## Scientists in the News

Benjamin Lax, head of the solidstate division of Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Lincoln Laboratory, received the \$1000 Oliver E. Buckley solid-state physics prize for 1960 at the annual dinner of the American Physical Society and the American Association of Physics Teachers on 29 January. He was chosen for his contributions to microwave and infrared spectroscopy of semiconductors.

The Institute of the Aeronautical Sciences presented the following awards at the annual Honors Night dinner on 26 January.

James A. Van Allen, head of the department of physics and astronomy at the State University of Iowa, received the Hill Space Award for discovering the radiation belts above the earth.

**Brig. Gen. Don D. Flickinger** of the Air Force Medical Corps received the John Jeffries Award for medical research in aeronautics.

Herbert Riehl, associate professor of meteorology at the University of Chicago, won the Robert M. Losey Award for his work on tropical weather phenomena.

Karel J. Bossart, of Convair, received the Sylvanus Albert Reed Award for his work on the Atlas

James E. McCune, senior scientist of Aeronautical Research Associates of Princeton, won the Lawrence Sperry Award, honoring a representative young man in the field.

Jean Hanson, staff member of the Biophysics Research Unit of the Medical Research Council, London, England, arrived from the United Kingdom on 23 January, to visit this country until the end of March. Her itinerary includes New York, Pittsburgh, Boston, Washington, D.C., Philadelphia, Denver, Salt Lake City, San Francisco, and Los Angeles.

**Paul F. Russell**, who recently retired from the Rockefeller Foundation staff, has been appointed visiting professor of tropical public health at the Harvard School of Public Health.

William A. Owens, former professor and head of the department of psychology at Iowa State University, has become co-director of the Occupational

Research Center of the psychology department at Purdue University. Wilbur L. Layton, formerly on the faculty of the University of Minnesota, has succeeded Owens at Iowa State.

Roy W. Wampler has resigned as director of research of the Libbey-Owens-Ford Glass Co., Toledo, Ohio, after 30 years with the company. Prior to retirement he will serve as a company research consultant. He graduated from McPherson College, took his master of science degree at Kansas State College and his doctorate in chemistry at the University of Chicago. His work with the company on multiple glazing units led to the perfecting of Thermopane. Donald R. Martin, director of high-energy fuels research for Olin Mathieson Chemical Corp., has succeeded him.

Fairfield Osborn has received the Medal of the City of New York in recognition of his 20 years as president of the New York Zoological Society. He plans to tour Africa to survey wildlife in British East Africa and the Belgian Congo.

The Arctic Institute of North America has selected **John Reed** as executive director, to succeed **A. T. Belcher** in April. Reed will resign as staff coordinator of the U.S. Geological Survey to take over his duties in the Montreal office of the institute.

Nicholas E. Golovin, former director of the technical operations division of the Advanced Research Projects Agency, has been appointed deputy to the associate administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

Valy Menkin, former guest investigator at the Henry Phipps Institute of the University of Pennsylvania, has been named professor of pathology and chairman of the department at the School of Dentistry of the University of Kansas City. He recently received medals from the Pasteur Institute and the University of Liége.

Marie Boas, associate professor in the school of medicine of the University of California, Los Angeles, received the first Pfizer Award presented by the History of Science Society for her book, Robert Boyle and Seventeenth Century Chemistry.

Willard Bascom, technical director for the AMSOC Committee of the National Academy of Sciences, has been named distinguished lecturer for 1959–60 by the Society of Exploration Geophysicists. The committee is concerned with drilling a hole through the crust of the earth beneath the deep ocean.

Frederick Y. Wiselogle, associate director in charge of chemical research for the Squibb Institute for Medical Research, is president-elect for 1960 of the New York Academy of Sciences.

## **Recent Deaths**

Sidney F. Blake, Arlington, Va.; 67; senior botanist and taxonomist for the Agricultural Research Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture; authority on the Compositae; 31 Dec.

Wyndham Blanton, Richmond, Va.; 69; writer and specialist in internal medicine; professor emeritus of the Medical College of Virginia; contributing editor to the Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences; 5 Jan.

Edward M. Bragg, Ann Arbor, Mich.; 85; professor emeritus of the University of Michigan College of Engineering; head of the department of naval architecture and marine engineering until his retirement in 1944: 7 Jan.

George E. Haynes, Brooklyn, N.Y.; 79; sociologist, lecturer, teacher, and organizer in the field of Negro-white relations; instructor at the City College of New York until November 1958; 8 Jan.

Maximilian E. Jutte, East Meadow, N.Y.; 84; specialist in digestive ailments; deviser of duodenal and gastric irrigation equipment; former lecturer at New York Polyclinic Medical School; 14 Jan.

Leo Loeb, Clayton, Mo.; 90; professor emeritus of pathology at Washington University Medical School and head of the department until his retirement in 1937; became director of pathology at Barnard Free Skin and Cancer Hospital in 1910; former president of the American Association of Pathologists and Bacteriologists and the American Association for Cancer Research, Inc.; 28 Dec.

Margaret R. McMillan, Baton Rouge, La.; 38; biology professor at Louisiana State University; 9 Jan.

Emilio Viale, Wilmington, Del.; 38; entomologist; head of field development work for the agricultural chemistry division of the Hercules Powder Co.; 23 Dec.