Science in the News

Three scientists from the United Kingdom will be in the United States to attend the conference on mammalian genetics and reproduction at Gatlinburg, Tenn., 4–7 April.

B. M. Cattanach, a member of the Medical Research Council's scientific staff at the Mutagenesis Research Group, Edinburgh, will visit Washington, New York, and Oak Ridge (Tenn.) before returning on 10 April.

Mary F. Lyon, a member of the Medical Research Council's radiobiological research unit at the Atomic Energy Research Establishment, Harwell, plans to visit in New York and in Bar Harbor, Maine, before returning on 14 April.

A. G. Searle, a member of the Medical Research Council's radiobiological research unit at the Atomic Energy Research Establishment, Harwell, will visit in the United States until 25 April. His itinerary includes Washington, Chicago, Detroit, Oak Ridge, Tenn., Madison, Wis., and Bar Harbor, Maine.

Robert Oppenheimer, head of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, N.J., has been named to the new Facundo Bueso Chair of Science at the University of Puerto Rico during the spring semester of 1961 for a series of lectures.

Jean Mayer, associate professor of nutrition at the Harvard School of Public Health, has received the Croix de Chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur for his services with the Free French Forces during World War II.

The Department of Agriculture has announced the retirement of Clarence W. Beebe, who has worked for the department in the field of leather chemistry since 1929. Since 1941 Beebe has worked at the Agricultural Research Service's Eastern Utilization Research and Development Center in Wyndmoor, Pa.

William L. Stern, assistant professor of wood anatomy at the Yale University School of Forestry, has been appointed curator of the division of woods at the Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.

René J. Dubos will receive the \$5000 Passano Award for 1960 on 15 June, during the American Medical Association's convention in Miami Beach. Dubos was selected for the Passano

Foundation's award for his studies in bacteriology and biochemistry, and particularly for his work on specific enzymes and on preparation of antibiotics from soil organisms.

Ralph E. Gibson, director of the Applied Physics Laboratory of Johns Hopkins University, Silver Spring, Md., received the fourth annual Captain Robert Dexter Conrad Award during a symposium sponsored by the Office of Naval Research. Gibson was cited for his research contributions for the Navy in the technology of solid-propellent unguided rockets and the development of guided missiles.

Carlo Salvetti, director general of the Italian nuclear center on Lake Maggiore, has been appointed director of the International Atomic Energy Agency's division of research and laboratories.

Robert E. Macherey, senior metallurgical engineer at the Argonne National Laboratory, has been appointed associate director of the metallurgy division. He succeeds James F. Schumar, who has resigned to accept a post in industry.

Ramond C. Waddel, formerly with the Naval Research Laboratory, is now a consultant on satellite and rocket instrumentation to the Goddard Space Flight Center of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Washington, D.C.

Richard C. Mockler has been appointed chief of the new section on atomic frequency and time standards of the National Bureau of Standards. For 4 years he has directed the project, which has now been given section status.

George Ivanovics, professor of microbiology and director of the Institute of Microbiology at the Medical University in Szeged, Hungary, has been appointed to a visiting lectureship in the department of bacteriology and immunology of the Harvard Medical School.

Landis S. Gephart, chief of the exploratory research and reliability branch of the technical operations division of the Advanced Research Projects Agency, has been appointed director of the reliability and systems analysis office of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

Warren H. Lewis, an investigator in cell biology and a retired member of the Wistar Institute, Philadelphia, Pa., has been awarded the triennial Harrison Prize of \$1500 by the International Society of Cell Biology. He will attend the International Congress of Cell Biology in Paris, 4–9 September, to receive the award.

Recent Deaths

Roy Chapman Andrews, Carmel, Calif.; 76; explorer and naturalist; former director of the American Museum of Natural History; first discoverer of dinosaur eggs in the Gobi Desert; 11 Mar.

Arthur Louis Day, Washington, D.C.; 90; former president of the Geological Society of America; former director of the geophysical laboratory of Carnegie Institute of Technology; 10 Mar.

Max de Barros Erhart, São Paulo, Brazil; 60; professor emeritus of anatomy at the University of São Paulo; 23 Feb.

Hermann O. L. Fischer, Los Angeles, Calif.; 71; professor emeritus of biochemistry and former head of the department at the University of California, Berkeley; member of the National Academy of Sciences; did research in the biochemistry of carbohydrates and fats; 9 Mar.

Florence Harvey, New York, N.Y.; 70; former member of the social service department of Presbyterian Hospital, Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center; worked on the social factors related to cancer; 14 Mar.

Albert R. Johnson, Highland Park, N.J.; 80; professor emeritus of engineering at Rutgers University and former chairman of the department of civil engineering; 15 Mar.

Roscoe L. Pullen, Spokane, Wash.; 45; former dean of the University of Missouri School of Medicine; 5 Mar.

Franklin V. Taylor, Alexandria, Va.; 49; head of the engineering psychology branch of the applications research division of the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory; former psychology instructor at Princeton University; 12 Mar.

Francis X. Wilkie, Fairfield, Conn.; 53; chairman of the biology department of Fairfield University; 8 Mar.

Bruce K. Wiseman, Columbus, Ohio; 63; chairman of the department of medicine of Ohio State University; specialist in hematology and blood diseases; 15 Mar.