Federal Radiation Council Established; States to Get New Responsibilities

The President has issued an executive order that establishes a Federal Radiation Council. This action centralizes the responsibility for providing general standards and guidance to executive agencies for their use in developing operating rules and regulations for radiological health protection. Members of the new council are the heads of the agencies most significantly involved with radiation: the Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare, the Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission, the Secretary of Defense, and the Secretary of Commerce. The President's Special Assistant for Science and Technology will participate as an adviser in the discussions of the council.

In developing its advice to the President, the council will consult with appropriate agencies, such as the Departments of Labor and Agriculture, and will solicit the views of scientific bodies—for example, the National Committee on Radiation Protection and Measurement and various committees of the National Academy of Sciences. The Federal Radiation Council will also take steps designed to further the interagency coordination of measures for protection against radiation, and to that end will consult with all federal agencies that have radiological health responsibilities.

Establishment of the council follows recommendations made to the President by the Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare, the Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission, the Special Assistant to the President for Science and Technology, and the Director of the Bureau of the Budget.

In addition, the President has approved a series of recommendations to be carried out upon enactment of proposed legislation endorsed by the Administration (S.1987 and H.R.7214) under which certain regulatory responsibilities of the Atomic Energy Commission will be transferred to the states by agreement with the commission. The recommendations are that:

- 1) The AEC have the principal federal responsibility for preparing the states for the proposed transfer of certain of its regulatory responsibilities.
- 2) The training programs necessary for such transfer be financed and planned by the commission, and that in order to make maximum use of existing facilities and competence, such programs be con-

ducted under cooperative arrangements between the AEC and the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare.

- 3) At the termination of this special training program, any training of state personnel be conducted within the continuing programs of the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare and other federal agencies.
- 4) The Department of Health, Education, and Welfare continue as the federal focal point for guidance and assistance to the states with respect to contamination by and biological effects from radiation sources not now under control of the AEC.

Overseas Research Council Announced in Britain

Great Britain has announced the formation of the Overseas Research Council, a coordinating agency for scientists both within and without the Commonwealth. The new organization, probably to be known as "Oresco," has been established primarily because of the pace of political change in Britain's overseas territories, according to the Manchester Guardian. The announcement of the project was overshadowed by the almost simultaneous announcement of Britain's space research program. The Guardian observes that the result of this timing was to "muffle the start of a project that may well prove more important to this country in the long run than the launching of a few satellites."

The Overseas Research Council was established to advise the Privy Council's newly formed Committee on Overseas Research, which consists of the Lord President of the Privy Council and the Secretaries of State for Commonwealth Relations, the Colonies, and Foreign Affairs. In a statement about the new council, Lord Hailsham, the Lord President, said:

"The United Kingdom Research Councils—Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Medical Research Council, and Agricultural Research Council—are willing to provide advice and assistance on research matters falling within their respective fields to any Commonwealth country desiring such assistance, wherever this can be done within the funds available. The Overseas Research Council will provide for the co-ordination of this assistance, and for the formulation of general U.K. policy in this field. The Council will provide a central point to which Com-

monwealth Governments and research institutions can refer for advice and information, and will advise generally on U.K. co-operation in scientific research overseas.

"There are no geographical restrictions in the Council's terms of reference. Matters concerning scientific development in Colonial territories, in Commonwealth countries and in countries outside the Commonwealth, can equally be referred to it. Moreover, in promoting such development, the Council can look to possible collaboration between this country and other Commonwealth countries, countries outside the Commonwealth, such as the U.S.A., and international agencies (such as U.N. agencies and the charitable foundations)."

The members of the Council are: R. S. Aiken (chairman), vice chancellor, University of Birmingham, and chairman, Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Principals; Sir Jock Campbell, chairman, Booker Bros., McConnell & Company, Ltd., and chairman, Imperial College of Tropical Agriculture; Sir Charles Dodds, Courtauld professor of biochemistry, University of London, and director of Courtauld Institute of Biochemistry, Middlesex Hospital; Sir Harold Himsworth, secretary, Medical Research Council; Sir Joseph Hutchinson, professor of agriculture, Cambridge University; R. Lewthwaite, director of colonial medical research, Colonial Office; John McMichael, professor of medicine, University of London, and director, department of medicine, Postgraduate Medical School of London; Sir Harry Melville, secretary, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research; G. W. Nye, agricultural adviser to the Secretary of State for the Colonies; Sir Arnold Plant, Sir Ernest Cassel professor of commerce in the University of London at London School of Economics; Sir William Slater, secretary, Agricultural Research Council; H. G. Thornton, foreign secretary, Royal Society, and former head of the department of soil microbiology, Rothamsted; and Sir Solly Zuckerman, deputy chairman, Advisory Council on Scientific Policy.

Canadian Oceanographic Institute

Canada, which possesses the longest coastline of any country in the world, is establishing a \$3-million oceanographic institute on the east coast, in Bedford Basin near Halifax. The new institute, which will be under the Department of