must repeatedly return to the hospital for further surgery. Since 1896, Grubbe has taught 7000 other physicians how to use x-rays.

News Briefs

- ■Homosexual patterns in our society will be discussed by Margaret Mead, noted anthropologist and AAAS board member, and Max Lerner, author and New York Post commentator, on 12 Jan. over WRCA-TV (New York area). This will be the third broadcast on homosexuality by the NBC program series "The Open Mind." The first two were last August, and it is reported that substantial pressure was brought to bear on NBC to cancel the second program because of sensitivity about public discussion of such a subject.
- The Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, Union of South Africa, has stationed a permanent scientific liaison officer in Germany, thus establishing the third South African Scientific Liaison Office overseas; the other two are in London and Washington. J. P. Van Zyl is the scientific adviser who heads the new office, which is in Cologne.

Scientists in the News

The American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers has announced the names of 14 men who will receive awards at the organization's annual meeting in New Orleans, 24–28 Feb.:

ANDREW FLETCHER, president of the St. Joseph Lead Company, Charles F. Rand medal.

RUSSEL B. CAPLES, president of the Anaconda Aluminum Company, James Douglas medal.

JOHN E. BRANTLY of Cocoa, Fla., retired founder of the American Association of Oil Well Drilling Contractors, Anthony F. Lucas medal.

LEO F. REINHARTZ, who recently retired as vice president of the Armco Steel Corporation, Benjamin F. Fairless award.

ANTOME MAR GAUDIN, professor of mineral dressing, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Robert H. Richards award.

ARTHUR TIX of Bochumer, Germany, works director of Gusstahalwerk Bochumer Verein, A.G., Robert W. Hunt medal.

MOHAMMED MORTADA, senior engineer of the Magnolia Petroleum Company, Rossiter W. Raymond award.

PAUL GORDON of the Institute for the Study of Metals, Chicago, Mathewson medal.

RAYMOND W. SUNDQUIST, as-

sistant division superintendent of blast furnaces, United States Steel Corporation, J. E. Johnson, Jr., award.

JOSEPH L. GILLSON, geologist for E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, D. C. Jackling award.

R. Č. BELL, senior research engineer, and G. H. TURNER and E. PETERS, research engineers, all of the Consolidated Mining and Smelting Company of Canada, Ltd., Extractive Metallurgy Division award.

LOUIS A. PANEK, mining methods research engineer, U.S. Bureau of Mines, Robert Peele award.

KARL K. DARROW, internationally known author and lecturer on physics, retired from the technical staff of Bell

Telephone Laboratories on 30 Nov. after nearly 40 years of service with the Bell Telephone System. He joined the Western Electric Company as a re-



search physicist in 1917 and became a member of Bell Laboratories on its incorporation in 1925. He had previously completed extensive studies in mathematics and physics at the universities of Chicago, Paris, and Berlin. He received the B.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Chicago in 1911 and 1917, respectively.

At Bell Laboratories he has devoted a major portion of his time to the study and interpretation of current and historical scientific information for his colleagues, to keep them informed of developments in fields of science related to their research activities.

As a result of his extensive writing and lecturing, the influence of Darrow's work in interpreting science has extended outside the Bell System. He has published eight books and more than 200 articles. In addition, Darrow has served as visiting professor at the University of Chicago, Columbia University, Smith College, and Stanford University.

He has long been active in the American Physical Society and has been its secretary since 1941. He is also a member of the American Philosophical Society, of which he was a councilor for 4 years. He has been a member of the French Physical Society for many years and served for a term on its council. He is also a member of the Physical Society of London and of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, which he served as vice president from 1947 to 1951

In recognition of Darrrow's contributions to science, the University of Lyons in 1949 granted him the honorary degree of doctor of science. In 1951 the French Legion of Honor awarded him its decoration, with the rank of Chevalier, for "services rendered to the international relations of science and to the cultural relations between France and the United States."

After his retirement, Darrow plans to continue his work with the American Physical Society, with frequent intervals of foreign travel. He also intends to continue, through his writings and lectures, to assess and interpret the latest discoveries in the physical sciences.

GEORGE F. REDDISH, chief bacteriologist of the Lambert-Hudnut Division of the Warner-Lambert Pharmaceutical Company, St. Louis, Mo., has received the 1956 achievement award of the Chemical Specialties Manufacturers' Association for outstanding work in the fields of public health, disinfection, and antisepsis.

JOHN B. MACDONALD, formerly chairman of the division of dental research and professor of bacteriology at the University of Toronto, has been named director of the Forsyth Dental Infirmary for Children and professor of oral microbiology in the Harvard School of Dental Medicine. Macdonald's selection is the first joint appointment made by the two institutions since their affiliation in May 1955. Macdonald succeeds the late HOWARD M. MARJERISON as director of the Forsyth Dental Infirmary.

Three appointments to the staff of the John Jay Hopkins Laboratory for Pure and Applied Science (San Diego) have been announced by the General Atomic Division of General Dynamics Corporation: THEODORE B. TAYLOR, a theoretical physicist formerly with Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory; HAROLD A. THOMAS, a physicist who was chief of the Radio Standards Division of the National Bureau of Standards, and LLOYD ZUMWALT, a physical chemist who during the past year was operations vice president of the Nuclear Science and Engineering Corporation.

WILLIAM S. McCANN, chairman of the department of medicine at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry since the school was opened in 1925, will become emeritus professor on 1 July 1957. President of the Association of American physicians in 1952, McCann has served as deputy chairman of the Committee on Medical Sciences of the Research and Development Board, Department of Defense; chairman of the American Board of Internal Medicine; member of the Naval Research Advisory Committee and of the Committee on Medicine of the National Research Council; vice