disposal. Although a great deal of industrial and municipal waste is discharged into the marine environment, research in this area has been largely neglected as compared to research on the fresh water environment. Further information about the program may be obtained from the Department of Conferences, University Extension, University of California, Berkeley 4, Calif.

News Briefs

The second program of the season in the "Conquest" television series, which will be devoted partly to cancer research and partly to the study of volcanoes, will be shown on 14 December at 5 P.M. (E.S.T.) on the CBS Television Network. Participating in the report on cancer research will be C. P. Rhoads, director of the Sloan-Kettering Institute for Cancer Research in New York. In the latter half of the program, the audience will be shown an active volcano-Kilauea in the Hawaiian Islands. Two volcanologists will participate: Gordon MacDonald, a geologist at the University of Hawaii, and Jerry Eaton, director of the Hawaiian Volcano Observatory at Kilauea. "Conquest" is presented in cooperation with the AAAS and the National Academy of Sciences, under the sponsorship of the Monsanto Chemical Company.

* * *

The School of Allied Medical Professions of the University of Pennsylvania formally dedicated its new quarters at 39th and Pine Streets, Philadelphia, on 25 November. The completely renovated spacious old building makes it possible for the various academic programs of the school to be housed under one roof. These programs include physical therapy, occupational therapy, medical technology, and oral hygiene.

The American Association of Poison Control Centers was formed in Chicago on 21 October 1958. Officers elected are as follows: president, Robert Grayson, organizer of the poison control center at Jackson Memorial Hospital, University of Miami School of Medicine; vice president, William C. Adams, University of Louisville School of Medicine; and secretary-treasurer, Harry Raybin, New York City Department of Health.

Membership is open to both individuals and organizations. The new association hopes to stimulate educational programs and scientific research on toxic substances; assist state and local officials and voluntary agencies in the field of poison control; set up standards for operation of poison control centers; provide information to the public and develop information services; and help develop insurance liability programs.

The Boston Psychoanalytic Society and Institute celebrated its 25th anniversary on 30 November. The theme of a special meeting, attended by some 600 people, was the creative role played by Boston psychoanalysts in the development in the United States of their specialty. The Society and Institute, which was formally organized in 1933, is the outgrowth of the early interest in the work of Sigmund Freud aroused among Boston physicians. James J. Putnam, first president of the American Neurological Association (1911) and first professor of neuropathology at Harvard, was a pioneer and was identified by Freud as "the first psychoanalyst in America." The original Boston Psychoanalytic Society, which was reorganized in 1933, was established in 1928 with Isador Goriat as the first president.

* * *

The following chemicals are wanted by the National Registry of Rare Chemicals, Armour Research Foundation of Illinois Institute of Technology, 13 W. 33 St., Chicago 16, Ill.:

4-amino-3,5-dimethylbenzoic acid: 1,2,3,4-benzenetetracarboxylic acid (mellophanic acid); 3-bromoanisole; 3-bromopropenylbenzene; 3-bromosalicylic acid: p-chlorocumene; cobaltous cyanate; diallyl bicyclo-(2.2.1)-hept-5-ene-2,3-dicarboxylate; 2,6-diaminobenzoic acid; 2,4-dichloro-3-methylphenol; diethyl dicyclohexyl thiuram disulfide; 1,4-dihydronaphthalene; 5,5-dimethylheptene-3; N-ethylallylamine; ethyl phoshexakis(hydroxymethyl)melaphine; mine; N-hexanal; N-hexyl azide; lithium cyanide, anhydrous, and 4-trimethylsilybenzoic acid.

* * *

Contracting procedures of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration will conform in every practicable way to the Armed Services Procurement Regulations. This decision should be welcomed by potential NASA contractors, since industry has become quite familiar with the ASPR in the past 10 years. It will not be necessary to learn how to operate under widely divergent NASA regulations.

Scientists in the News

WALLACE R. BRODE, president of the AAAS and science adviser to the Secretary of State, was awarded the Medal for Distinguished Work in Spectroscopy of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy at the society's annual meeting in New York on 6 November.

HERMANN I. SCHLESINGER, professor emeritus of chemistry at the University of Chicago, has been named winner of the 1959 Willard Gibbs Medal of the Chicago Section of the American

Chemical Society. The medal will be awarded on 22 May 1959 at a dinner in the Furniture Club, Chicago. Schlesinger achieved fame for his basic research in the compounds of boron. The results of his scientific inquiries led to such farranging applications as rocket fuels and vitamin manufacture.

PAUL E. KLOPSTEG, AAAS president-elect, is the new chairman of the National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council's Committee on Atmospheric Sciences. He succeeds LLOYD V. BERKNER, president of Associated Universities, Inc., who resigned in order to devote his full energies to his new position as chairman of the Academy-Research Council's Space Science Board.

Since assuming the committee chairmanship, Klopsteg has retired from his position as associate director (research) of the National Science Foundation, with which he has been associated since 1951. Upon his retirement, Klopsteg was named special consultant to the NSF director for a period of a year.

The Committee on Atmospheric Sciences (originally the "Committee on Meteorology") was organized by the NAS in April 1956 for the purpose of bringing together scientists from meteorology and related physical and geophysical fields to view in broad perspective the present position and future requirements of meteorological research and to recommend the general outline of a program which would accelerate progress in this important field. In January 1958, an "interim report" of the committee offered a series of recommendations in pursuance of its goals. These included the granting of Federal funds to increase support for meteorological research in universities, the establishment of a National Institute of Atmospheric Research, and the creation of more promising career opportunities for young meteorologists.

I. S. RAVDIN, vice president for medical development, University of Pennsylvania, and professor of surgery, has received the first annual Lovelace Foundation Award. President Eisenhower sent a congratulatory telegram to Ravdin at the presentation ceremony in Albuquerque, N.M., where the foundation has headquarters.

Lt. Commander JOHN H. EBER-SOLE, U.S. Navy, medical officer of the U.S.S. Seawolf, one of the Nation's first atomic-powered submarines, has received the Gorgas Medal for his role in the development of nuclear medicine. The \$500 award was presented on 19 November at the annual dinner of the Association of Military Surgeons in Washington, D.C. The Gorgas Medal is sponsored by Wyeth Laboratories in memory of Sur-