15. For forms on which to apply write to the chairman of the department.

## In the Laboratories

The Applied Physics Laboratory of The Johns Hopkins University has added Philip K. Reily, Jr., to the staff of the Solid Propellant Information Agency staff. He was formerly a research chemist with the Ohio Apex Corporation, Nitro, W. Va. Robert M. Moyerman, former chemist with Nuclear Development Associates, has joined the Research Center at the laboratory.

The James Forrestal Research Center, established in January 1951 as a memorial to the first Secretary of Defense, was formally dedicated May 17. Robert A. Lovett was the principal speaker. Most fully developed research programs at present are in aeronautical, jet propulsion, and chemical engineering. Daniel C. Sayre is director of the center.

A vinyl plastic plant built by the Japanese Geon Company, Ltd., in cooperation with B. F. Goodrich Chemical Company, has begun production at Kambara, near Tokyo. Engineering design and manufacturing techniques were furnished, and the construction supervised, by Goodrich.

Wallace L. Howe, director of development, has been appointed director of research and development of the Norton Company, following the resignation of Samuel S. Kistler, who has been a member of the research staff for nearly 17 years.

The new \$4,000,000 Sharp & Dohme Medical Research Laboratories at West Point, Pa., were dedicated May 12. As a part of the program a symposium on "Frontiers of Research on Blood and Plasma Extenders" was presented, with I. S. Ravdin as moderator. Members of the panel were Carl W. Walter, Charles A. Janeway, Charles S. Davidson, Douglas M. Surgenor, Edwin J. Pulaski, and Robert B. Pennell.

## Meetings and Elections

620

The Arkansas Academy of Science has named Delbert Swartz president, Z. V. Harvalik vice president, and William J. Smothers secretary-treasurer. The Junior Academy elected Jim Davidson, of Helena, president. Six high school seniors were honored by the two academies after having been selected as winners in the first annual Arkansas Science Talent Search. Hilary Linder, of Subiaco Academy, was presented with a scholarship to the University of Arkansas as the outstanding young scientist of the year.

Central States Section, Botanical Society of America, has completed plans for an August foray in the Lake Okoboji region, during which the annual meeting and election of officers will also be held. Registration will begin at Iowa Lakeside Laboratory, Milford, Aug. 17, and during the following three days several aquatic and prairie locales will be visited.

Registrants will be given a complete itinerary, and papers on the flora of the area. Inquiries and requests for reservations should be addressed to H. S. Conard at the Lakeside Laboratory.

At the annual meeting of the Hawaiian Academy of Science in May, Harry L. Arnold, Jr., was elected president, succeeding L. D. Baver. Doak C. Cox replaced E. H. Bryan, Jr., as secretary-treasurer. Dr. Baver's presidential address was on "The Rise and Fall of Peruvian Culture." Membership in the academy is now 344, largest in its history.

The Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory, located near Crested Butte, Colo., in the Gunnison National Forest, will celebrate its 25th anniversary on Aug. 2. Reseeding and grazing problems in the high Rockies will be discussed at the morning session and parasites of wild and domesticated mammals and birds of the West at the afternoon session. George W. Hunter III will give the principal address at noon on "Parasitic Problems of the U. S. Army in Korea and Japan." Zoologists and botanists are invited to attend the morning and afternoon programs, and to be guests at the mountain trout picnic dinner at noon. There are paved roads to within 15 miles of the laboratory.

## Miscellaneous

At its annual meeting Apr. 22, the Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association awarded Medals of Honor for individual deeds of heroism in saving life in mines and plants of the minerals industry during the past year to Dangel Lancaster, W. L. Laxton, Charles F. Wesche, E. L. Colvin, George Pejko, Jr., J. J. Sullivan, William W. Fillip, and Rayburn W. Bunton. More than 400 awards were made for exceptional safety records and outstanding supervisory work. R. G. Warncke, Bureau of Mines, was elected secretary to succeed J. J. Forbes, who became president last year.

Top awards in the third annual National Science Fair went to Doris Jean Hermes, of Martinsville, Va.; Raymond P. Oberly, of Allentown, Pa.; Gretchen Koosmann, of Los Angeles; and Elton Stubblefield, of Fort Worth. Fourteen scientific equipment and book awards are given each year in the nationwide contest, which is conducted by Science Service in cooperation with metropolitan newspapers in all parts of the country.

Victor B. Scheffer, U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service biologist in charge of the Alaska fur-seal investigations, wishes to correspond with an advanced student interested in describing the anatomy of the fur seal as material for a doctoral thesis. His address is 2725 Montlake Blvd., Seattle 2, Wash.

Correction: In the announcement concerning the third International Congress of Electroencephalography and Clinical Neurophysiology on page 458 of the April 25 issue of Science, the year was inadvertently omitted. The meeting will be held Aug. 18-21, 1963, in Boston.