of experience which will enrich their teaching. These are summer programs only, and proposals should be postmarked not later than midnight 26 October.

Suggestions for the preparation of proposals may be obtained from the Special Projects in Science Education Section, Scientific Personnel and Education Division, National Science Foundation, Washington 25, D.C.

## Scientists in the News

The following surgeons were made honorary fellows of the International College of Surgeons during the congress of the college's North American Federation that was held recently in Chicago,

Mother Anna Marie Dengel, superior general of the Medical Mission Sisters of Rome, the first woman to receive the honor. She is the founder of the Roman Catholic medical missionary society and has established 30 hospitals in Africa, India, Venezuela, Indonesia, and Pakistan.

Jean Creyssel of the University of Lyon, France.

Sten A. Friberg, rector of the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden.

Rear Admiral **Bartholomew W. Hogan**, surgeon general and chief of the U.S. Navy Bureau of Medicine and Surgery.

Arnold S. Jackson, director of the Jackson Clinic and chief of staff of Methodist Hospital, Madison, Wis.

**Donatien Marion**, governor of the University of Montreal.

Louis McD. Orr, president of the American Medical Association.

**Samuel Rosen**, associate clinical professor of otolaryngology at Columbia University.

Curtice Rosser of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, Dallas.

**Ralph E. Snyder**, dean of New York Medical College.

J. Andre Thomas of the faculty of sciences at the Sorbonne, Paris.

Pietro Valdoni, professor of surgical pathology at the University of Rome.

Recipients of honorary membership were: Cecil J. Birtcher, maker of electronic medical instruments, Los Angeles, Calif., Tomlison Fort, vice president of the Westinghouse Electric Corporation, and David L. Helfferich, president of Ursinus College, Collegeville, Pa.

The following engineering scientists recently joined the University of California at Berkeley.

Thomas H. Pigford, chairman of the engineering department at the General Atomics Division of General Dynamics Corporation, has become chairman of the department of nuclear engineering.

Lofti A. Zadeh, associate professor of electrical engineering at Columbia University, has been appointed professor of electrical engineering.

Charles K. Birdsall, former group leader and consultant in electron physics for the General Electric Company and technical specialist with the Hughes Aircraft Company, is associate professor of electrical engineering.

**Douglas W. Fuerstenau**, manager for mineral engineering for the Kaiser Aluminum and Chemical Corporation, has become associate professor of metallurgy.

Georg Bruun, former faculty member of the Royal Technical University of Denmark and director of the Radio Receiver Research Laboratory of the Danish Academy of Technical Sciences, became acting associate professor of electrical engineering.

Clifford T. Morgan, formerly professor of psychology at Johns Hopkins University, has been appointed visiting professor of psychology at the University of Wisconsin for the academic year 1959-60.

Karl Meyer, professor of biochemistry at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, received the \$6500 T. Duckett Jones Memorial Award during the annual meeting of the Helen Hay Whitney Foundation in Princeton, N.J.

Siegfried Muessig, project chief of the mineral deposits branch of the U.S. Geological Survey, has been appointed chief geologist at the U.S. Borax and Chemical Corporation.

Albert H. Taylor, retired chief consultant in electronics of the Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, D.C., will receive the Stuart Ballantine Medal from the Franklin Institute on 21 October.

L. J. Markwardt has retired as assistant director of the U.S. Forest Products Laboratory, Madison, Wis. He will continue as consultant for industrial concerns in the forest products fields.

William A. Mason, assistant professor of psychology at the University of Wisconsin, and John M. Warren, assistant professor of psychology at Stanford University, have been appointed research associates at the Yerkes Laboratories of Primate Biology, Inc., of Emory University, Orange Park, Fla.

Carl O. Dunbar, retired director of the Peabody Museum of Natural History at Yale University, has received the Hayden Geological Award of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia.

Walter F. Leverton, assistant manager of the Research Division of Raytheon Company, Waltham, Mass., has been appointed engineering manager of the company's Semiconductor Division.

## Recent Deaths

Paul Alexander, Princeton, N.J.; 63; physicist and high vacuum specialist; director of research at the Continental Can Company, New York; 18 Sept.

Rev. Thomas D. Barry, Weston, Mass.; 58; head of the astronomy department and professor of mathematics at Weston College; 19 Sept.

Kenneth W. Chapman, Washington, D.C.; 48; specialist on narcotics addiction; associate director of the clinical center at the National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md.; 18 Sept.

Abraham Flexner, Falls Church, Va.; 92; educator who revolutionized this country's medical education; founder and director emeritus of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, N.J.; 21 Sept.

George N. Raines, Washington, D.C.; 51; professor and director of the department of psychiatry at the Georgetown University Medical Center and a retired captain, Navy Medical Corps; 16 Sept.

Albert A. Somerville, Carmel, N.Y.; 75; physicist and retired vice president and manager of the rubber products department of the R. T. Vanderbilt Company; 20 Sept.

Gregory Zilboorg, New York, N.Y.; 68; private practitioner in psychoanalysis and psychiatry in New York since 1931; historian of psychiatry and medical psychology; assistant professor of clinical psychiatry at New York Medical College and clinical associate professor of psychiatry at the State University of New York College of Medicine; 17 Sept.