Owens-Illinois Glass Company) and is sponsored by the Conference of State and Provincial Public Health Laboratory Directors. The cash award of \$1000 and silver plaque will be presented at the annual meeting of the conference to be held in St. Louis, Mo., in November 1958. Rules governing nominations can be obtained from the chairman of the nominating committee: Dr. Nell Hollinger, School of Public Health, University of California, Berkeley 4, Calif.

## History of Technology

In an effort to assess the impact of technology on society, a group of scholars has formed the Society for the History of Technology. The society will sponsor meetings at which various aspects of technological history will be investigated and will publish a quarterly journal, Technology and Culture. The Executive Committee of the newly formed society consists of the following members: chairman, Melvin Kranzberg, Case Institute of Technology; Carl W. Condit, Northwestern University; Howard Mumford Jones, Harvard University; Edward Lurie, University of Michigan; Robert Multhauf, Smithsonian Institution; William Fielding Ogburn, University of Chicago; Stanley Pargellis, Newberry Library; John B. Rae, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Richard Shryock, Johns Hopkins University; and Lynn White, Jr., Mills College. An Advisory Council is also in the process of formation.

As its first program, the society will cosponsor the meeting of the Humanistic–Social Division of the American Society for Engineering Education, to be held at the University of California, Berkeley, 16–17 June. The society expects to begin publication of *Technology* and *Culture* in the fall of 1959. Applications for charter membership (\$10) in the Society for the History of Technology should be sent to Prof. Melvin Kranzberg, Room 315, Main Building, Case Institute of Technology, Cleveland 6, Ohio.

## Scientists in the News

The following awards were made during the American Chemical Society's 133rd national meeting, which took place in San Francisco last month: WILLIAM S. JOHNSON of the University of Wisconsin, the ACS Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry, sponsored by the Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturers Association; JACOB BIGELEISEN of the Brookhaven National Laboratory, the ACS Award for Nuclear Applications in 16 MAY 1958 Chemistry, sponsored by the Nuclear-Chicago Corporation; DuBOIS EAST-MAN of the Texas Company, the ACS Award in Industrial and Engineering Chemistry, sponsored by the Esso Research and Engineering Company; CARL DJERASSI of Wayne State University, the ACS Award in Pure Chemistry, sponsored by Alpha Chi Sigma fraternity; MAURICE F. HASLER of the Applied Research Laboratories, Beckman Award in Chemical Instrumentation; WILLIAM G. GORDON of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Eastern Regional Research Laboratory, the Borden Award in the Chemistry of Milk; JAMES J. LINGANE of Harvard University, the Fisher Award in Analytical Chemistry; GEORGE BUCHI of Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the Fritzsche Award; ARDA ALDEN GREEN, deceased, of the Johns Hopkins University, the Garvan Medal; WILLIAM L. LAURENCE of the New York Times, the James T. Grady Award; PAUL H. EMMETT of the Johns Hopkins University, the Kendall Company. Award in Colloid Chemistry; LESTER J. REED of the University of Texas, the Eli Lilly and Company Award in Biological Chemistry; EUGENE P. KEN-NEDY of the University of Chicago, the Paul-Lewis Laboratories Award in Enzyme Chemistry; ROBERT P. EISCH-ENS of the Texas Company, the Precision Scientific Company Award in Petroleum Chemistry; ERNEST H. VOLWILER of the Abbott Laboratories, the Priestley Medal; FRANK E. BROWN of Iowa State College, the Scientific Apparatus Makers Award in Chemical Education.

Recent appointments in fundamental research at the Mellon Institute, Pittsburgh, Pa., include: staff fellow, A. A. BOTHNER-BY of Harvard University; senior fellow, M. H. J. WIJNEN of the University of Louvain; and the following fellows, E. G. ERDÖS of Ludwig Maximilian University, CECILE C. NAAR of Brussels University, J. G. PRITCH-ARD of University College (London), D. R. SEARS of Cornell University, and F. WENGER of the University of Bern.

Personnel added to contractual research projects of the institute are as follows: senior fellow, B. A. McALEER of the University of Pittsburgh; and fellows, S. Z. BEER of Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, G. K. BHAT of Lehigh University, and L. J. KROKO of Carnegie Institute of Technology.

HAROLD E. YOUNG, associate professor of forestry at the University of Maine, has been granted a year's leave of absence in order to serve as a civilian scientist with the Operations Analysis Office of the North American Air Defense Command in Colorado Springs, Colo. He will begin his duties on 1 September.

EUGENE S. TURRELL, associate professor of psychiatry at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, has been appointed medical director of the Milwaukee Sanitarium Foundation and professor of psychiatry at Marquette University School of Medicine, effective 1 July.

WARREN S. WOOSTER has returned to the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, La Jolla, Calif., as associate research oceanographer. During the past year he has been director of investigations for the Peruvian Council of Hydrobiological Investigations in Lima.

CHARLES S. REDDING, board chairman, Leeds & Northrup Company, Philadelphia, has received the Scientific Apparatus Makers Award for "highest achievement in developing the industry's capacity for serving the nation in the fields of industry, research, education, health and defense."

H. W. LASER, of the British Medical Research Council's external staff, working at the Molteno Institute of Biology and Parasitology in Cambridge, England, will be at the Argonne Laboratory, Lamont, Ill., for 6 months, beginning in July. He will investigate the use of tissue cultures for determining radiation effects.

IRA KUKIN, specialist in colloidal chemistry, has been appointed research director of the Belleville (N.J.) Research Center of L. Sonneborn Sons, Inc. He succeeds the late Abraham Moscowitz, who died in February. Kukin was formerly on the staff of the Gulf Research and Development Company, where for 6 years he was in charge of fundamental research in the product division.

JEAN P. ROSSELET has been appointed senior biochemist in the biochemistry department of the Schering Corporation, Bloomfield, N.J. Prior to joining Schering, Rosselet was with another pharmaceutical manufacturer and also was a research associate at Columbia University.

EVERETT R. HOLLES, formerly with the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, has joined the General Atomic Division of General Dynamics Corporation, San Diego, Calif., as assistant to Frederic de Hoffmann, a vice president of the corporation and division general manager of General Atomic. Holles, who was assistant to Lewis L. Strauss, chairman of the AEC, has had extensive experience as a news correspondent and