dollars. The institute endeavors to help find suitable accommodation. Applications should reach the Academic Secretary, Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovoth, Israel, not later than 10 April.

## Oceanography and Tuna Expedition

The University of California's Scripps Institution of Oceanography has announced that the Scripps Tuna Oceanography Research Group and the Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission will carry out an expedition to the Eastern Tropical Pacific during the period 28 April through approximately 7 July. It will be known as the SCOT (Scripps Cooperative Oceanography and Tuna) Expedition. The research vessel Spencer F. Baird will be used. Support for the Scripps portion of the expedition will come from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service through the existing tuna oceanography contract.

The participating bodies are both concerned with scientific studies on the relationships of eastern tropical Pacific tuna populations to their environments, although for different reasons: the general purpose of the Scripps group is to forecast availability of fishable schools, whereas that of the Tuna Commission is to secure the rational exploitation of the tuna resource as a whole. These studies now require a survey cruise in the spring and early summer; most of the past work has been done at other seasons of the year. R. W. Holmes of Scripps will be executive leader of the first and major part of the expedition.

## AAAS Socio-Psychological Prize

Through the generosity of an anonymous donor, the AAAS offers an annual prize of \$1000 for a meritorious essay in socio-psychological inquiry. Previous winners of this prize and the titles of their essays have been: Arnold M. Rose, "A theory of social organization and disorganization"; Yehudi A. Cohen, "Food and its vicissitudes: a cross-cultural study of sharing and non-sharing in sixty folk societies"; Herbert C. Kelman, "Compliance, identification, and internalization: a theoretical and experimental approach to the study of social influence" and Irving A. Taylor, "Similarities in the structure of extreme social attitudes."

The conditions of competition for the prize to be awarded at the 1958 annual meeting, Washington, D.C., 26–31 December, are as follows.

1) The contribution should further the comprehension of the psychologicalsocial-cultural behavior of human beings —the relationships of these hyphenated words being an essential part of the inquiry. Whether the contributor considers himself to be an anthropologist, a psychologist, a sociologist, or a member of some other group is unimportant as long as his essay deals with basic observation and construction in the area variously known as social process, group behavior, or interpersonal behavior. For ease of reference in the rest of this statement, this general area will be called "social behavior."

2) The prize is offered to encourage studies and analyses of social behavior based on explicitly stated assumptions or postulates, which lead to experimentally verifiable conclusions or deductions. In other words, it is a prize intended to encourage in social inquiry the development and application of dependable methodology analogous to the methods that have proved so fruitful in the natural sciences. This is not to state that the methods of any of the natural sciences are to be transferred without change to the study of social behavior, but rather that the development of a science of social behavior is fostered through observation guided by explicit postulates, which in turn are firmly grounded on prior observations. It may be taken for granted that such postulates will include a spatial-temporal framework for the inquiry. It may properly be added that the essay should foster liberation from philosophic-academic conventions and from dogmatic boundaries between different disciplines.

3) Hitherto unpublished manuscripts are eligible, as are manuscripts that have been published since 1 January 1957. Entries may be of any length, but each should present a completed analysis of a problem, the relevant data, and an interpretation of the data in terms of the postulates with which the study began. Preference will be given to manuscripts not over 50,000 words in length. Entries may be submitted by the author himself or by another person on his behalf.

4) Entries will be judged by a committee of three persons considered well qualified to judge material in this field. The judges will be selected by a management committee consisting of the chairman and the secretary of Section K and the executive officer of the AAAS. The committee of judges reserves the right to withhold the prize if no worthy essay is submitted.

5) Entries should be sent to Dael Wolfle, Executive Officer, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 1515 Massachusetts Ave., N.W., Washington 5, D.C. Entries should be submitted in quadruplicate. Each entry should be accompanied by six copies of an abstract not to exceed 1200 words in length. The name of the author should not appear anywhere on the entry itself but should be enclosed on a separate sheet of paper which also gives the author's address and the title of his essay. Entrants who wish to have their manuscripts returned should include a note to that effect and the necessary postage. To be eligible for consideration for the prize that will be awarded at the 1958 annual meeting of the Association, entries must be received not later than 1 September 1958.

## **Radiation Committee**

The establishment of a National Advisory Committee on Radiation has been announced by the Public Health Service. The committee will advise Surgeon General Leroy E. Burney on the further development of programs dealing with public health aspects of radiation. The President's budget for the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare for the next fiscal year requests \$608,000 for the Public Health Service's radiological health activities, a 50-percent increase over funds available during the current year.

Last August, the surgeon general appointed Russell H. Morgan, professor of radiology at Johns Hopkins University Medical School, as special consultant on the public health aspects of radiation. Morgan will serve as chairman of the new committee, which will hold its initial meeting on 13 March. Those appointed to the committee are: Arnold O. Beckman, Beckman Instruments, Inc.; Victor P. Bond, Brookhaven National Laboratory; Richard H. Chamberlain, University of Pennsylvania; James F. Crow, University of Wisconsin; Herman E. Hilleboe, New York Commissioner of Health; Edward B. Lewis, California Institute of Technology; Berwyn F. Mattison, American Public Health Association; Lauriston S. Taylor, National Bureau of Standards; George W. Thorn, Peter Bent Brigham Hospital; and Abel Wolman, Johns Hopkins University.

## **Religion and Science**

On the six Sundays from 2 March to 6 April the Community Church, New York, has scheduled a series of discussions on *Religion in an Age of Science*. The program includes: Harlow Shapley, Paine professor of practical astronomy, emeritus, Harvard University, "God, Man, and the Vast Drama of Creation"; Loren Eiseley, chairman of the department of anthropology, University of Pennsylvania, "The Evolution of the Spirit"; Abraham N. Franzblau, professor of pastoral psychology and dean of the Schools of Education and Sacred Music, Hebrew Union College, "The