Agency of the Japanese Government. The work is being conducted under the International Convention for the High Seas Fisheries of the North Pacific Ocean, signed at Tokyo, Japan, 9 May 1952

Serving as research agency for the United States Section of the International North Pacific Fisheries Commission, the investigators are trying to determine the home base of salmon taken on the high seas. Were these salmon spawned in American or Asiatic streams? In what areas do they mingle in the high seas? By what characteristics may the Asiatic and American fish be distinguished?

This is the fourth year of the salmon studies. Results of the 1958 studies will be presented at the next meeting of the International North Pacific Fisheries Commission, to be held in Tokyo in November 1958.

National Committee of History and Philosophy of Science

The United States Committee of the International Union of the History and Philosophy of Science has been established to effect appropriate United States participation in the International Union through the National Academy of Sciences—National Research Council, which adheres to the union on behalf of the historians and the philosophers of science in the United States. The first meeting of the committee was held in January at the National Academy.

The committee is composed of Marshall Clagett, Charles C. Gillespie, Henry Guerlac, C. Doris Hellman, and Conway Zirkle, representing the History of Science Society; C. J. Ducasse, Ernest Nagel, and Henry Margenau, representing the Philosophy of Science Association; Willard van Orman Quine and J. Barkley Rosser, representing the Association for Symbolic Logic. In addition, there are ex-officio voting members in their capacity as U.S. officers of international organizations; Alfred Tarski, president of the Division of the Philosophy of Science of IUHPS; Stephen C. Kleene, president of the Association for Symbolic Logic; and Philipp Frank, director of the Institute of the Unity of Science. Finally, there are three exofficio nonvoting members: Raymond J. Seeger, deputy assistant director of the National Science Foundation as liaison representative, and Wallace W. Atwood, Jr., and André C. Simonpietri, respectively director and associate director of the Office of International Relations of the National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council.

At the first meeting Nagel was nominated as chairman of the committee and

Guerlac as vice-chairman. Hellman was appointed secretary. Three members-atlarge were nominated: Percy Bridgman, Richard H. Shryock, and Carl B. Boyer. The respective appointments have been made by the president of the academy.

There are two permanent subcommittees of the National Committee, one on the History of Science and one on the Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science. Clagett was elected chairman of the former and Quine chairman and Margenau vice-chairman of the latter.

Radiocarbon Dates

The Committee for Distribution of Radiocarbon Dates was formed at the Conference on Radiocarbon Dating held in Andover, Mass., October 1956. The committee has created a service organization capable of (i) assembling all known radiocarbon dates, (ii) producing complete description of all dated samples on punched cards coded for sorting into universally useful categories, and (iii) distributing to subscribers this set of cards carrying complete information otherwise nearly impossible to assemble. The service organization plans to distribute some 5000 cards to each subscriber during the next 5 years, including about 3000 now available. The necessary coding and sorting equipment and index guides will be included.

However the committee must know how many sets of cards to prepare and how much cash from subscriptions may accrue to meet the expenses of production. Therefore, a questionnaire is being circulated. It is estimated that the total cost for 5000 cards will be about \$250, provided a sufficient number subscribe. If only a few subscribe, the cost will be almost double this amount. For further information and a copy of the questionnaire, write to Frederick Johnson, R. S. Peabody Foundation, Box 71, Andover, Mass.

Grants, Fellowships, and Awards

Connective Tissue. The Helen Hay Whitney Foundation, which was originally established in 1947 to stimulate and support research in rheumatic heart disease, has announced its annual fellowship program. Any properly qualified person up to the age of 35, holding the M.D. or Ph.D. degree or the equivalent, who is seriously considering a career in biological or medical research, preferably relating in some way to connective tissue and its diseases, is eligible for consideration.

The applicant must have a commitment for adequate facilities and research expenses other than salary during the tenure of the fellowship from an institution or laboratory acceptable to the Scientific Advisory Committee. A contribution of \$1000 will be made to the laboratory of the fellow selected.

Application forms should be requested from the Executive Secretary, Helen Hay Whitney Foundation, 525 E. 68 St., New York 21, N.Y. Applications should be mailed prior to 15 August for fellowships commencing 1 July of the following year.

In addition to the fellowship program, the foundation will select a small number of established investigators to be supported for a period of 5 years or more, such support to include salary and certain minimal research expenses. Preference will be given to past and present fellows of the foundation.

History of Science. An annual award of \$250 has been established by Henry and Ida Schuman of New York City for an original prize essay in the history of science and its cultural influences. This competition is open to undergraduate and graduate students in any American or Canadian college, university, or institute of technology. Papers should be approximately 5000 words in length, exclusive of footnotes, and thoroughly documented. It is hoped that the prize-winning essay will be suitable for publication in Isis, the journal of the History of Science Society.

Papers may deal with the ideas and accomplishments of scientists in the past; they may trace the evolution of particular scientific concepts; or they may study the historical influences of one branch of science upon another. Essays dealing with medical subjects are not acceptable, although papers dealing with the relations between medicine and the natural sciences will be welcomed.

For further information, write to the Chairman of the Prize Committee, Prof. Raymond P. Stearns, 313 Lincoln Hall, University of Illinois, Urbana, Ill. Inquiries about the competition may also be addressed to Stearns. Papers must be received on or before 1 July.

Photobiology. Brandeis University has announced the establishment of 20 fellowships, made possible through a grant from the National Institutes of Health, to cover the costs of tuition, room, and board at the Institute of Photobiology that is to be held in Waltham, Mass., 23 June through 1 August. For further information, write to Brandeis University, Photobiology Institute, Waltham, Mass.

Public Health. Nominations for the sixth Kimble Methodology Research Award are being accepted until 1 June 1958. This award, which gives recognition to the application of scientific knowledge to the public health laboratory, was established by the Kimble Glass Company of Toledo, Ohio (subsidiary of the