The resolution, among other things, commended the committee for the report it submitted in mid-1958 regarding the effects of atomic radiation; requested the committee "to continue its useful work and report to the Assembly as appropriate"; asked the committee to consult with other agencies and organizations concerned to insure effective coordination of activities; and requested the Secretary-General to continue to provide the committee with assistance.

An interagency research advisory committee has been formed by representatives of the Alaska Department of Health, Alaska Native Health Service (U.S. Public Health Service), Arctic Aeromedical Laboratory (U.S. Air Force), and Arctic Health Research Center (U.S. Public Health Service) to assist scientific investigators in medical and allied fields who wish to perform research in Alaska. The committee is prepared to assist investigators sponsored by a recognized institution by explaining local situations, in meeting logistic difficulties, and making Alaskan facilities available. Persons desiring such assistance should write to E. M. Scott, Chairman, Interagency Research Advisory Committee, Arctic Health Research Center, Box 960, Anchorage, Alaska.

Announcement has been made by the National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council that the committee on animal care of the Institute of Laboratory Animal Resources, after consultation with various professional societies and research workers, has proposed certain general principles for the treatment and use of animals in laboratories and schools. Principles of Laboratory Animal Care is intended for workers in universities and industries, and Guiding Principles in the Use of Animals by Secondary School Students and Science Club Members is directed to students and science teachers. Reprints of both statements are available from the Executive Secretary, Institute of Laboratory Animal Resources, National Research Council, 2101 Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington 25, D.C.

A record 94,400 full-time university-grade students were in attendance at Canadian universities and colleges on 1 Dec. 1958, some 9.1 percent above the 1957–58 total of 86,500, according to advance figures released by the Dominion Bureau of Statistics.

New peaks in enrollment were established in the current academic year in the four Atlantic provinces and in Quebec, Alberta, and British Columbia, while enrollment in Ontario and Saskatchewan was approaching the record set in the 1947–48 session.

A private collection of moths and butterflics native to the United States—the results of a lifetime devoted to the task of collecting examples of the more than 5000 known species—has been acquired by the American Museum of Natural History.

The collection of the late Otto Buckholz of Roselle Park, N.J., numbering 125,000 specimens and including approximately 95 percent of the more than 5000 species of butterflies and the larger moths found in this country, has been purchased by friends of the museum for the department of insects and spiders. The collection will be available for study by scientists and students.

Grants, Fellowships, and Awards

Agricultural chemistry. The Association of Official Agricultural Chemists has announced that nominations are now being accepted for the third AOAC Harvey W. Wiley Award for Achievement in Analytical Methods. This \$500 award goes to the scientist who makes an outstanding contribution to the development of methods of analysis for foods, drugs, cosmetics, feeds, fertilizers, and pesticides, or for use in general analytical chemistry. Nominations must be submitted by 1 April. Nominees need not be members of the association. Further information may be obtained from the secretary, William Horwitz, Box 540, Benjamin Franklin Station, Washington 4, D.C.

Biological sciences. The Division of Biological and Medical Sciences of the National Science Foundation has announced that the next closing date for receipt of basic research proposals in the life sciences is 15 May. Proposals received prior to that date will be reviewed at the summer meetings of the foundation's advisory panels, and disposition will be made approximately 4 months following the closing date. Inquiries should be addressed to the National Science Foundation, Washington 25, D.C.

General. The Karl P. Schmidt Fund has modest sums available to assist persons wishing to study at the Chicago Natural History Museum. Grants will be made for study in any of the four fields encompassed by the museum: anthropology (with a natural history orientation), botany, geology (including paleontology), and zoology. An applicant should describe the study proposed in brief terms, state the length of time he wishes to study at the museum and the amount of money needed, and name one reference. Applications should be mailed to: Chairman, Karl P. Schmidt Fund, Chicago Natural History Museum, Roosevelt Road and Lake Shore Drive, Chicago 5, Ill.

Scientists in the News

President Eisenhower has named five scientists to his 18-member Science Advisory Committee. The new appointees, four of whom are replacements, are as follows:

EMANUEL R. PIORE, physicist and electronics engineer and director of research for International Business Machines.

CYRIL S. SMITH, professor of metallurgy at the University of Chicago, and member of the General Advisory Committee of the Atomic Energy Commission.

GLEN T. SEABORG, Nobel Prize winner and professor of chemistry at the University of California.

BRITTON CHANCE, biophysicist and director of the Johnson Foundation of the University of Pennsylvania.

JOHN BARDEEN, professor of physics and electrical engineering at the University of Illinois.

Lord PLOWDEN, chairman of the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority, recently visited U.S. atomic energy installations on invitation by John McCone, chairman of the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission. McCone and Willard F. Libby, AEC Commissioner, visited Britain's principal atomic power and research centers in November of last year.

WILLARD F. LIBBY, scientist member of the Atomic Energy Commission, has been appointed professor of chemistry at the University of California, Los Angeles.

IRA H. ABBOTT, assistant director of research (aerodynamics and flight mechanics), National Aeronautics and Space Administration, has been appointed deputy director of aeronautical and space research. He will continue to serve in his present position as well.

D. W. JUENKER, assistant professor of physics at Notre Dame University, has received the 1958 Young Author Award of the National Association of Corrosion Engineers for a paper on "Cavity Formation in Iron Oxide" that he wrote in collaboration with R. A. Meussner and C. E. Birchenall.

THOMAS M. HAHN, Jr., head of the department of physics at Virginia Polytechnical Institute, has been appointed dean of arts and sciences at Kansas State College, effective 1 September.

FRANK H. T. RHODES, head of the department of geology at University College, Swansea, Wales, will be a