opment and to encourage them to remain in these disciplines. The plan is intended to assist departments to offer opportunities for development of promising individuals.

The awards are designed for persons who have progressed beyond the state of development which is now encompassed by postdoctorate fellowships. Recipients must hold "faculty rank," such as instructor or assistant professor.

Nominations should be submitted to the Lederle Medical Faculty Awards Committee through the office of the dean of the medical school by 31 October. Complete information may be obtained from Lederle Medical Faculty Awards, Office of the Secretary, Pearl River, N.Y.

Scientists in the News

LARKIN H. FARINHOLT, professor of chemistry and director of the Chemical Laboratories at Columbia University, has been appointed deputy science adviser to the Department of State.

JEROME C. HUNSAKER, emeritus professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was presented the Navy Distinguished Public Service Award by G. Norton, Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Air. This award, the highest conferred on civilians by the Department of the Navy, recognizes Hunsaker's singularly outstanding contributions in the fields of scientific research and development. His penetrating insight into technical and organizational problems have proven invaluable to the Navy.

EVA V. ARMSTRONG, former curator of the Edgar Fahs Smith Memorial Library, University of Pennsylvania, has been selected for the third annual Dexter Chemical Corporation Award in the history of chemistry. The award will be presented 9 September at the American Chemical Society's annual convention in Chicago. The \$500 prize was established by Dexter to recognize "noteworthy contributions to the advancement of the history of chemistry."

JOHN J. BIESELE, now at the Sloan-Kettering Institute for Cancer Research in New York, will join the University of Texas faculty in September as professor of zoology.

DAVID GROB, associate professor of medicine at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, has been appointed professor of medicine at the State University of New York Downstate Medical Center and full-time director of medical services at Maimonides Hospital of Brooklyn.

MERVIN J. KELLY, president of Bell Telephone Laboratories, will be the 1959 recipient of the John Fritz Medal, it has been announced by the John Fritz Medal Board of Award.

Cited for "his achievements in electronics, leadership of a great industrial research laboratory, and contributions to the defense of the country through science and technology," Kelly will receive the award at ceremonies to be scheduled by the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, of which he is a fellow.

DONALD H. FLEMING, chairman of the department of history at Brown University for the past year and one of the nation's outstanding young historians, has been appointed to the newly created professorship of the history of science at Yale University. Yale thus becomes one of the few universities in this country to have a chair in the history of science.

JOSEPH M. QUASHNOCK, chief of the department of aviation medicine, School of Aviation Medicine, Randolph Air Force Base, Tex., has been named commander of the Arctic Aeromedical Laboratory, Ladd Air Force Base, Alaska.

The appointment of LEROY A. BROTHERS as dean of the College of Engineering of Drexel Institute of Technology has been announced. Brothers succeeds HARRY L. BOWMAN, who will continue as dean of the faculty.

MAX S. PETERS has been appointed head of the division of chemical engineering in the University of Illinois's department of chemistry and chemical engineering, effective 1 September. He joined Illinois in 1951 as assistant professor of chemical engineering and was promoted to professor in 1957. Peters succeeds H. G. DRICKAMER, who will continue as professor of chemistry and chemical engineering.

JOHN B. STORER has joined the research staff of the Roscoe B. Jackson Memorial Laboratory, Bar Harbor, Me. He was previously alternate leader of the Biomedical Research Group of the Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory.

The Atomic Energy Commission's Division of International Affairs, upon request of the Polish government to the U.S. Department of State, has selected WILLIAM G. POLLARD, executive director of the Oak Ridge Institute of Nuclear Studies, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, to make a special trip to Poland this month.

Pollard will be accompanied by RICHARD H. CHAMBERLAIN of the University of Pennsylvania. The two

will hold discussions with Polish scientists and government representatives on the unclassified topics of radioisotopes in science and industry, fundamental chemistry, design of radiochemical laboratories, and neutron physics.

KENNETH D. JACOB of the U.S. Department of Agriculture has been awarded the Harvey W. Wiler award of the Association of Official Agricultural Chemists.

WILLIAM B. ATKINSON, associate professor of anatomy at the University of Cincinnati School of Medicine, has been appointed chairman of the department of anatomy at the University of Louisville School of Medicine, to succeed S. I. KORNHAUSER, who has been chairman since 1922.

RICHARD E. WATSON of the Leeds and Northrup Co. and CHARLES W. MALICH of the Naval Research Laboratory have accepted positions as professor and associate professor of physics, respectively, at Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, Ill.

SERGEI A. SCHELKUNOFF who is assistant director of mathematical research at Bell Telephone Laboratories, Inc., Murray Hill, N.J., has been appointed adjunct professor of electrical engineering at the School of Engineering of Columbia University.

EDWARD F. KNIPLING, director of Entomology Research Division of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, has been presented with an alumni Award of Merit by the Iowa State College Alumni Association.

JOSEPH C. PATRICK, whose discoveries led to the production of the first synthetic rubber in the United States, has been named recipient of an Elliott Cresson medal, which is awarded annually by the Franklin Institute to one or more persons for discovery or original research adding to the sum of human knowledge.

OLIVER GRUMMITT has been appointed chairman of the department of chemistry, Western Reserve University. He succeeds FRANK HOVORKA, who will continue his teaching and research in physical chemistry.

Announcement has been made by the National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council of the appointment of H. BURR STEINBACH as chairman of the Academy-Research Council's Division of Biology and Agriculture. Steinbach is head of the department of zoology at the University of Chicago.