News of Science

Another Nobelist Urges Nuclear Test Ban

Another Nobel laureate, Linus Pauling, head of the division of chemistry and chemical engineering at California Institute of Technology, has publicly called for the cessation of hydrogen bomb tests. In Chicago recently he warned that the proposed British test in the Pacific would cause 1000 cases of leukemia and suggested that cancellation of the test be the first step in international disarmament.

Pauling also stated that radioactive materials released by current nuclear explosions are causing a 1-percent increase in the total number of mentally retarded or deformed children born in the world. He said this would be an increase of 200,000 in one generation.

When told of Pauling's statements, Samuel K. Allison of the University of Chicago's Nuclear Physics Institute, said:

"Dr. Pauling is well informed in his field, and knows what he is talking about. His statement is worthy of publication. . . . I am in favor of discontinuing tests of bombs above one megaton (equivalent to a million tons of TNT)." Allison, one of the leaders in producing the first Abomb, also agreed with Pauling about the British test.

National Academy of Sciences Award Winners and New Members

At the 94th annual meeting of the National Academy of Sciences, which took place 22–24 Apr. in Washington, D.C., the following men were honored.

James R. Killian, Jr., president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, received the Public Welfare Medal, generally recognized as the most distinguished of the academy's medals. It is unique in that it is awarded for the application of science in the public interest, whether by a scientist or not, rather than for specific scientific achievements.

Killian was inaugurated as the 10th president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in April 1949 at the age of 45. His administration has been marked by an increased emphasis on general education and the humanities in

the education of scientists and engineers, by the development of M.I.T. as a residential college, and by the institute's steady evolution into a "university polarized around science."

Sven P. Ekman of Uppsala, Sweden, received, in absentia, the 1953 Daniel Giraud Elliot medal, which is given for "the most meritorious work in zoology or paleontology published each year.' Every year the committee of selection reviews the literature of 3 years back in order to have the advantage of the perspective of passing time. For 1953 the committee selected Ekman's book, Zoogeography of the Sea. This work, issued in Great Britain, is a volume of 417 pages outlining our modern understanding of ecological distribution of marine animals. Containing much learned discussion and significant information on the relationships of the various faunas throughout the seas of the world, it embodies the summary of a lifetime of research on the part of the author.

Ekman progressed through successive appointments at the University of Uppsala until he became a professor in 1927. He also served as director of the university's Klubban Zoological Station and of its Zoological Museum until he was given emeritus status in 1941. He has worked extensively on the systematics of the Holothurians, of certain Hydroids, of Amphipods, and of other crustaceans, in addition to his general studies of zoogeography.

A. H. Sturtevant, professor of genetics at the California Institute of Technology, received the Kimber Genetics medal "for his long and distinguished career as discoverer and interpreter of fundamental genetic phenomena, as observed not only in the fruit fly but also in a number of other organisms, plant and animal; and for his brilliant studies on the evolution of genetic systems." One of Sturtevant's earliest and most important contributions to genetics was his demonstration that the genes are located in single linear order on the chromosomes, and that it is possible to establish the order in which the genes are arranged.

At its business session, the academy elected a vice president, two members of the council of the academy, 30 members, and four foreign associates. Farring-

ton Daniels, professor of chemistry, University of Wisconsin, was elected to serve as vice president for a 4-year term beginning 1 July 1957, succeeding George W. Corner who has served since 1 July 1953. Daniels has been a member of the council for the past 3 years. Harry L. Shapiro, chairman of the department of anthropology, American Museum of Natural History, New York, and Frederick Seitz, professor of physics, University of Illinois, were elected to membership on the council of the academy to succeed Farrington Daniels and Merle A. Tuve.

Present officers of the academy, all of whom are members of the council, are as follows: president, Detlev W. Bronk; vice president, George W. Corner; home secretary, Hugh L. Dryden; foreign secretary, John G. Kirkwood; treasurer, William J. Robbins. Additional members of the council at the present time are E. A. Doisy, Farrington Daniels, Theophilus S. Painter, I. I. Rabi, F. E. Terman, and Merle A. Tuve.

Newly elected members of the academy are Charles A. Anderson, chief, Mineral Deposits Branch, U.S. Geological Survey, Washington, D.C.; Edwin B. Astwood, New England Center Hospital, Boston, Mass.; Joseph C. Aub, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Mass.; Hendrik W. Bode, director of research in physical sciences, Bell Telephone Laboratories, Murray Hill, N.J.; Herbert C. Brown, professor of chemistry, Purdue University; Edwin H. Colbert, curator of fossil reptiles and amphibians, American Museum of Natural History, New York; Joseph L. Doob, professor of mathematics, University of Illinois; Paul M. Doty, professor of chemistry, Harvard University; Charles S. Draper, professor of aeronautical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Walter M. Elsasser, professor of physics, University of Utah; Katherine Esau, professor of botany, college of Agriculture, University of California, Davis; Jesse L. Greenstein, staff member, Mount Wilson and Palomar Observatories, Pasadena, Calif.; Alexander Hollaender, director, Biology Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tenn.; Donald F. Hornig, professor of chemistry, Brown University; Joseph Kaplan, professor of University of California, Los physics, Angeles; Charles Kittel, professor of physics, University of California, Berkeley; Heinrich Klüver, professor, division of biological sciences, University of Chicago; Arthur Kornberg, professor of microbiology, Washington University Medical School, St. Louis; Joshua Lederberg, professor of genetics, University of Wisconsin; Howard J. Lucas, emeritus professor of chemistry, California Institute of Technology; Alden H. Miller, professor of zoology, University of California, Berkeley; Hallam L. Movius, Jr.,