Scientists in the News

Sir George Edwards, managing director of Vickers-Armstrongs, Ltd., Weybridge, England, will receive the 1959 Daniel Guggenheim Medal. Edwards was cited for introducing turboprop aircraft into international commercial service. The medal is conferred annually for advances in aeronautics.

Pennsylvania State University has announced the retirement of Marsh W. White, professor of physics, after 42 years on the faculty. On 31 January White will become professor emeritus.

White earned his bachelor's degree at Park College, Parkville, Mo., and his master of science from Pennsylvania State University. He received the first Ph.D. degree given by Penn State in 1926; Park College conferred an honorary doctor of science degree on him in 1958.

Anthony M.-M. Payne will become chairman of a reorganized department of epidemiology and public health at Yale University on 1 July. The British scientist is currently chief medical officer for endemo-epidemic diseases of the World Health Organization.

On 5 February, in New Orleans, the American College of Radiology will present Gold Medal awards to H. L. Henry Garland of San Francisco, Calif., and Lawrence Reynolds of Detroit, Mich.

Leland G. Cole has become vice president for research for Beckman Instruments, Fullerton, Calif. Cole, who was formerly chief chemist with Consolidated Electrodynamics Corp., will coordinate the research and development programs of Beckman's six divisions.

Milton Gross, director of the department of biochemistry at Margaret Hague Maternity Hospital, Jersey City, N.J., has received the Squibb Prize of the Pacific Coast Fertility Society for his work on cyclic changes in the biochemistry of the female reproductive tract.

William D. Taliaferro will retire as chairman of the department of microbiology and Eliakim Hastings Moore distinguished service professor at the University of Chicago on 1 July. He will be succeeded by James W. Moulder, an authority on chemical mechanisms relating to infectious diseases. Leo A. Goodman, professor of statistics and sociology at the University of Chicago, is spending the current academic year at the statistical laboratory of the University of Cambridge, Cambridge, England.

Charles A. Fowler, Jr., will join the ferromagnetics research group at the Fourier Institute of the University of Grenoble, France, for the coming academic year. Fowler is chairman of the physics department at Pomona College.

Solomon E. Asch, professor of psychology at Swarthmore College, is working at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, N.J., this year.

Modern Medicine has named the recipients for 1960 of the Distinguished Achievement Awards annually conferred on ten scientists for contributions to world medical progress.

Walter L. Bierring, professor emeritus of medicine, State University of Iowa, for work on medical standards.

Alfred Blalock, Johns Hopkins University, for heart and major blood-vessel surgery.

Edward A. Boyden, emeritus professor of anatomy, University of Minnesota, for renal studies.

Albert H. Coons, American Heart Association, for tagging antibodies, making possible basic cell and tissue exploration.

Irving A. Cooper, New York University, for developing surgical techniques to treat parkinsonism.

L. Emmet Holt, Jr., New York University, for studies of infant nutrition.

Elmer V. McCollum, Johns Hopkins University, for discovery of vitamins A and D.

James V. Neel, University of Michigan, for research in human genetics.

Albert B. Sabin, University of Cincinnati, for oral poliomyelitis immunization.

Nathan W. Shock, Baltimore City Hospitals, for studies of growth and aging processes.

The universities of Grenoble and Alger have conferred a doctor *honoris* causa title on **Eugene C. Wegmann**, head of the department of geology and mineralogy of the Neuchâtel University, Switzerland.

Three Oak Ridge National Laboratory biologists will do research abroad for 1 year.

In May, Dan L. Lindsley will trans-

fer to the biology department of the University of São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil.

Drew Schwartz will be at Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel, effective in September.

Beginning in October, Lawton H. Smith will be with the medical biological laboratory of the National Defense Council, at Rijswijk, Netherlands.

Georg von Békésy of the Harvard psychoacoustic laboratory has received an honorary degree of doctor of medicine from the University of Berne (Switzerland).

Christopher P. Keim, director of technical information at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, has received an honorary doctor of science degree from Nebraska Wesleyan University.

The American Institute of Electrical Engineers has named **James F. Fairman** as 1959 recipient of the Edison Medal. Fairman, senior vice president of Consolidated Edison Co. (New York), will accept the medal during the winter general meeting of the AIEE, 31 January-5 February.

Recent Deaths

Alfred Bonné, Jerusalem, Israel; 60; economist and sociologist; dean of Eliezer Kaplan School of Economics and Social Science of the Hebrew University in Jerusalem; author of works on the Middle East; 17 Dec.

Henry M. Feinblatt, Brooklyn, N.Y.; 68; endocrinologist; consultant at Kings County Hospital where he had been director of medicine from 1942 to 1952; author of *Clinical Laboratory Medicine* and *Transfusion of Blood*; 24 Dec.

Samuel H. Hamilton, Philadelphia, Pa.; 82; mining engineer and geologist; production adviser to the Atlantic Refining Company until his retirement in 1943; consultant to A. V. Smith Co. in recent years; 18 Dec.

Mary C. McKee, New London, Conn.; 74; member of the chemistry department of Connecticut College for 34 years and chairman from 1927 until retirement in 1952; 3 Sept.

Russell M. Wilder, Rochester, Minn.; 74; staff member of the Mayo Clinic for 30 years; former director of the National Institute for Arthritis and Metabolic Diseases; pioneer in the treatment of epilepsy and an expert on nutrition and diabetes; 16 Dec.

SCIENCE, VOL. 131