pected to provide an over-all picture of animal diseases of major economic importance and of methods of control throughout the world. The yearbook will be particularly useful to veterinary authorities when imports of animals and animal products are being considered.

## Pharmacological Journals

Three new journals in the rapidly growing field of pharmacology are appearing. Biochemical Pharmacology, an international journal devoted to research into the development of biologically active substances and their mode of action at the biochemical and subcellular level, is edited by a board of which Alexander Haddow of the Chester Beatty Research Institute is chairman. The regional editor for the United States is A. D. Welch of Yale University. The publisher is the Pergamon Press, New York and London. The first volume appeared in July.

Academic Press, Inc., of New York City, has announced the publication of Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, with H. W. Hays of the National Research Council as managing editor, assisted by Frederick Coulston of the Sterling-Winthrop Institute and Arnold J. Lehman of the Food and Drug Administration. The first number is to appear in January 1959.

Interscience Publishers of New York City has announced an international bimonthly periodical, Journal of Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, the first issue to appear toward the end of the year. This will have as editors Arnold H. Beckett of the Chelsea College of Science and Technology, London, and Alfred Berger of the University of Virginia.

## Physics Course on TV

In an attempt to raise the standards of physics teaching in all sections of the United States, a nationwide college course in atomic age physics will be televised over the National Broadcasting Company network for two semesters, beginning 6 October and continuing through 5 June. Designed primarily for high school science teachers, the program will be known as the "Continental Classroom."

The course, to be offered for credit through the auspices of local colleges and universities, will be telecast from 6:30 to 7 A.M. (in each time zone) Monday through Friday. This is probably the first time that a course for college credit has been offered on a nationwide basis.

Harvey E. White, professor and vicechairman of the department of physics at the University of California in Berkeley, will be responsible for the course. Other internationally known scientists will serve as guest lecturers.

Sponsors of the new program include the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, the Fund for the Advancement of Education, and N.B.C. Consultants for the series include Mark Zemansky, chairman of the department of physics at City College of New York; Henry Semat, professor of physics at C.C.N.Y.; and Vernet E. Eaton, professor of physics at Wesleyan University, Middletown, Conn.

## Grants, Fellowships and Awards

Radiological research. On behalf of the James Picker Foundation, The National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council announces the continued availability of funds in support of radiological research. Applications are reviewed by the Committee on Radiology of the Academy-Research Council's Division of Medical Sciences. Final determination of awards is made by the foundation upon recommendation of the division.

In line with the interests of the foundation, the program is oriented toward, but not necessarily limited to, the diagnostic aspects of radiology. Support is not restricted to citizens of the United States or to laboratories within this country.

Three specific types of support are offered:

- (1) Grants-in-aid are designed to encourage investigations offering promise of improvement in radiological methods of diagnosis or treatment of disease. Research grants are awarded to institutions, rather than to individuals.
- (2) Grants for scholars are a transitional form of support, designed to bridge the gap between the completion of fellowship training and the period when the young scientist has thoroughly demonstrated his competence as an independent investigator. The application is submitted by the institution on behalf of the prospective scholar. If the request is approved, a grant of \$6000 per year will be made directly to the institution as a contribution toward the scholar's support, or his research, or both. Initial grants are limited to 1 year, but renewal for two additional years may be recommended.
- (3) Fellowships in radiological research are open to candidates seeking to gain research skills leading to investigative careers in the field of radiology. While persons from closely related disciplines are eligible to apply, candidates whose training has been directly in the field of radiology will receive preference under this program. Candidates must

hold the M.D., Ph.D., or Sc.D. degree or the equivalent. Preference will be given to applicants who are 35 years of age or less.

Applications in these three categories for the fiscal year 1959–1960 should be submitted by *1 December 1958*. Further details and application blanks may be obtained from the Division of Medical Sciences, National Academy of Sciences–National Research Council, 2101 Constitution Ave., NW, Washington 25, D.C.

The National Research Council of Canada has assumed the responsibility for serving as scientific adviser to the James Picker Foundation with respect to its Canadian program. Applications for support of studies to be carried out in Canada should therefore be directed to the Awards Office, National Research Council of Canada, Ottawa 2, Canada.

## Scientists in the News

President Eisenhower has selected four more members of the civilian space agency council, completing the membership for the nine-man group, which he heads. The new appointees are Lieutenant General JAMES H. DOOLIT-TLE (ret.), vice president of the Shell Oil Company and chairman of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics; WILLIAM A. M. BURDEN of New York, who in 1943-47 was Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Air and who served in 1950-52 as a special research and development assistant to the Secretary of the Air Force; ALAN T. WATERMAN, director of the National Science Foundation; and DET-LEV W. BRONK, president of the National Academy of Sciences and also head of the Rockefeller Institute of Medical Research.

Other members of the council are: John Foster Dulles, Secretary of State; Neil H. McElroy, Secretary of Defense; T. Keith Glennan, chief of the new Space Agency; and John A. McCone, chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission.

JOSEPH J. PFIFFNER, specialist in the biochemistry of vitamins and hormones, has been appointed professor of physiology and pharmacolgy at Wayne State University College of Medicine. For the past 21 years, Pfiffner has been associated with Parke, Davis and Company, where he has been laboratory director in biochemical research since 1951.

ALLEN J. SPROW, executive editor of *Psychological Abstracts* and treasurer of the National Federation of Science Abstracting and Indexing Services, has resigned to become bibliographer and an

19 SEPTEMBER 1958 647