the Hitchcock Foundation and the Dartmouth Medical School, concluded that "when used alone [the bioflavonoid] produced the same results as a placebo. When used with vitamin C, the results were comparable to those with vitamin C alone."

The other clinical study, covering more than 1900 cold sufferers, chiefly industrial workers, also concluded that bioflavonoids have "a singular lack of effect" against the common cold. This study was conducted by Harry E. Tebrock, medical director of Sylvania Electric Products, Inc.; Joseph J. Arminio, Ossining, N.Y.; and John Howard Johnston, medical director of Pratt-Whitney and Company, Inc., West Hartford, Conn.

First AEC Awards Ceremony

The Atomic Energy Commission has established an annual awards ceremony to be held in Washington, D.C., an occasion for granting the highest recognition that the commission can extend to its employees. Twenty-two present and former employees of the headquarters and field offices received special AEC honor awards at the first such ceremony, which was held on 14 Nov. All those cited for distinguished service and outstanding service received the AEC medal; gold for the first category and silver for the second. Accompanying cash awards went to all recipients who are still members of the commission's staff. Six former employees who received high awards in earlier years were also present to receive the AEC medal, which has been struck since those awards were made.

Those who received the Distinguished Service award are Richard W. Cook, deputy general manager, Washington; Jesse C. Johnson, director, Division of Raw Materials, Washington; William Mitchell, general counsel, Washington; and Charles Vanden Bulck, assistant manager for administration, Oak Ridge (Tenn.) Operations Office.

Outstanding Service awards were given to the following people.

From the Washington headquarters office: Amasa S. Bishop, former chief, Controlled Thermonuclear Branch, Division of Research, now commission representative in Paris; Spofford G. English, chief, Chemistry Branch, Division of Research; Paul C. Fine, director, Office of Operations Analysis and Planning; Lawrence P. Gise, assistant director, Division of Military Application; Arthur E. Gorman, chief, Sanitary Engineering Section, Engineering Development Branch, Division of Reactor Development; Charter Heslep, senior information specialist, Division of Information Services; James L. Kelehan, former assistant general manager for administration, now with Ryan

7 DECEMBER 1956

Industries, Detroit, Mich.; George C. Taylor, assistant director for supply, Division of Construction and Supply; Algie A. Wells, attorney, Office of the General Counsel.

From field offices: Kenneth A. Dunbar, manager, Portsmouth (Ohio) Area Office; Richard G. Elliott, director, Office of Information, Albuquerque (N.M.) Operations Office; Henry B. Fry, former assistant manager for administration and services, Albuquerque Operations Office, now with General Dynamics Corporation, San Diego, Cal.; Lawton D. Geiger, manager, Pittsburgh (Pa.) Area Office; George P. Kraker, deputy manager, Albuquerque Operations Office; Jarvis L. Schwennesen, chief, Chemical Processing Branch, Operations Division, Idaho (Idaho Falls) Operations Office; James C. Stowers, former manager, Kansas City (Mo.) Area Office, now with ACF Industries, Washington, D.C.; Donald G. Sturges, former director, Operations Division, Hanford (Washington) Operations Office, now with Carborundum Company, Niagara Falls, N.Y.; Emery L. Van Horn, manager, Brookhaven (N.Y.) Area Office.

The following former employees who had earned high awards in earlier years received the AEC medal.

Walter J. Williams, former deputy general manager, now vice president of Taconite Contracting Corporation, Duluth, Minn.; Lawrence R. Hafstad, former director of the Division of Reactor Development, now vice president for research, General Motors Corporation, Detroit, Mich.; Roy B. Snapp, former special assistant to the chairman, now a consultant in Washington, D.C.; K. D. Nichols, former general manager, now a consultant in Washington, D.C.; John C. Bugher, former director of the Division of Biology and Medicine, now director, Medical Education and Public Health, the Rockefeller Foundation, New York City; Richard W. Alger, former chief, Engineering Branch, Division of Construction and Supply, now an architectural consultant to the division.

New Neurological Research Foundation

The National Neurological Research Foundation, established in memory of Dora Browning Donner, has been chartered in Washington, D.C., where its address is 3255 N St., NW. The foundation's aim is to encourage young men and women who show promise in research to pursue a career in neurology and related fields of science. This will be done largely by granting fellowships for terms of approximately 5 years with stipends of about \$10,000 a year.

It is hoped that by giving the investi-

gator full scope in studying the degenerative diseases of the nervous system, such as Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis, amyotropic lateral sclerosis, senile psychosis, muscular dystrophy, cerebral palsy, as a whole and in their relation to one another, rather than in an isolated fashion, that the accumulation of knowledge leading to the prevention and cure of these diseases will be accelerated. It is further hoped that by not fragmenting research funds and by giving all funds available for distribution to the Scientific Advisory Committee, except for the cost of secretarial services, the Foundation will also further this end.

Donors will be informed of the name, address, and nature of the research of the investigator whose work they support. The Scientific Advisory Committee, which will direct the assignment of funds both for fellowships and for research grants, consists of Raymond D. Adams, Edward M. Dempsey, Louis S. Goodman, Seymour S. Kety, Oliver Lowry, Horace W. Magoun, James L. O'Leary, and A. Earl Walker.

The General Advisory Committee (list incomplete) who will take an active part in directing the foundation, consists of: Thomas Bradley, James B. Campbell, John J. Conley, W. T. C. Gaynor, Franz J. Kallman, J. Lawrence Pool, Dominick Purpura, Cornelius Rhoades, Frederick L. Stone, Mrs. Joshua Cosden, Darragh A. Park, Jr., Mrs. George A. Rentschler, and Mrs. Sidney Scott.

The officers and trustees are as follows: honorary president, Fuller Albright; treasurer, Carnum L. Colton; chairman, William Marvel; vice chairman, Mark D. Altschule; secretary, Mrs. Rodgers Denckla; Mrs. Fuller Albright, W. Donner Denckla, Mrs. Charles A. Munn, Jr., and J. Lawn Thompson.

Deep-Sea Diving Record

George G. Wookey, who is a senior commissioned boatswain in the British Navy, recently dived 600 feet into Norwegian waters in a helmeted diving suit, beating the 535-foot record set in 1948 by Petty Officer William Bollard. H.M.S. *Reclaim*, an experimental diving ship, supplied Wookey with a mixture of oxygen and helium to breathe. The use of this mixture is new; it enables a diver in a flexible suit to work at a depth of 430 feet for a maximum of 20 minutes with as much ease as a diver breathing air at a depth of 100 feet.

The most dangerous part of such diving is the period of decompression needed to avoid the bends. For a depth of 600 feet this period is $5\frac{1}{2}$ hours. When it is time for a diver to come up, a decompression chamber (a vertical cylinder with a door at each end) is