Application materials may be secured by writing to the Fellowship Office, National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council, 2101 Constitution Ave., NW, Washington 25, D.C. Applications must be filed at the Fellowship Office before 19 January 1959. Awards will be announced about 1 April by the participating laboratories and research centers.

Teaching. The National Science Foundation has announced the initiation, on an experimental basis, of a program to encourage appropriate groups to set up specially devised study opportunities in the fields of science and mathematics for secondary school students of high ability. Proposals are invited from colleges, universities, and nonprofit research organizations for the summer of 1959. Proposals sponsored by secondary schools are not eligible under this program. However, the facilities of secondary schools can be utilized in college-sponsored, off-campus programs where this is mutually acceptable.

A wide variety of programs will be supported, including but not limited to one or more of the following features: classwork, laboratory visits, field trips, special orientation lectures in the fields of scientific endeavor, and research participation activities in which students work with experienced scientific investigators.

Under this program foundation support may include expenses of some or all of the student participants for room, board, travel (including commuting), and other essential items. Support may also be given for costs of the sponsoring institution. Direct costs may include fractions of staff salaries properly attributable to the program, payments to high school science teachers as auxiliary participants and counselors, and other necessary administrative expenses and supply costs.

Proposal for 1959 summer programs of this type must be received not later than 5 January 1959 by the Special Projects in Science Education Section, Division of Scientific Personnel and Education, National Science Foundation, Washington 25, D.C. Suggestions for the preparation of proposals are available from the same source.

Travel grants. The National Science Foundation will award individual grants to assist in defraying travel expenses for a limited number of scientists to the following scientific meetings: International Conference on Coordination Chemistry, sponsored by IUPAC, London, 6–11 April 1959—application deadline, 19 January 1959; International Symposium on Electrolytes, sponsored by the Italian Society for the Progress of Science, Trieste, 4–8 June 1959—application dead-

line, 2 February 1959; International Symposium on Fluorine Chemistry, sponsored by the Chemical Society of London, Birmingham, England 15–17 July 1959—application deadline, 2 February 1959; Meeting of the European Molecular Spectroscopy Group, Bologna, Italy, 24–29 August—application deadline, 2 February 1959; 17th International Congress of Pure and Applied Chemistry, Munich, Gremany, 30 August–6 September 1959—application deadline 2 February 1959.

Scientists in the News

CHIEN-SHIUNG WU, professor of physics at Columbia University, is to receive the 1958 Research Corporation Award for her valuable contribution to the knowledge of beta-decay and particularly for her part in research that resulted in the overthrow of the "parity law." Dr. Wu is the first woman to receive the annual \$2500 award, which will be presented in January.

The recently held parity law stated that objects which are mirror images of each other must behave in the same way. Tsung-Dao Lee, of Columbia, and Chen Ning Yang, of the Institute of Advanced Study at Princeton, N.J., Dr. Wu's Nobel Prize-winning collaborators, suggested that the validity of the law in weak interactions should be checked. Dr. Wu, together with coworkers, devised and carried out an unequivocal proof and thus backed up the Lee-Yang contention with experiments that proved the failure of the law. Her experiments were conducted with the cooperation of Ernest Ambler and co-workers at the U.S. Bureau of Standards in Washington, D.C.

THOMAS B. MAGATH, senior consultant in clinical pathology, Mayo Clinic, and professor of clinical pathology, Mayo Foundation, University of Minnesota, was awarded the Ward Burdick Medal "for the most meritorious contribution to Clinical Pathology" at the recent meeting of the American Society of Clinical Pathologists. He delivered the Burdick lecture on "The Antigen of Echinococcus."

E. TRIER MORCH, professor of surgery and director of the section on anesthesiology at the University of Chicago for the past 6 years, has been made chief and professor of anesthesiology at Cook County Hospital, Chicago.

ROBERT E. MAIZELL has been named to the staff of the American Institute of Physics to direct research on the problems of publishing and documentation in the field of physics. Maizell, who

has been in charge of the Research Library of the Olin Mathieson Chemical Corporation's Industrial Chemical Division in Niagara Falls, N.Y., is at the institute under a grant from the National Science Foundation and supplementary funds from the Atomic Energy Commission.

Colonel JOHN H. RUST, chief of the veterinary pathology section of the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology, retired on 1 December and has become a member of the staff of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. There he is to serve as director of a recently inaugurated research project sponsored by the Atomic Energy Commission that relates to new and extended uses for radioisotopes in the food industries. His new duties will necessitate extended travels in the United States previous to making his headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

HOWARD GEST, associate professor of microbiology at Western Reserve University, has been appointed professor of microbiology in the Henry Shaw School of Botany at Washington University, St. Louis.

The New York Academy of Medicine has announced that HUBERTUS STRUGHOLD, professor of space medicine and adviser for research, U.S. Air Force School of Aviation Medicine, Randolph Air Force Base, San Antonio, Tex., will deliver the 1959 Hermann M. Biggs Memorial Lecture. The lecture, which will be on space medicine, will be presented on the evening of 5 February at the academy headquarters in New York. The Biggs lecture was established in 1925 by the family of H. M. Biggs, who served as health commissioner of both New York City and New York State and was responsible for many important advances in public health practice. He died in

C. WARREN THORNTHWAITE, director of the Laboratory of Climatology, Centerton, N.J., has been awarded the American Geographical Society's Cullum Geographical Medal. The award is made for exceptional research in the field of geography. It will be formally presented at a dinner of the society in New York on 20 January.

Thornthwaite is the originator of a system for classifying climates that has been adopted by scientists in many parts of the world. He is also noted for his experimental studies of the effects of microclimatic conditions on plant growth and crop yields. These studies have proved highly successful in their application to commercial market gardening.