

The Utah Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters

A New Affiliated Academy of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

PRIOR to the organization of the Utah Academy of Science, several natural science societies were formed in Utah. During the period from 1880 to the turn of the century many native Utahans, schooled in the sciences at eastern colleges and universities, along with the science teachers and professional men who were coming into the state, felt the need of a society to strengthen their major interests. In 1882, an Agassiz Chapter was formed in Salt Lake City which began publishing a little journal in 1885, but soon abandoned the project. In 1885 the Scientific Society of Utah was organized and held an annual meeting for several years, after which it was merged with such groups as the Utah Forestry Association, organized in 1894, and the Natural History Society of Utah and the Microscopical Society, both of which were organized in 1895. These organizations were short lived, being dependant on the activities of a few energetic leaders.

The urge to have a permanent state-wide organization culminated in the autumn of 1907, when a call was issued at the Provo meeting of the Utah Teachers Association for all who were interested to attend a meeting on January 3, 1908, for the formation of a Utah Academy of Science. Thirteen scientists responded. Committees on constitution and on membership were appointed.

On April 3, 1908, a meeting was held at which a draft for a constitution was presented and ratified. Ira D. Cardiff of the University of Utah was elected first president of the Academy.

In 1921, at the annual meeting, it was decided to hold an interim, or fall, meeting; thus, on November 25 of that year, the Academy met in Ogden. Since then, two general meetings have been held—the annual meeting in the spring, and an interim meeting in the autumn. At the annual meeting in 1933, the membership voted to enlarge the organization to include the arts and letters. The name was then changed to the Utah Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters.

The secretaries of the Academy have played an important role, their sundry duties having included the preparation of programs, and the editing and distributing of the Academy proceedings. A. O. Garrett was the

first secretary and editor; serving from 1908 until 1924, he gave unstintingly of his time and energy to promote the interests of the Academy. In 1917, he published Volume I of the Transactions (223 pp.) and, in 1921, Volume II (276 pp.). C. Arthur Smith became secretary in 1924, and J. Cecil Alter in 1926. In 1928, Vasco M. Tanner was elected secretary, a position which he held until June, 1938; during this period he edited 11 volumes of the proceedings (1900 pp.). He was succeeded by Thomas C. Adams, who edited three volumes (340 pp.). From 1941 to 1951, I. O. Horsfall was secretary and was responsible for 10 volumes, (1236 pp.). Mrs. G. L. Harrison is the present secretary; her ability as an editor is reflected in the excellent appearance of the two volumes of the proceedings which she has produced.

This organization has grown until it is now an influential society of 312 members. The officers and members have initiated and fostered many important programs such as the conservation of the state's natural resources, biological surveys, improvement of school science teaching, and the promulgation of research in the sciences, arts, and letters.

The present staff of officers of the Academy, 1953-1954, is an efficient active group. Bertrand F. Harrison of the Brigham Young University is serving as the 46th president. The vice-president is Lincoln Ellison of the Intermountain Forest and Range Experiment Station. The secretary and editor is Mrs. Gladys L. Harrison of the Agricultural Experiment Station, Logan, Utah. Members of the Council are D. Elden Beck, Brigham Young University; Joseph A. Geddes, Utah State Agricultural College; Joseph K. Nicholes, Brigham Young University; and Dilworth Walker, University of Utah. The Academy representative on the AAAS Council is Eldon J. Gardner, Utah State Agricultural College.

The members of the Academy are pleased to be affiliated with the AAAS and have expressed a desire to support the Association in every way possible.

VASCO M. TANNER

Brigham Young University Provo, Utah

SCIENCE, founded in 1880, is published each Friday by the American Association for the Advancement of Science at Business Press, Lancaster, Pa. Entered at the Lancaster, Pa., Post Office as second class matter under the Act of March 3, 1879.

All correspondence should be addressed to SCIENCE, 1515 Massachusetts Ave. NW, Washington 5, D. C. Manuscripts should be typed with double spacing and submitted in duplicate. The AAAS assumes no responsibility for the safety of manuscripts or for the opinions expressed by contributors.

Change of address: The notification should reach us four weeks in advance. If possible, please furnish an address stencil label from a recent issue. Be sure to give both old and new addresses, including postal zone numbers, if any.

Annual subscriptions \$7.50; foreign postage, outside the Pan-American Union, \$1.00; Canadian postage. 50¢. Single copies 25¢. Special rates to members of

ALAO, Canadian possage. 50°. Single copies 20°. Special rates to memoers the AAAS. SCIENCE is indexed in the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. The AAAS also publishes THE SCIENTIFIC MONTHLY. Subscription and advitising rates will be furnished on request.