Scientists in the News

Three scientists are among the five government employees chosen by President Eisenhower to receive the President's Award for Distinguished Federal Civilian Servants—the highest honor conferred on career civil servants.

Hugh L. Dryden, deputy administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

Winfred Overholser, superintendent of St. Elizabeths Hospital, Washington, D.C.

Robert M. Page, director of research at the Naval Research Laboratory.

Oswald Tippo, Eaton professor of botany and chairman of the department at Yale University, has been appointed provost of the University of Colorado. Tippo will serve as senior dean and chief academic officer of the university.

The Department of Commerce has conferred Exceptional Service Awards on the following eleven scientists.

Arnold M. Bass and Herbert P. Broida, of the National Bureau of Standards in Washington, D.C., for their direction of the free radical research program.

Joel B. Campbell, of the Coast and Geodetic Survey, Washington, D.C., for his work on the United States phase of geomagnetic operations during the IGY.

Garbis H. Keulegan, of the National Bureau of Standards, Washington, D.C., for work on basic laws of hydrodynamics.

Helmut E. Landsberg, of the Weather Bureau, Washington, D.C., for his work on climatology and meteorology.

Alvin G. McNish, of the National Bureau of Standards, Washington, D.C., for contributions in the fields of geomagnetism and ionospheric physics as well as to meteorology and standardization.

Charlotte Moore Sitterly, of the National Bureau of Standards, Washington, D.C., for research in spectroscopy and astrophysics.

Chester H. Page, of the National Bureau of Standards, Washington, D.C. for work in the fields of electronics, ordnance, and physical research and measurement.

John Oscar Phillips, of the Coast and Geodetic Survey, Orlando Air Force Base, Fla., for geodetic surveys in support of missile guidance systems.

Leonardo Testa, of the National Bureau of Standards, Washington, D.C.,

for aiding scientific research by his work as a creative glass blower.

Harold O. Wyckoff, of the National Bureau of Standards, Washington, D.C., for his work on radiation protection.

Three scientists are among the ten outstanding government workers for 1960 named by the National Civil Service League:

Allen V. Astin, director of the National Bureau of Standards.

Eugene S. Love, assistant chief of the aerophysics division of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Langley Field, Va.

Franklin K. Pittman, director of the division of reactor development for the Atomic Energy Commission.

Brig. Gen. B. G. Holzman, commander of the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR), has been named commander of the Air Force Research Division.

Colonel A. P. Gagge, vice commander of the AFOSR, will succeed him. Colonel Raymond A. Gilbert, deputy for sciences of the AFOSR, is now deputy chief of staff for plans and operations of the Air Force Research Division.

Andrew Huxley, reader in experimental biophysics at the physiological laboratories of the University of Cambridge (England), is visiting lecturer in biophysics at Harvard University during March. He will deliver 13 graduate lectures on nerve and muscle.

Three anthropologists will deliver the Westbrook Free Lectures sponsored by the Wagner Free Institute of Science, Philadelphia, Pa., during April.

Loren C. Eiseley, provost of the University of Pennsylvania, will speak on the world of primitive man, on 14 April.

Carleton Coon, professor of anthropology at the University of Pennsylvania, will lecture on early man in the Old World, on 21 April.

William H. Howells, professor of anthropology at Harvard University, will speak on early man in the New World, on 28 April.

Franz von Lichtenberg, associate in pathology at the Harvard Medical School and the Peter Bent Brigham Hospital, has been awarded an honorary doctoral degree by the National University of Nicaragua, Leon.

Erich Hausmann, retired Thomas Potts professor of physics and dean emeritus of the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, has received the Gano Dunn Medal for Professional Achievement, awarded annually by the alumni association of the Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art.

C. Barnard, principal research officer in the section of genetics, cytology, and structural botany of the division of plant industry in Canberra, Australia, will visit the United States from 27 March to 12 June. His itinerary includes Washington and San Francisco.

A. L. Downing, principal scientific officer of the water pollution research laboratory in Herts, England, will arrive in this country on 19 April for a 3-week visit. His itinerary includes New York, Boston, Ann Arbor (Mich.), Madison (Wis.), Chicago, and Chapel Hill (N.C.).

The final banquet of the annual convention of the American Association of Bioanalysts will honor Margaret I. Beattie, who is retiring as head of the laboratory science department of the School of Public Health of the University of California, Berkeley. The keynote speaker will be Peter H. Forsham, professor of medicine and chief of the Metabolic Institute of the University of California, San Francisco.

Richard C. Gibson, director of the experimental vehicles and instrumentation division of the Air Research and Development Command, Andrews Air Force Base, Md., has been named professor and head of the department of astronautics at the Air Force Academy.

Charles F. Brumfiel, professor of mathematics at Ball State Teachers College, Muncie, Ind., has been appointed associate professor of mathematics at the University of Michigan.

Samuel P. Hayes, Jr., professor of economics at the University of Michigan and director of the Foundation for Research on Human Behavior, has been appointed chief of the social science department of the UNESCO Secretariat, in Paris, for a 2-year term.

Hollis W. Peter, will succeed him as director of the foundation.

Erratum: On the contents page of the 4 March issue [Science 131, 627 (1960)], the title of the report by S. A. Sand should read "Autonomy of cytoplasmic male sterility in grafted scions of tobacco."