The American Association of Neuropathologists has elected the following officers for 1953-54: pres., Clemens E. Benda, Walter E. Fernald State School; v. pres., Raymond D. Adams, Massachusetts General Hospital; sec.-treas., Leon Roizin, New York Psychiatric Institute.

The American Society for Testing Materials has elected the following officers for 1953-54: pres., Leslie C. Beard, Jr., Socony-Vacuum Laboratories, New York; v. pres., C. H. Fellows, the Detroit Edison Co.

The Society for Applied Spectroscopy has elected the following officers for 1953-54: pres., Van Zandt Williams, The Perkin-Elmer Corp.; v. pres., Paul E. Lighty, Federal Telecommunications Lab.; sec., C. A. Jedlicka, United States Testing Co., Inc.

## Miscellaneous

Discovery of an 8400-foot deep basin six miles long and two miles wide on the floor of the Pacific Ocean off the west coast of Mexico has been announced by the Allan Hancock Foundation for Scientific Research at the University of Southern California. The newly surveyed area covers 1500 square miles, more than the state of Rhode Island. It has been named the Velero Basin because it was found from the research ship Velero IV.

AAAS, administrator of the \$2,000 George Westinghouse Science Writing competition, has announced that nine prominent figures in education, journalism, and science have been named to choose the two finest science writing efforts of 1953. Morris Meister, Principal of the Bronx (N.Y.) High School of Science and Past President of the National Science Teachers Association, is chairman of the board of judges. The other judges are: James A. Linen. Publisher. Time magazine; Henry R. Aldrich, Secretary and Editor-in-Chief, Geological Society of America: Geoffrey Edsall. Director, Immunology Division, Army Medical Service Graduate School; John R. Dunning, Dean, Faculty of Engineering, Columbia University; Rudolph Flesch, Readability Consultant; C. C. Hemenway, former Editor, Hartford (Conn.) Times; Hillier Krieghbaum, Professor, New York University Department of Journalism; and Raymond L. Taylor, Associate Administrative Secretary, AAAS.

Construction and operation of the world's fastest high-speed general-purpose digital computer (electronic brain) has been announced by Argonne National Laboratory. The computer, known as the ORACLE (Oak Ridge Automatic Computer, Logical Engine), was designed and constructed at Argonne by a staff of engineers from Argonne and Oak Ridge National Laboratory under the direction of J. C. Chu. It will be installed at Oak Ridge early this fall, and will be used by the Oak Ridge National Laboratory mathematical panel under the direction of Dr. A. S. Householder.

The new computer, built at a cost of \$350,000, contains three features that make it superior to other

computing devices. First, its internal memory system has the greatest capacity of any high-speed generalpurpose computer ever built. It can receive, retain, and process as many as 2,048 twelve-digit decimal numbers, which is twice that handled by computers of this type and about eight times that of most of the earlier machines. Second, the ORACLE is provided with a remotely controlled auxiliary memory system (magnetic tape) that provides for the memorizing or storing of four million words. This is the largest memory system ever contemplated for a computer. Third, the ORACLE is the fastest of the general-purpose computers. It can multiply twelve-digit numbers such as 999,999,999,999 by 999,999,999,999 in less than 1/2000 of a second. The addition of two twelve-digit decimal numbers takes place in about 5/1,000,000 of a second. A difficult mathematical problem that would take about 5 to 6 years for two mathematicians to solve with the use of desk-type electric calculators could be completed in about 20 to 30 minutes by the ORACLE.

Recent visitors from abroad at the National Bureau of Standards:

Armando Michelangeli, Ministry of Public Works, Caracas, Venezuela.

Walter S. Michel, National Research Council, Ottawa, Canada

Nayar-Ul-Haq, Assistant Mechanical Engineer, Pakistan State Railways, Karachi, Pakistan.

Arshad Munir, Assistant Mechanical Engineer, Pakistan Government Railroads, Pakistan.

Thannickal Radhakrishnan, Senior Scientific Assistant, Ahmedabad Textile Industry's Research Association, Ahmedabad, India.

M. Jacob, Director of Service de la Métrologie, Ministère des Affaires Economiques et des Classes Moyennes, Brussels, Belgium.

Sabri Sami, Structural Engineer, Cairo, Egypt.

Freddy Bahli, T.C.A. Fellowship, University of Rangoon, Burma.

Elpidio C. Vera, Senior Geologist, Philippine Bureau of Mines, Manila, Philippines.

João Baptista Perlott, Professor and Director of the Institute of Technology, Porto Alegre, Brazil.

Manuel Luiz Leão, Productivity Dept. of Manufacturers' Association of Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre, Brazil.

E. R. Plumat, Chief of Central Laboratory, Union des Verreries Mecaniques, Belgium.

B. J. Spenceley, England.

M. F. Girismen, Turkey.

Correction. In the article "The Boston Meetings of the Association: A Bit of Background" (SCIENCE, 118, 224) it was stated that of the 15 past presidents of the Association now living five are residents of New England. It should have been six: The name of Albert F. Blakeslee, for the past ten years Visiting Professor of Botany and Director of the Smith College Genetics Experiment Station, Northampton, Massachusetts, instead of being listed in a footnote, should have been included with Karl T. Compton, James B. Conant, Harlow Shapley, Edmund W. Sinnott, and Kirtley F. Mather. Apologies are offered to all concerned. R. L. T.

September 18, 1953 319