

Cladys M. Keener Executive Editor AAAS EDITORIAL BOARD Howard A. Meyerhoff, Chairman William R. Amberson Karl Lark-Horovitz Bentley Class Walter J. Nickerson F. A. Moulton, Advertising Representative

AAAS Administration-1952

THE July 4 issue, the first in Volume 116 of SCItaries and Association committees. At this time of year the section secretaries are working on the program of the Annual Meeting, to be held in St. Louis Dec. 26–31, and their addresses are of importance to members who wish to participate in the program. The list of elected officers may be found on page 3 (advertising section) of the January 4 issue of SCIENCE. Administrative officers are:

In Washington at 1515 Massachusetts Ave., N. W .:

Administrative Secretary, Howard A. Meyerhoff Assistant Administrative Secretary, Raymond L. Taylor Business Manager, Hans Nussbaum Executive Editor, Gladys M. Keener

Section Secretaries:

- Section A (Mathematics): Raymond W. Brink, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota
- Section B (Physics): Fred L. Mohler, National Bureau of Standards, Washington 25, D. C.
- Section C (Chemistry): Edward F. Degering, 1860 Colonial Drive, Memphis, Tennessee
- Section D (Astronomy): Frank K. Edmondson, Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana
- Section E (Geology and Geography): Leland Horberg, University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois
- Section F (Zoological Sciences): J. H. Bodine, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa
- Section G (Botanical Sciences): Stanley A. Cain, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan
- Section H (Anthropology): Gabriel Lasker, Wayne University College of Medicine, 1512 St. Antoine St., Detroit 26; Michigan
- Section I (Psychology): Delos D. Wickens, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
- Section K (Social and Economic Sciences): Conrad Taeuber, Bureau of the Census, Washington, D. C.
- Section L (History and Philosophy of Science): Raymond J. Seeger, National Science Foundation, Washington 25, D. C.

- Section M (Engineering): Frank D. Carvin, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, Illinois
- Section N (Medical Sciences):
 - Subsection Nm (Medicine): Gordon K. Moe, New York State University Medical School, Syracuse 10, New York
 - Subsection Nd (Dentistry): Russell W. Bunting, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan
 - Subsection Np (Pharmacy): Glenn L. Jenkins, Purdue University, Lafayette, Indiana
- Section O (Agriculture): C. E. Millar, Michigan State College, East Lansing, Michigan
- Section P (Industrial Science): N. V. Hendricks, Esso Laboratories, Linden, New Jersey
- Section Q (Education): Dean A. Worcester, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska

The work of the several committees is directed by the Executive Committee, comprising the three presidents, the Administrative Secretary, and eight members elected by the Council (SCIENCE, 115, 3 [advertising section, Jan. 4, 1952]). Efficiency within the Executive Committee is enhanced by means of subcommittees-namely, Budget (Detlev W. Bronk, chairman); Building (John R. Dunning, chairman); Publications (Fernandus Payne, chairman). Other Association committees, charged with important tasks, include Finance (Frederick P. H. Siddons, chairman); Affiliation and Association (L. V. Domn, chairman); Bylaws and Constitution (Kirtley F. Mather, chairman); Evaluation of Scientific Merit (Paul B. Sears, chairman); AAAS-George Westinghouse Science Writing Awards (Howard A. Meyerhoff, chairman); Thousand Dollar Prize (John R. Dunning, 1951 chairman); Theobald Smith Award (William S. Mc-Cann, chairman); Symposia at the St. Louis Meeting (Detlev W. Bronk, chairman); World Federation of Associations for the Advancement of Science (Kirtley F. Mather, chairman); Gordon Research Conferences (Herman Mark, chairman). Between Executive Committee meetings an Emergency Committee consisting of the three presidents acts on matters requiring prompt attention.

vertising rates on request. Cable address: ADVANCESCI.

SCIENCE, founded in 1880, is published each Friday by the American Association for the Advancement of Science at the Business Press, 10 McGovern Ave., Lancaster, Pa. Entered as second-class matter at the Post Office at Lancaster, Pa., January 13, 1948, under the Act of March 3, 1879. Acceptance for mailing at the special rate postage provided for in the Act of February 28, 1925, embodied in Paragraph (d-2) Section 34.40 P. L. & R. of 1948. All correspondence should be sent to SCIENCE, 1515 Massachusetts Ave., N.W., Washington 5, D. C. The AAAS assumes no responsibility for the safety of manuscripts or for the opinions expressed by contributors. Four weeks' notice

is required for change of address, and an address stencil label from a recent issue must be furnished. Claims for a missing number will be allowed only if received within 60 days from date of issue. Annual subscriptions, \$7.50; single copies, \$.25; foreign postage, outside the Pan-American Union, \$1.00; Canadian postage, \$.50. Special rates to members of the AAS

Pan-American Union, \$1.00; Canadian postage, \$.50. Special rates to members of the AAAS The AAAS also publishes THE SCIENTIFIC MONTHLY. Subscription and ad-