known specialist in the biochemistry of sugars and starches. In addition to her contributions to chemical research, she is widely known as a teacher and administrator.

Watson Davis, director of Science Service and an editor, writer, and broadcaster, received the James T. Grady Award for distinguished reporting of chemical progress.

**Charles D. Coryell**, professor of chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology who worked on the development of the atomic bomb, received the ACS Award for Nuclear Applications in Chemistry, sponsored by the Nuclear-Chicago Corporation.

James B. Watson of Harvard University won the ACS Award in Biological Chemistry, sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company.

Elias J. Corey, also of Harvard University, received the ACS Award in Pure Chemistry, sponsored by Alpha Chi Sigma.

E. L. Jack, of the University of California's department of dairy industry in Davis, won the ACS Award in the Chemistry of Milk, sponsored by the Borden Company Foundation, Inc., New York.

Arthur B. Pardee, of the University of California department of virology and biochemistry in Berkeley, received the Paul-Lewis Laboratories Award in Enzyme Chemistry, sponsored by Paul-Lewis Laboratories, Inc.

**Carl Djerassi** of Stanford University, internationally known for his research on hormones and plant chemicals, was presented with the Fritzsche Award, sponsored by Fritzsche Brothers, Inc., New York.

The ACS Award in Chemical Education, sponsored by the Scientific Apparatus Makers Association, was presented to **Arthur F. Scott**, professor of chemistry at Reed College.

Herbert C. Brown of Purdue University, an authority on the structure of molecules, received the ACS Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry.

The Fisher Award in Analytical Chemistry, for distinguished contributions to the science of analytical chemistry, was presented to **Philip J. Elving** of the University of Michigan.

Neal R. Amundson of the University of Minnesota, an outstanding mathematical engineer, received the ACS Award in Industrial and Engineering Chemistry, sponsored by the Esso Research and Engineering Company. The 1960 Kendall Company Award in Colloid Chemistry was presented to John D. Ferry of the University of Wisconsin.

Professor **Robert W. Taft, Jr.**, of Pennsylvania State University, received the ACS Award in Petroleum Chemistry, sponsored by the Precision Scientific Company.

J. G. L. Michel, senior principal scientific officer, Mathematics Division, National Physical Laboratory, Teddington, Middlesex, England, will be in the United States from 30 May to 29 June. He will attend the International Conference on Partial Differential Equations and Continuum Mechanics at the U.S. Army Mathematics Research Center, University of Wisconsin, Madison, 7–15 June. His itinerary includes: Washington (31 May–5 June); Urbana, Ill.; Dayton, Ohio; Pittsburgh; Philadelphia; Princeton, N.J.; New York; and Boston.

Felix Haurowitz, distinguished service professor of chemistry at Indiana University, has won the \$25,000 Paul Ehrlich Award of the Paul Ehrlich Institute in Germany for his work in immunology. Half of the award goes to the winner and the rest to research to be designated by him.

Peter J. W. Debye, a Nobel chemist (1936) and a retired member of the Cornell University faculty, has been appointed senior research scientist in the Institute of Science and Technology of the University of Michigan, a position he will hold from April through December.

## **Recent Deaths**

**C. J. Bakker**, Geneva-Meyrin, Switzerland; 56; director-general of the European Organization for Nuclear Research since 1955; a member of the organization's directorate since its founding in 1952, when he was named first director of the synchro-cyclotron group; former professor of physics and director of the Zeeman Laboratory of the University of Amsterdam and former director of the Institute of Nuclear Physics, Amsterdam; 23 Apr.

Joseph C. Bell, Louisville, Ky.; 67; former president of the Radiological Society of North America; 25 Apr.

George Calingaert, Geneva, N.Y.; 63; retired professor of chemistry at Hobart and William Smith colleges and an authority on organometallic compounds; was associated with the Ethyl Corporation for 24 years, 18 of them in Detroit as director of chemical research; 16 Apr.

Francis J. Curtis, St. Louis, Mo.; 65; former vice president for personnel of the Monsanto Chemical Company; recipient of the 1959 Founders Award of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers in recognition of outstanding contributions in the field of chemical engineering; past president of the Society of Chemical Industry and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, and past vice president of the AAAS (1949); 21 Apr.

Alexander Dillingham, Orleans, Mass.; 77; a former professor of mathematics at the United States Naval Academy, where he was on the teaching staff from 1917 to 1948; 26 Apr.

Jules Freund, Washington, D.C.; 69; chief of the laboratory of immunology in the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (Bethesda, Md.); winner of the 1959 Albert Lasker Award for achievement in medical research; former chief of the division of applied immunology of the Public Health Research Institute in New York, where he served 14 years; 22 Apr.

Lyman G. Schermerhorn, Highland Park, N.J.; 72; horticulturist and professor emeritus, Rutgers University; developed the Rutgers tomato in 1934 and the wilt-resistant variety of pepper, called the Rutgers World Beater, in 1942; 19 Apr.

**Robert M. Strozier**, Chicago, Ill.; 53; president of Florida State University; was among those under consideration for the post of chancellor of the University of Chicago, where he had served for some years as dean of students and professor of Romance languages; 20 Apr.

Max von Laue, Berlin, Germany; 80; German physicist who received the Nobel Prize in 1914 for his discovery of the diffraction of x-rays by crystals; resigned from the Kaiser Wilhelm Institute in 1943 as an expression of his opposition to the Hitler regime; after the war was appointed head of the Max Planck Institute for Physical Chemistry; former professor at Göttingen University; in 1957 was one of 18 prominent German physicists who publicly deplored the decision to equip the West German armed forces with nuclear weapons and refused to take part in weapon development; 23 Apr.