Scientists in the News

John D. Sullivan, technical director of Battelle Memorial Institute, Columbus, Ohio, will receive the 1960 Albert Victor Bleininger Award of the Pittsburgh section of the American Ceramic Society on 11 March.

Norman A. Baily, former chief scientist of the radiation department at Roswell Park Memorial Institute, Buffalo, N.Y., is now senior staff physicist in the Hughes Aircraft Co.'s nuclear electronics laboratory.

Forrest Fulton of the University of London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine will complete a visiting professorship in virology at Baylor University College of Medicine this month. In addition to teaching, Fulton has done research on antigenic variation among the polioviruses.

Paulo Ribeiro de Arruda now directs the International Atomic Energy Agency's Division of Exchange and Training. A former professor of applied electricity at the Polytechnical School of the University of São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil, Ribeiro succeeds Joachim da Costa-Ribeiro, also of Brazil.

- J. P. Dailey has been named director of research in charge of biochemistry, organic chemistry, and pharmacology at the Armour Pharmaceutical Company laboratory. Replacing Dailey as head of the organic research department is C. D. Bossinger, a former research scientist. J. W. Bastian now heads the department of pharmacology.
- C. N. Hugh Long, Sterling professor of physiology and chairman of the department at Yale University, received the 1959 Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association Award for outstanding contributions to medicine on 8 December.
- R. C. Merrill, the current director of clinical research in the medical division of the Squibb Institute for Medical Research, will become associate director of the Squibb research and development laboratories.
- E. W. Rebol, director of the Hialeah Laboratory of National Spectrographic Laboratories, Inc., has been selected by the Atomic Energy Commission to become chief of the material branch, Industrial Office Division.

At the annual American Geographical Society dinner on 28 January, medals will be presented to three scientists.

Albert P. Crary, chief scientist for the U.S. Antarctic Research Project, will receive the Cullum Geographical Medal for geographical discoveries and for geophysical research in the polar regions.

Richard Hartshorne, professor of geography at the University of Wisconsin, will receive the Daly Medal for contributions to political geography.

William E. Rudolph, managing consultant of Dorr Consultants, will receive the David Livingstone Centenary Medal for his geographic research in the Southern Hemisphere.

Richard H. Jahns, professor of geology at California Institute of Technology, will become chairman of the division of earth sciences and professor of geology at Pennsylvania State University, effective 1 July. Jahns succeeds O. Frank Tuttle, now dean of the College of Mineral Industries. Benjamin F. Howell, Jr., head of the department of geophysics and geochemistry, is serving as acting chairman.

Bostwick H. Ketchum, senior oceanographer at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, has been named as a lecturer on the Harvard faculty. In addition to guiding graduate research, Ketchum will teach biological oceanography.

Albert E. Sobel will receive the fourth annual Van Slyke Award of the American Association of Clinical Chemists for his work in clinical chemistry, on 16 February. Sobel, who has directed the chemistry department of Jewish Hospital, Brooklyn, N.Y., since 1933, is a former president of the association.

The Armour Research Foundation of Illinois Institute of Technology has announced the promotions of Roy R. Whymark and Mahendra S. Sodha. Whymark was named supervisor of the acoustics section; Sodha was appointed senior physicist.

Valy Menkin, guest investigator at the Henry Phipps Institute of the University of Pennsylvania, was awarded the Pasteur Institute Medal last October while in Europe as a visiting professor under the Fulbright program. He also received a medal from the University of Liége, Belgium. J. Herbert Taylor, Columbia University professor of cell biology, is discussing nucleic acid synthesis and chromosome duplication as a Sigma Xi national lecturer at 20 colleges and universities this month.

Recent Deaths

Charles L. Brown, Jersey City, N.J.; 60; dean and one of the founders of Seton Hall University College of Medicine; former dean of Hahnemann Medical College (1946–54) and Temple University Medical School; 4 Dec.

Oliver E. Buckley, Maplewood, N.J.; 72; retired board chairman of Bell Telephone Laboratories, Inc.; pioneer in high-speed submarine telegraph cables; formerly directed research in acoustics, electronics, photoelectricity, and magnetism at Bell; 14 Dec.

Arthur F. Coca, Oradell, N.J.; 84; professor of immunology at Cornell University (1910–42); medical director of Lederle Laboratories from 1931 to 1949; founder of the *Journal of Immunology*; 11 Dec.

Ralph E. Gage; Norwalk, Conn.; 70; director of research and development for the Olin Mathiesen Chemical Company from 1925 to 1945 and technical adviser to the company until his retirement in 1957; developer of chemical and textile bleaches; 8 Dec.

Clyde C. Hamilton, Old Bridge, N.J.; 69; research specialist in entomology, particularly on the insect pests of ornamental plants, at Rutgers University; 6 Dec.

Bernard S. Robbins, New York, N.Y.; 54; professor of clinical psychiatry at New York Medical College; leader in the movement to reintegrate psychoanalysis with medical education; 16 Dec.

Helen D. Sargent, Topeka, Kan.; 55; chief psychologist at Topeka Veterans Administration Hospital and recently a researcher in psychotherapy at the Menninger Foundation; originator of the Sargent psychological test; 25 Dec.

Paul C. Shedd, Glen Ridge, N.J.; 58; professor of electrical engineering at the Newark College of Engineering; former research scientist with Boeing Airplane Co. and Hughes Aircraft Co.; 1 Jan.

Gertrude B. Wertenbaker, New York, N.Y.; 63; chairman of the department of physics and astronomy at Hunter College since 1950; faculty member for 39 years; 18 Dec.