Isador Lubin, professor of economics, Rutgers University; F. T. McClure, chairman, Research Center, Applied Physics Laboratory, Johns Hopkins University; and Arthur Schlesinger, Jr., professor of history, Harvard University.

Chairmen Release Statement

Cochairmen Kusch and Harris have released a statement that reads in part:

"Just as it is necessary for a nation to prepare for war, so also must a nation prepare for peace. . . . Our Committee's first effort will be to recommend an orderly, and we hope painless shifting of directions of expenditures of many billions of dollars annually from defense production. . . .

"In our study we will consider such opportunities as exist in the peaceful pursuits of the Space Age; opportunities for expanded trade in the world; opportunities for reinaugurating longdelayed resource development, school construction, urban and suburban redevelopment as well as the clearing of rural slums. We shall attempt to apply creative thinking toward the use of all our resources in developing the underdeveloped areas of our own and other countries, which is not only right from a social point of view but which lends itself to the kind of stability which will keep the world at peace.

"We plan to organize our Committee along the lines of the Livermore and Manhattan Projects. Scientists of various skills will work not in separate cubbyholes but together as a team in attacking the problems before them. No one of us is an expert on all the phases of this problem—but as a team we feel qualified to tackle the job. We are choosing for this job physical and biological scientists, economists, historians, and other social scientists and humanists. We will put them together to apply their joint backgrounds and skills to this project, which may prove to be the Number One problem of the new decade."

House Votes Increased Funds for Mental Health; Senate To Act Soon

On 29 March the House of Representatives voted approximately \$80 million for the National Institute of Mental Health during the coming year. This is \$12,300,000 more than the Administration recommended, and it is the largest increase ever voted by the House for

NIMH. The National Committee Against Mental Illness, Washington, D.C., describes the vote as "a dramatic repudiation of the unimaginative fiscal policies of Secretary Flemming and the Bureau of the Budget."

House Committee Recommendations

The House Appropriations Committee recommended an increase of approximately \$4 million in the research grant program. It suggested increased research emphasis upon the problems of aging, mental retardation, alcoholism, and drug addiction, and it underlined its belief in an expanded psychopharmacology program, as shown in this excerpt from its report:

"Intensive research in psychopharmacology is uncovering new drugs useful in treating mental illness. These include both the tranquilizing agents and a whole series of relatively new drugs which are proving to be especially potent in treating depressed patients. All of these drugs are making it possible to discharge increasing numbers of mental patients from the hospital and to keep them out of the hospital. . . ."

The committee reserved its largest increase—approximately \$6,500,000—for accelerated training programs. The Administration had proposed a sharp cut in this area.

Expansion of the general practitioner program, which the Administration wanted to hold at the present level, was also advocated in the committee report, which states:

"The medical profession has been enthusiastic in its reception of the program for psychiatric training of general practitioners. This program has been in operation for only one and one-half years, and already more than 1,500 physicians are enrolled in various postgraduate courses of psychiatric instruction."

Finally, the committee allocated an extra \$1 million to bring the federal contribution to clinics and other community mental health programs up to \$6 million for the coming year.

The House Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor—HEW, under the chairmanship of Representative John Fogarty of Rhode Island, is chiefly responsible for the proposed increase in mental health funds.

Action now moves to the Senate. Secretary Flemming has already requested the Senate Appropriations Committee to reject the House increase for mental health.

Is the Government Losing Some of Its German-Born Rocket Scientists?

There is a rumor that the government is losing some of its rocket scientists to industry. The Belock Instrument Corp., New York, announced recently that it will set up the Astro-Space Electronic Corp. at Huntsville, Ala., with a team of German-born scientists headed by Frederick K. Mueller, former deputy director of the guidance and control laboratory of the Army Ballistic Missile Agency, Huntsville.

An Associated Press article reports that specialists from Germany now on the staff of the government rocket project at Huntsville are resigning to join Belock. Estimates of the number leaving range from two to 15. The latter figure was offered as a possibility by Missiles and Rockets, a trade journal.

The rocket organization at Huntsville, headed by Wernher von Braun, is to be transferred from the Army to the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, as of 1 July. The Belock announcement said that Mueller and the supervising staff that will work with him had been associated with rocketry development under Von Braun since the early stages in Germany.

A NASA officer commented that, as of 1 April, officials in Washington had knowledge of only three resignations. This figure was confirmed by a staff member in Huntsville. When asked specifically about the *Missiles and Rockets* suggestion that as many as 15 men are planning to resign, the Huntsville spokesman said: "There is no basis to that statement."

Plasma Physics in Denmark

The Danish Atomic Energy Commission has announced an international course in plasma physics that is to be held at its research establishment in Risö, 1-12 August. The scientific director of the course will be Marshall N. Rosenbluth, General Atomic, San Diego, Calif. Lecturers will include R. J. Bickerton and W. B. Thompson, United Kingdom; H. C. Brinkman, the Netherlands; P. Hubert, France; R. Lüst and A. Schlüter, Federal Republic of Germany; and E. A. Frieman, C. B. Wharton, R. F. Post, and A. Simon, United States. Applications to attend the course should reach the Danish AEC, Research Establishment Risö, Roskilde, Denmark, before 15 June.