"I must say this: I think Mr. Flemming should entertain himself in some other manner than attacking these requirements which were approved and passed by the Congress of the United States, and signed by the President.

"We are representatives of the people and we, likewise, are servants like the rest. So I am not so fond of Mr. Flemming's attack. If he has a suggestion to make about it, the committee is the proper place to do it and not shower that kind of stuff on members of Congress who are doing the best they can to safeguard and protect this country from every type of enemy or termite that might relish an opportunity to dig from within."

## **Australian Atomic Institute**

The inaugural meeting of the Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering was held on 4 December at the headquarters of the Australian Atomic Energy Commission, Coogee, New South Wales.

At the meeting, the institute formally came into being when its constitution was unanimously adopted by its founding members, comprising every Australian university and the commission. Through the institute, the commission will allow universities to use nuclear research reactor HIFAR and other equipment and facilities at the Lucas Heights Research Establishment which is near Sydney. The institute will be managed by a council of commission and university representatives and a small permanent secretariat. The council, through the secretariat and in association with the commission, will organize research projects and training courses for university staff members and students at Lucas Heights.

The Commonwealth Government has provided £60,000 for a headquarters building at Lucas Heights. This will include a lecture hall, study rooms, and offices and will be ready for occupation by mid-1959.

The objectives of the institute, as set out in the rules adopted by the inaugural meeting, include the carrying out of research and investigations in connection with matters associated with uranium or atomic energy; arrangements for the training of scientific research workers and the establishment of scientific research studentships and fellowships in matters associated with uranium or atomic energy; the collection and distribution of information relating to uranium or to atomic energy; the publishing of scientific and technical reports, periodicals, and papers in connection with the activities of the institute and other similar activities.

The meeting elected as first president

of the institute, D. O. Jordan, professor of physical and inorganic chemistry at the University of Adelaide. Vice-presidents will be representatives of the universities of Melbourne and New South Wales.

## **News Briefs**

The Atomic Energy Commission has established an awards program for outstanding top-management contractor employees upon their retirement. Its purpose is to formally recognize noteworthy performance and length of service. The award will be a parchment scroll. It will be given to management employees who have performed outstanding service under an AEC contract for an extended period of time and who retire from the contractor organization while they are still engaged in AEC work.

The National Broadcasting Company's television program on weather, "The Unchained Goddess," is being repeated on 22 March. This hour-long Bell System program, which was directed by Frank Capra, explains weather fundamentals with the help of animated characters and charts. Meteorologists Bernhard Haurwitz and Morris Neiburger were technical advisers.

The Columbia University School of Engineering's new program of college-level science courses for gifted high-school students, inaugurated last fall, has met with such success that plans are under way to make it permanent if sufficient financial support is forthcoming. An expanded class, with possibly a dozen high-school science teachers as observers, is in prospect for the 1959–60 academic year. High schools within commuting distance of New York may nominate students during the spring.

## Scientists in the News

JAMES B. CONANT, chemist and president emeritus of Harvard University, has been presented the 1959 Tuition Plan Award for outstanding service to education, in tribute to his 2-year study of American high schools. The award was presented before an assemblage of education leaders at the organization's 19th annual luncheon forum at the Sheraton-East Hotel in New York.

Conant was cited for his "very special service to education" through what has been termed the most extensive examination of the American high school ever made. The findings of his study, financed by grants of \$370,000 from the Carnegie Corporation, are detailed in his formal report, The American High School Today.

WILLARD F. LIBBY, scientist member of the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission who recently announced that he will resign in June, received Dickinson College's annual \$1000 Priestley Memorial Award on 19 March. Libby, a nuclear chemist, was the first to find carbon-14 atoms in nature. He is the founder of radiocarbon dating.

GEORGE E. UHLENBECK, professor of theoretical physics at the University of Michigan and codiscoverer with Samuel E. Goudsmit of Brookhaven National Laboratory of electron spin, has been elected president of the American Physical Society. He succeeds JESSE W. BEAMS, professor of physics at the University of Virginia.

R. WINSTON EVANS, pathologist in the department of clinical pathology at the University of Liverpool, England, has been named visiting professor of pathology at the University of Chicago. He is the author of *Histological Appearances of Tumours*.

NORMAN KRETCHMER, associate professor of pediatrics at Cornell University Medical School, has been appointed head of Stanford University's pediatrics department, effective 1 July. He will succeed ROBERT H. ALWAY, dean of Stanford University Medical School. RUTH T. GROSS, associate professor, has been acting head of the pediatrics department for the past 2 years.

A competition designed to encourage improvement of apparatus for physics teaching was held at the recent annual meeting of the American Association of Physics Teachers in New York, under the sponsorship of the association's committee on apparatus and with the support of the W. M. Welch Scientific Co.

The first prize of \$500 in the lecturedemonstration category was won by HAROLD M. WAAGE, of the physics department at Princeton University, for a beat analysis using an optical pendulum.

The first prize of \$500 in the laboratory category was won by WILLIAM M. WHITNEY and ROBERT G. MARCLEY, both of the physics department of Massachusetts Institute of Technology; for air-suspended collision disks for studying conservation of momentum.

CLARE P. STANFORD, formerly of the Westinghouse Electric Company's Atomic Power Division, has been appointed chief of the engineering department in the nuclear division of the Martin Company, Baltimore, Md. He succeeds J. A. HUNTER, who has been assigned to the office of the vice-president for engineering.