## Scientists in the News

The following scientists have been appointed to the President's Science Advisory Committee for a term of 3 years: Harvey Brooks of Harvard University, Donald F. Hornig of Princeton University, Robert F. Loeb formerly of Columbia University, W. K. H. Panofsky of Stanford University, and John W. Tukey of Princeton University.

On the occasion of its 40th anniversary, the American Meteorological Society made a number of awards.

Honorary memberships were presented to Sir Edward Appleton of the University of Edinburgh (Scotland); Andrei N. Kolmogorov, director of the Mathematical Institute of Moscow State University (U.S.S.R.); and Theodore von Kármán, director of the Advisory Group for Aeronautical Research and Development of NATO.

The Charles Franklin Brooks Award for service to the society was presented to **Horace R. Byers**, chairman of the department of meteorology at the University of Chicago.

J. Bjerknes of the University of California, Los Angeles, and Erik Palmén of the University of Helsinki (Finland), jointly received the Carl-Gustaf Rossby Award for research contributions.

Frederick Sargent, II, associate professor of physiology at the University of Illinois, received the society's first award for achievement in bioclimatology.

Henry T. Harrison, director of meteorology for United Air Lines (Denver), was cited for his contributions to applied meteorology; he also received the Flight Safety Foundation Aviation Week Award.

Lt. Col. Philip D. Thompson of the U.S. Air Force and Norman A. Philips of Massachusetts Institute of Technology were joint recipients of the Clarence Le-Roy Meisinger Award for their research on numerical weather prediction.

A special award for their work in making aerophysical observations from high-altitude balloons was presented to **Charles B. Moore** of Arthur D. Little, Inc., and **Lt. Comdr. Malcolm D. Ross** of the Office of Naval Research. This award included a posthumous citation to **Lee Lewis**, formerly with Winzen Research, Inc. (Minneapolis).

James J. Lander, supervisor in chemical electronics with the New Jersey Bell Telephone Laboratories, has been named visiting professor of chemistry 26 FEBRUARY 1960 for the spring semester at Indiana University. He replaces Walter J. Moore, who is on leave as a visiting professor at Harvard University.

The following scientists have recently been awarded honorary degrees:

**Paul L. Day**, scientific director of the Food and Drug Administration, from the University of Arkansas.

Merril Eisenbud, professor of industrial medicine at the Bellevue Medical Center, from Fairleigh Dickinson University (Teaneck, N.J.).

**Ronald M. Foster**, chairman of the department of mathematics at the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, from Fairleigh Dickinson University.

Frederick D. Rossini, chairman of the chemistry department at Carnegie Institute of Technology, from Loyola University.

Joel F. Gustafson, associate professor of biology at San Francisco State College, has been appointed associate director of the California Academy of Sciences.

Lake S. Gill, chief of the division of forest disease research at the Rocky Mountain Forest and Range Experiment Station in Fort Collins, Colo., will retire 29 February after more than 35 years with the U.S. Department of Agriculture. He is an authority on dwarf mistletoe; his latest work is a review of the literature on mistletoe. From Stanford University Gill received the bachelor's degree in 1922 and the master's degree in 1931. In 1934 he earned his doctorate at Yale University.

**Benjamin L. Page**, acting chief of the length section of the Optics and Metrology Division of the National Bureau of Standards, has been appointed chief of the section.

**Paul H. Bell**, head of the biochemistry department of the Lederle Laboratories Division of the American Cyanamid Co., has received an honorary degree from Marietta College (Ohio).

James F. Young, general manager of the general engineering laboratory of the General Electric Co., Schenectady, N.Y., has been named general manager of electric utility systems engineering and planning operation in the company's new Electric Utility Group. He will be succeeded in the general engineering laboratory by J. Herbert Hollomon. Marcel Florkin, professor of biochemistry at the University of Liége, Belgium, is visiting professor in zoology at Duke University for the current semester. He will present a series of lectures on the biochemical basis of comparative physiology.

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts has cited **Herbert L. Lombard**, former director of the division of cancer and chronic diseases of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health, for his contributions in the fight against cancer.

The University of Vermont's College of Medicine has announced the forthcoming retirement, in June, of Wilhelm Raab and Harold B. Pierce.

Raab, who received medical degrees from the University of Vienna and the University of Prague, will retire as professor and chairman of the division of experimental medicine. He joined the Vermont faculty in 1939.

Pierce will retire as professor and chairman of the department of biochemistry. He was appointed to the university faculty in 1937. He received the bachelor's degree from the University of Massachusetts, the M.S. degree from Pennsylvania State University, and his doctorate from the University of Rochester.

## **Recent Deaths**

Joseph F. Siler, Washington, D.C.; 84; retired from the Army Medical Service in 1939, after 39 years of service; founder and former president of the Gorgas Memorial Institute of Tropical and Preventive Medicine; major contributor in work to develop an effective typhoid vaccine; 7 Feb.

Max Thorek, Chicago, Ill.; 79; professor of surgery at Cook County Graduate School of Medicine; founder of the International College of Surgeons; specialist in reconstructive surgery and researcher in glandular transplantation; 21 Jan.

Edgar N. Transeau, Columbus, Ohio; 84; ecologist, plant physiologist, and algologist; professor emeritus of botany; chairman of the department of botany at Ohio State University (1918– 46); 25 Jan.

Lauriston Ward, Boston, Mass.; 77; curator of Asiatic archeology at the Peabody Museum of Harvard University; president of the Council of Old World Archaeology; former Harvard lecturer on anthropology; 1 Feb.