow, Waterville Me.; 78; professor emeritus of economics and sociology at Colby College; 7 May.

Bernard W. Weinberger, New Orleans, La.; 74; an orthodontist and an authority on the history and literature of dentistry, who practiced in New York for almost 50 years; was a lecturer and professor of dental history and literature at the New York University College of Dentistry, 1923–31, and had lectured on the history of orthodontia at the University of Pennsylvania's Dental School and the Baltimore College of Dental Surgery of the University of Maryland; 8 May.

J. H. C. Whitehead, Princeton, N.J.; 55; Waynflete professor of pure mathematics at Oxford University and a visiting member of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton; with Oswald Veblen, wrote *The Foundations of Differential Geometry* published in 1932; specialized in topology; fellow of the Royal Society and past president of the London Mathematical Society; 8 May.