groups with predominant interest in cancer; to foster educational opportunities in the biomedical sciences; to provide guidance to private and civil organizations concerning cancer research, education, and the care of cancer patients; and to expedite the dissemination of information by bringing together scientific executive officers of cancer institutes.

Officers elected at the first meeting are as follows: president, George Moore, director, Roswell Park Memorial Institute; vice president, Sidney Farber, director of research, Children's Cancer Research Foundation, Boston, Mass.; and secretary-treasurer, R. Lee Clark, Jr., director and surgeonin-chief, University of Texas M. D. Anderson Hospital and Tumor Institute, Houston. Members of the association include representatives, also, of the National Cancer Institute, Bethesda; the Sloan-Kettering Institute for Cancer Research, New York; the Memorial Center for Cancer and Allied Diseases, New York; the Philadelphia Institute of Cancer Research; the Pondville Hospital, Boston; and the Detroit Institute of Cancer Research. The Association will, in the future, consider including members from among the scientific directors of cancer institutes of foreign countries.

Scientists in the News

Sir Julian Huxley, British biologist, has received the \$2500 Albert Lasker Award of the Planned Parenthood Federation of America for his "more than three decades of study and lucid interpretation of population phenomena." Huxley, who was formerly director general of the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization, is now a visiting professor at the University of Chicago.

In England, Sir Roger Makins, at present Joint Permanent Secretary to the Treasury, has been named chairman of the Atomic Energy Authority, effective 1 January 1960. He succeeds Lord Plowden, who will become chairman of the British Aluminium Company.

Clark P. Read of Johns Hopkins University has received the American Society of Parasitologists' first Henry Baldwin Ward Medal for meritorious research in parasitology. The \$1000 award, which will be conferred annually or less often at the discretion of the society, is sponsored by Parke, Davis and Company.

Esther S. Anderson has been elected national president of Sigma Delta Epsilon, honorary association of women scientists. Miss Anderson, formerly assistant professor of geography at the University of Nebraska, has recently been appointed geographer in the Areas and Statistical Branch of the Geography Division, United States Bureau of the Census, Washington, D.C.

John R. Moore, director of the Contract Division of the Atomic Energy Commission's Oak Ridge Operations Office, has been appointed director of the AEC's new Office of Contract Policy in Washington. The office will coordinate all policies, standards, and procedures pertaining to contracts awarded by the commission.

On 3 December the Metropolitan New York Chapter of the American Medical Writers Association will confer awards upon ten people for distinguished service in improving medical communication. The recipients will be Walter C. Alvarez, emeritus professor, Mayo Foundation; Chauncey D. Leake, professor of pharmacology, Ohio State University; Eunice Miner, executive director of the New York Academy of Sciences; Robert D. Potter, editor of New York Medicine; J. E. Schmidt, medical lexicographer; William H. Stoner, editor of CA, bulletin of the American Cancer Society; Alvina R. Lewis, executive editor of the New York State Journal of Medicine; Alexander Gode, chief of the Interlingua division of Science Service; Martha E. Dana, medical writer and editor; and Edmund F. Lindner, creative writer. The presentation ceremony will take place at the New York University School of Dentistry.

The Atomic Energy Commission has announced the appointment of Myron B. Kratzer as deputy director of the Division of International Affairs. He succeeds Clark C. Vogel, who resigned to take a position in industry. Kratzer has been assistant director for program development and liaison in the Division of International Affairs since November 1958.

Karl E. Limper, chairman of the department of geology at Miami University, has been named dean of the university's College of Arts and Science, effective 1 February. He succeeds William E. Alderman, who retired last summer after 25 years as dean.

Bruno Zimm of the General Electric Company Research Laboratory in Schenectady, N.Y., will be visiting professor of physical chemistry at Yale University for the spring term of the 1959–60 academic year.

Saul Winstein, of the University of California at Los Angeles, will be visiting professor of organic chemistry for the 1960-61 fall term.

J. Allen Hynek has been appointed chairman of the department of astronomy and director of Dearborn Observatory at Northwestern University, and Karl G. Henize has been appointed associate professor of astronomy. Both were formerly with the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, Cambridge, Mass.

Frederick W. O'Brien, radiologist of Boston, Mass., has received the Gold Medal of the Radiological Society of North America.

The National Science Foundation has announced the appointment of Richard H. Bolt as associate director (research) and Harry C. Kelly as associate director (scientific education). Bolt will join the foundation on 1 January 1960. He will be on leave from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he is director of the acoustics laboratory and professor of acoustics in the department of electrical engineering. At NSF he will be responsible for the foundation's activities in support of basic research in the sciences. He will succeed Robert B. Brode, who has returned to the University of California, Berkeley. The latter will continue his association with the foundation as special consultant to the director.

Kelly has been with the National Science Foundation since 1951 as assistant director for scientific personnel and education. In his new position, he will be concerned with over-all policy aspects of foundation support of scientific education and relationships with other agencies with responsibilities in this field.