to the advent of atomic power, making this adaptation as painless and harmless as possible and allowing man to reap a rich harvest from the seed his inventive genius has sown.

The WHO Study Group on the Mental Health Aspects of the Peaceful Uses of Atomic Energy included: Austen M. Brues, Argonne National Laboratory, Lemont, Ill.; Brock Chisholm, former director-general of WHO, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada; A. H. Leighton, Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, Stanford, California; J. S. Riach, Marie Curie Hospital, London; Kenneth Soddy, assistant director, World Federation for Mental Health, London; Ritchie Calder, science writer, London; Hans Hoff, University of Vienna, chairman; P. J. Reiter, Kommunehospitalet, Copenhagen; and A. M. Tubiana, Institut Gustave Roussy, Villejuif, France. The secretariat was composed of E. E. Krapf, chief, Mental Health Section of WHO, and Maria Pfister, medical officer, Mental Health Section of WHO.

News Briefs

P. R. Mallory & Co., Inc., Indianapolis, Ind., has received the 1957 AAAS Industrial Science Achievement Award for the development of the Steelmet process, which extends the use of powder metallurgy to entirely new fields. The Steelmet process eliminates the expensive multiple pressing and sintering required by other powder metallurgy processes and obtains dense structural parts from inexpensive raw materials. This annual award, which was established in 1956, is administered by the AAAS Industrial Science Section.

During the past 6 months, the Biological Sciences Division of the Office of Naval Research has awarded a total of 122 research contracts. Of these, 30 support work in physiology, 15 in biochemistry, 25 in microbiology, 28 in medicine and dentistry, and 24 in biology.

In order to facilitate the exchange of information, the Psychology Branch of the Aero Medical Laboratory at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base is interested in discovering all individuals and organizations, both private and governmental, who are engaged in or interested in human engineering work. Such people are requested to send their names, the organization involved, its address, and particular areas of specialization or interest to the Psychology Branch, Aero Medical Laboratory, Directorate of Laboratories, Wright Air Development Center, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio, Attention: F. H. Rohles. A list of these individuals and organizations will be compiled, and copies will be sent to each participant.

* * *

The Society of Protozoologists announces the publication of "A Catalog of Laboratory Strains of Free-living and Parasitic Protozoa." Sources from which protozoans may be obtained and directions for maintenance are included. The catalog will appear as an integral part of the February 1958 issue of the *Journal of Protozoology*. Reprints of the catalog will be sold at a nominal cost. Orders should be sent to Dr. D. M. Lilly, Treasurer, Society of Protozoologists, Department of Biology, St. John's University, Jamaica 32, New York.

National Con

The U.S. National Committee for the International Union of Biochemistry is now operating within the Division of Chemistry and Chemical Technology of the National Research Council. This eight-man committee represents the biochemists of the United States in matters relating to national participation in the International Union of Biochemistry and, specifically, makes nominations in the selection of U.S. delegates to the general assemblies and international congresses of the IUB. R. H. Barnes is the committee's chairman and S. W. Fox is secretary-treasurer.

* * *

Harvey Mudd College has been awarded a grant from the Fund for the Advancement of Education to be used to survey experimental curricula in colleges of science and engineering throughout the United States. The award, which comes during the college's first year of operation, will enable members of the faculty to visit a number of colleges that are currently considering the revision of their curricula in the physical sciences and engineering.

Argonne National Laboratory has received authorization from the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission to proceed with design studies for a 12.5-Bev zero gradient proton synchrotron. Cost of the facility is estimated at \$27 million, and

the AEC has made available \$1.5 million for detailed design work.

Scientists in the News

At its ninth session in Geneva on 19 December 1957, the Council of CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, elected FRANCOIS DE ROSE of France as its president for 1958. In compliance with the terms of the CERN convention, which limits tenure of office to three successive years, De Rose succeeds Sir BEN LOCKSPEISER, who has presided over the governing body of

CERN since October 1954. J. WIL-LEMS of Belgium and W. HEISEN-BERG of Germany have been elected vice presidents. They succeed DE ROSE and HOLTSMARK of Norway.

E. AMALDI of Italy has assumed the chairmanship of the Scientific Policy Committee, succeeding Heisenberg, and J. H. BANNIER of the Netherlands has succeeded Willems as chairman of the Finance Committee.

HERBERT L. ANDERSON has been named director of the University of Chicago's Enrico Fermi Institute for Nuclear Studies. He succeeds SAMUEL K. ALLISON, who has directed the institute since it was organized in 1946. Both men are professors in the department of physics and in the institute. Allison resigned his administrative duties to devote more time to his studies of low-energy particles.

ALBERT B. SABIN, professor of research pediatrics at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, has received the Phi Lambda gold medal and plaque for his contributions to the advancement of medical science. The award was made by the medical fraternity at its 50th annual convention dinner in the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel, New York. Sabin is known for his work in orally administered vaccine for the control of poliomyelitis and for his research in infectious diseases.

SOLOMON LEFSCHETZ, professor emeritus, department of mathematics, Princeton University, was recently elected corresponding member of the Academie des Sciences of Paris.

The U.S. Atomic Energy Commission has given its Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor it can bestow, to CHARLES L. DUNHAM, director of its Division of Biology and Medicine, and to SAMUEL R. SAPIRIE, manager of its Oak Ridge, Tenn., Operations Office.

FREDERICK D. ROSSINI, head of Carnegie Institute of Technology's department of chemistry and director of the school's Chemical and Petroleum Research Laboratory, was one of the principal speakers at the Indian Science Congress, which opened on 6 January in Madras. The Indian Science Congress Association is an organization that is similar to the AAAS.

JOHN TROAN, science editor of the *Pittsburgh* (Pa.) *Press*, has been named science writer for the Scripps-Howard Newspaper Alliance, with headquarters in Washington, and member of the Scripps-Howard editorial advisory board.

17 JANUARY 1958