

Gladys M. Keener **Executive Editor**

AAAS EDITORIAL BOARD

(Terms expire June 30, 1953)

Howard A. Meyerhoff, Chairman

William R. Amberson Bentley Glass Wallace R. Brode Karl Lark-Horovitz Walter J. Nickerson

F. A. Moulton, Advertising Representative

AAAS General Officers—1953

ESTERDAY, January 15, the officers elected by the AAAS Council at St. Louis on December 27 assumed their responsibilities for 1953. At the same Council meeting a revised constitution and new bylaws were adopted, and they will become effective January 27. On that date the Executive Committee will be transformed into the Board of Directors, which will consist of the three presidents and eight elected members as named below, plus the Administrative Secretary and Treasurer as ex officio members without vote.

The retirement of Kirtley F. Mather makes Fernandus Payne senior member of the board in length of service (elected 1946). Mark H. Ingraham and Paul E. Klopsteg were re-elected for regular fouryear terms, and Wallace R. Brode was elected to complete the unexpired term of Warren Weaver, now president-elect. Among the vice presidents, Clarence E. Davies was chosen to serve a second term as chairman of the Section on Engineering. The complete roster of general officers for 1953 follows:

President: E. U. Condon, Corning Glass Works President-elect: Warren Weaver, Rockefeller Foundation

Retiring President: Detlev W. Bronk, The Johns Hopkins University

Vice Presidents and Chairmen of Sections

Mathematics (A): Tibor Rado, The Ohio State University

Physics (B): George R. Harrison, MIT

Chemistry (C): Randolph T. Major, Merck & Co.,

Astronomy (D): Bart J. Bok, Harvard College Observatory

Geology and Geography (E): Wilmot H. Bradley, U. S. Geological Survey

Zoological Sciences (F): Paul Weiss, University of Chicago

Botanical Sciences (G): Edgar Anderson, Missouri Botanical Garden

Anthropology (H): James B. Griffin, University of Michigan

Psychology (I): Frank A. Beach, Yale University Social and Economic Sciences (K): Lowry Nelson, University of Minnesota

History and Philosophy of Science (L): Richard H. Shryock, The Johns Hopkins University

Engineering (M): Clarence E. Davies, ASME Medical Sciences (N): Cornelius P. Rhoades, Memorial Center for Cancer Research

Agriculture (O): K. S. Quisenberry, U. S. Department of Agriculture (Beltsville)

Industrial Science (P): Francis J. Curtis, Monsanto Chemical Co., St. Louis

Education (Q): Donald D. Durrell, Boston University

Members of the Board of Directors

Detlev W. Bronk (Chairman), The Johns Hopkins University

Wallace R. Brode, National Bureau of Standards (1953)

E. U. Condon, Corning Glass Works (1952-54)

John R. Dunning, Columbia University (1952-55) Walter S. Hunter, Brown University (1951-54)

Mark H. Ingraham, University of Wisconsin (1953-

Paul E. Klopsteg, National Science Foundation (1953-56)

Fernandus Payne, National Science Foundation (1950-53)

Paul B. Sears, Yale University (1951-54)

Laurence H. Snyder, University of Oklahoma (1952-

Warren Weaver, Rockefeller Foundation (1953-55)

Howard A. Meyerhoff (ex officio), AAAS

William E. Wrather (ex officio), U. S. Geological Survey

SCIENCE, founded in 1880, is published each Friday by the American Association for the Advancement of Science at the Business Press, 10 McGovern Ave., Lancaster, Pa. Entered as second-class matter at the Post Office at Lancaster, Pa., January 13, 1948, under the Act of March 3, 1879. Acceptance for mailing at the special rate postage provided for in the Act of February 28, 1925, embodied in Paragraph (d-2) Section 34.40 P. L. & R. of 1948. All correspondence should be sent to SCIENCE, 1515 Massachusetts Ave., N.W., Washington 5, D. C. The AAAS assumes no responsibility for the safety of manuscripts or for the opinions expressed by contributors, Four weeks' notice

vertising rates on request.

Cable address: ADVANCESCI.

is required for change of address, and an address stencil label from a recent issue must be furnished. Claims for a missing number will be allowed only if received within 60 days from date of issue.

Annual subscriptions, \$7.50; single copies, \$.25; foreign postage, outside the Pan-American Union, \$1.00; Canadian postage, \$.50. Special rates to members

of the AAAS.

The AAAS also publishes THE SCIENTIFIC MONTHLY. Subscription and ad-