Scientists in the News

The University of Paris has conferred the title of docteur honoris causa on Soloman Lefschetz, honorary professor and former chairman of the mathematics department at Princeton University.

Rollo Clyde Baker, emeritus professor of anatomy and former assistant dean and secretary of the Ohio State University College of Medicine, has received the university's Distinguished Service Award.

Louis I. Dublin, consultant to the Institute of Life Insurance on community health and welfare activities, has received the Sedgwick Memorial Medal "for distinguished service in public health" at the 87th annual meeting of the American Public Health Association.

Alvin Nason, professor of biology at the Johns Hopkins University, has been appointed associate director of the university's McCollum-Pratt Institute.

New appointments at Case Institute of Technology include the following:

Gordon Barrow, associate professor at Northwestern University, has become professor and head of the chemistry department.

Frederick Reines, group leader at the Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory, has become professor and head of the physics department.

James Reswick, associate professor of mechanical engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has become professor of mechanical engineering.

Edwin Abrahamson, assistant professor of chemistry at the College of Forestry, Syracuse University, has become associate professor of chemistry.

C. M. Yonge, Regius professor of zoology at the University of Glasgow, Glasgow, Scotland, has been appointed visiting professor of zoology at the University of Washington, for the fall quarter of 1959.

Clifford W. Seibel, former assistant director of the U.S. Bureau of Mines in charge of helium activities, has been appointed consultant in cryogenic engineering and design and construction of helium recovery facilities at Stearns-Roger Manufacturing Co., Denver, Colo.

Herbert Jehle, professor of physics at the University of Nebraska, has been appointed professor of physics at George Washington University.

Herbert B. Brooks, retired chief of the electrical section of the National Bureau of Standards, has been named the first recipient of the Morris E. Leeds Award of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers. The \$500 award was established in 1958 by the Leeds and Northrup Foundation to honor an individual or a group for outstanding contributions to the field of electrical measurement.

William A. Del Mar, consulting engineer for the Phelps Dodge Product Corp., Yonkers, N.Y., has been named the first recipient of the AIEE's \$500 William M. Habirshaw Award. The award was established in 1958 by the Phelps Dodge Foundation to honor individuals or groups for outstanding contributions in transmission and distribution of electricity.

The AIEE Medal in Electrical Engineering Education was presented to Gordon S. Brown, dean of engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Howard E. Page, scientific director, Office of Naval Research Branch Office, London, England, has been appointed special assistant to the head, Office of Special International Programs, National Science Foundation.

B. F. Skinner, professor of psychology at Harvard University, will deliver a series of four Mead Swing Lectures at Oberlin College on 27, 28, and 29 October. His subject will be *The Design of a Culture*.

William G. Dauben, professor of chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley, has received the ninth annual award of the California section of the American Chemical Society, for his achievements in organic chemistry.

R. Chester Roberts has retired after 31 years as chairman of the department of chemistry at Colgate University. He is serving as visiting professor of chemistry at Oberlin College for the fall term.

Lester C. Shell, premedical adviser at Central College, Fayette, Mo., has been appointed head of the department of biology at the University of Dubuque. George Y. Shinowara, professor of pathology at Ohio State University, has been appointed professor of pathology at the New York University College of Medicine. He will be director of a new laboratory which has been established in the NYU-Bellevue Medical Center to carry on research in the study of blood, tissue proteins, and coagulation components. He will also be director of biochemistry for Bellevue Hospital and for New York University Hospital.

Stanley I. Auerbach, ecologist at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, has been appointed chief of the newly established ecology section in the Health Physics Division of the laboratory.

Recent Deaths

Calvin D. Albert, Ithaca, N.Y.; 82; professor emeritus of machine design at Cornell University; author of Machine Design Drawing Room Problems; 23 Sept.

Walter H. Eddy, Lake Worth, Fla.; 82; professor emeritus of physiological chemistry at Teachers College, Columbia University, and a pioneer in vitamin research; 28 Sept.

Ross G. Harrison, New Haven, Conn.; 89; retired director of the Osborn Zoological Laboratory of Yale University and Sterling professor of biology emeritus at Yale; former chairman of the National Research Council; pioneer in the embryonic transplantation and culture of animal tissue outside the organism; 30 Sept.

Robert Livermore, Sr., Boston, Mass.; 83; mining engineer and founder and former vice president of North American Mines, Inc.; 26 Sept.

Harold Pender, Kennebunkport, Me.; 80; co-founder, director, and consultant of the International Resistance Co.; former dean of the Moore School of Electrical Engineering at the University of Pennsylvania; 5 Sept.

Sir Henry Thomas Tizard, London, England; 74; scientist who was largely responsible for the development of radar and contributed to the development of the atomic bomb and the jet engine; former president of Magdalen College, Oxford University; 9 Oct.

Milton C. Winternitz, Hanover, N.H.; 74; pathologist; dean emeritus and retired head of the pathology section of Yale University School of Medicine; Anthony N. Brady professor of pathology; 3 Oct.