entific and military matters. For the most frequent point made was that strong decisions were made by individual men, not by committees; and that the policy-maker should have sufficient understanding of areas outside his specialty to be able to use committees of specialists to gather facts without abdicating his authority to such committees.

## **Further Hearings**

This awareness that good policy-makers are more important than good policy-making machinery has led the committee to schedule hearings for this month on the problems of getting outstanding men from industry and the universities into government service, and keeping them for longer periods of time. Later in the month the committee plans a detailed examination of the National Security Council, the key advisory body to the President.

Meanwhile, the committee today is only at the stage of getting the feel of the problems it wants to study. What it has done so far has been useful; but its final importance is probably going to depend on its ability to go beyond generalized recommendations to compile an impressive and rather detailed body of material demonstrating the conditions under which the country has gotten clear and effective decision-making, and the conditions where weak and vacillating policy decisions have resulted.

## Academy Honors Waterman; New Officers and Members Elected

Alan T. Waterman, director of the National Science Foundation, received the Public Welfare Medal of the National Academy of Sciences during the 97th annual meeting of the academy, 25–27 April, in Washington. The medal, which is awarded for "eminence in the application of science to the public welfare," is considered to be the most distinguished of the academy's medals. It is unique among them in that it is awarded for outstanding public service in the uses of science, rather than achievements within a particular scientific discipline.

## Officers Elected

Lloyd V. Berkner, president of Associated Universities, Inc., in New York City, was elected to a 4-year term as



Alan T. Waterman

treasurer of the academy. Also elected, for 3-year terms, were two new members of the academy's council—G. Evelyn Hutchinson, Sterling professor of zoology, Yale University, and Robley C. Williams, professor of virology and research biophysicist, University of California. The two retiring councilors are Frederick Seitz and Harry L. Shapiro.

## **New Members**

Thirty-five new members were elected to the academy during the annual meeting. Election to the academy, which is on the basis of distinguished and continued achievements in original research, is considered to be one of the highest honors which can be visited upon an American scientist.

The new members are as follows. Herbert L. Anderson, professor of physics and director of the University of Chicago's Enrico Fermi Institute for Nuclear Studies; Allen V. Astin, director, National Bureau of Standards; Nicolaas Bloembergen, professor of applied physics, Harvard University; Alfred T. Blomquist, professor of organic chemistry, Cornell University; Henry G. Booker, professor of electrical engineering, Cornell University; Armin C. Braun, member and professor of bacteriology, Rockefeller Institute; Owen Chamberlain, professor of physics, University of California; Norman R. Davidson, professor of chemistry, California Institute of Technology; William Feller, Higgins professor of mathematics, Princeton University; Herbert Friedman, superintendent, atmosphere and astrophysics division, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory.

Robert Galambos, chief, department of neurophysiology, Walter Reed Army Institute of Research; Murray Gell-Mann, professor of theoretical physics, California Institute of Technology; Donald R. Griffin, professor of zoology, Harvard University; Herbert S. Gutowsky, professor of physical chemistry, University of Illinois; Bernard Haurwitz, professor of astrogeophysics, University of Colorado, and associate oceanographer, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution; Hollis D. Hedberg, professor of geology, Princeton University; Karl F. Herzfeld, professor of physics and head of department, Catholic University; Carl I. Hovland, Sterling professor of psychology, Yale University; Robert J. Huebner, chief, Laboratory of Infectious Diseases, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases; Augustus B. Kinzel, vice president in charge of research, Union Carbide and Carbon Corporation.

Salvador E. Luria, professor of microbiology and chairman, Microbiology Committee, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Daniel Mazia, professor of zoology, University of California at Berkeley; Stanford Moore, member and professor of biochemistry, Rockefeller Institute; Theodore T. Puck, professor of biophysics and head of department, University of Colorado Medical School; Roger W. Sperry, Hixon professor of psychobiology, California Institute of Technology; William H. Stein, member and professor of biochemistry, Rockefeller Institute; Wilson S. Stone, professor of zoology and director of gene research, University of Texas; Gilbert J. Stork, professor of chemistry, Columbia University; Richard N. Tousey, head, rocket spectroscopy branch, atmosphere and astrophysics division, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory; Jerome B. Wiesner, professor of electrical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and director, Research Laboratory of Electronics; Gordon R. Willey, Bowditch professor of Central American and Mexican archaeology, Harvard University; Carroll M. Williams, chairman, department of biology, Harvard University; Olin C. Wilson, astronomer, Mount Wilson and Palomar observatories; Clinton N. Woolsey, Charles Sumner Slichter research professor of neurophysiology, Medical School and Graduate School, University of Wisconsin; and Antoni Zygmund, professor of mathematics, University of Chicago.