remained in the "Secret" classification. These reports originated in the commission's own installations and in laboratories working under AEC contract.

All documents are being listed as rapidly as possible in "Report Announcement Bulletins." Reports having the highest potential use in the private atomic energy industry will be printed in full-size copy. Others of more limited use will be reproduced in the form of photostats or microcopy.

• The Institute for Solar-Terrestrial Research has been established at the High Altitude Observatory of the University of Colorado. The institute research program will be carried out by the observatory staff and by invited visitors. A 4-year program has been planned that initially will be devoted to studies of the effects of variable solar activity on weather.

Support for the institute is derived from private sources, including a number of American corporations, foundations, and individuals with special interests in improved weather forecasting. The first year's schedule includes partial sponsorship of a 6-week seminar on solarweather research that is to be held at Boulder, Colo., 18 June–28 July.

• The Harvard College Observatory, in conjunction with the Lincoln Laboratory of Massachusetts Institute of Technology, is embarking on an extensive program for the study of meteors by radar methods. The project is under the direction of Fred L. Whipple, and the scientist in charge is Gerald S. Hawkins, who recently arrived from Manchester University in England.

Scientists in the News

STUART W. LIPPINCOTT, professor of pathology at the University of Washington School of Medicine, has accepted a senior appointment in the division of experimental pathology at Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, N.Y., and is pathologist for the Brookhaven hospital.

PAUL G. LEFEVRE, who was recently assistant to the chief of the medical branch of the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, is another new appointee at Brookhaven. He will spend a year in the division of physiology.

OTTO HAHN of Göttingen, Germany, nuclear physicist and president of the Max Planck Association for the Promotion of the Sciences, was awarded the Faraday medal by the British Chemical Society at a ceremony that took place in Nottingham. The award is bestowed every 3 years for special merit in the field of science.

11 MAY 1956

JESSE W. BEAMS, chairman of the department of physics at the University of Virginia, received the Scott medal and premium of the City of Philadelphia during the spring meeting of the American Physical Society.

GEORGE E. PAKE is leaving his post as chairman of the department of physics at Washington University (St. Louis) to join the faculty of Stanford University. Another appointment in physics at Stanford is that of SIDNEY D. DRELL, associate professor, who will return to Stanford after spending the past 4 years at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

LOUIS M. HELLMAN, chairman of obstetrics and gynecology at the State University of New York College of Medicine in Brooklyn, left on 25 Apr. for a month's visiting professorship at Guy's Hospital Medical School in London, England. On 25 May he will deliver the Green-Armytage Anglo-American lecture on "Tubal plastic operations." This lecture is given every 2 years.

By a joint resolution of the Senate and the House of Representatives, and with the approval of President Eisenhower, three members have been appointed to the board of regents of the Smithsonian Institution.

LEE DEGOLYER is a petroleum geologist, a senior member of the firm DeGolyer and McNaughton, chairman of the board of directors of the *Saturday Review of Literature*, president of the Dallas Museum of Fine Arts, and a member of the National Academy of Sciences.

CRAWFORD H. GREENEWALT is a chemical engineer, president of the E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, and a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Philosophical Society.

CARYL P. HASKINS is a research biologist who was long the head of the Haskins Laboratories, Inc., of New York and is now president of the Carnegie Institution of Washington. He is a member of the American Philosophical Society.

These new appointments bring to full complement this 14-member board, which by law is composed of the Vice President of the United States, the Chief Justice of the United States, three members of the Senate, three members of the House of Representatives, and six citizen members.

JOEL H. HILDEBRAND, professor emeritus of chemistry at the University of California, delivered Columbia University's ninth annual series of Bampton Lectures in America. FRED W. SCHUELER, associate professor of pharmacology at the State University of Iowa, has received the \$1000 John J. Abel award of the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics. The award is sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company. In July Schueler will become professor of pharmacology and chairman of the department of pharmacology at Tulane University.

JOHN E. CHRISTIAN, professor of pharmaceutical chemistry at Purdue University, has received the \$1000 award of the Chilean Iodine Educational Bureau. He was honored for his contributions to a better understanding of the pharmacy and chemistry of the radioactive iodine compounds, their application to tracer study techniques, and their use as diagnostic aids.

W. C. NIXON, a staff physicist at the Cavendish Laboratories of Cambridge University, Cambridge, England, is visiting Stanford University during the spring quarter under a National Science Foundation grant. Nixon, who is coinventor of the Coslett-Nixon point focus x-ray tube, is a specialist in x-ray microscopy. He recently completed a 3-month visit to the University of Redlands.

WILLARD F. LIBBY, commissioner, Atomic Energy Commission, has received the scientific achievement medal of the City College Chemistry Alumni Association (New York).

E. ROSS HART, former chief of the neurology branch at the Army Chemical Center, is chief of the new division of neurophysiology and neuropharmacology at the Veterans Administration Hospital, Pittsburgh, Pa.

HENDRIK C. D. DE DECKER, former director of research for Rubber-Stichting, Delft, the Netherlands, has joined the staff of the research and development department of the United States Rubber Company. Two other scientists formerly associated with Rubber-Stichting will also join U.S. Rubber, FEDDE H. D. AKKERMAN and SJIRK VAN DER BURG. All will conduct fundamental research on the chemistry of rubber and plastics.

HARRY Z. MELLINS, assistant professor of radiology at Wayne University Medical School and head of the radiology department at Sinai Hospital in Detroit, has been appointed chairman of the department of radiology at the State University of New York College of Medicine in Brooklyn and director of radiology at Kings County Hospital. He will assume his new post in July.