tending the usefulness of their work through the forums for discussion that the conference will provide. Through association with their colleagues attending the conference from outside the Territory they look for improved relations with the great body of science which is the world's principal source of information for the guidance of humanity.

To their scientific guests, Alaskan scientists wish to extend, through the medium of the conference, the use of their facilities, and to offer their assistance in utilizing certain unique opportunities which this country affords for the advancement of science.

Further information concerning the conference may be obtained from the following sources:

Alaska: Rachel Spinney Simmet (Mrs. Robert P.),

Executive Secretary

P. O. Box 960 Anchorage, Alaska

Washington: A. L. Washburn, Director

Arctic Institute of North America

1530 P Street, N.W. Washington 5, D. C.

Please use air mail to avoid delay.

A steering committee under the chairmanship of Laurence Irving has arranged the following tentative program:

Tuesday, Sept 4-Opening Session

Evening: Address by the Chairman of the Conference, Governor Ernest Gruening

Installation of the Alaska Division in the AAAS by officials of the national association

Wednesday, Sept. 5—Survey of the Progress and Prospects of Scientific Research in Alaska

9:00-11:00 Biological Sciences

2:00-4:00 Physical Sciences

8: 00-10: 00 Social Sciences

Thursday, Sept. 6-Section Meetings

Friday, Sept. 7—Scientific Field Trips for Study of the Natural Features of the Mount McKinley Area

Saturday, Sept. 8-Business Meeting

A.M. Adoption of Constitution and By-Laws for the Alaska Division, AAAS

Election of officers for the division

Branches

At a winter meeting of the Springfield (Mass.) Branch the attention of the membership was focused on the specialized services scientists can contribute to civilian defense. R. I. Dunlap is already organizing a radiological monitoring section in the health division of Springfield's Civilian Defense organization, and specialists are being sought as volunteers for chemical analysis, special weapons of defense, bomb reconnaissance, and instruction. The meeting featured a talk by Frank D. Korkosz, of Springfield's Museum of Natural History. He discussed "The Role of the Planetarium in Modern Warfare." On May 8 the Branch participated in a joint meeting with Arcus Biologiae, the biology club of American International College. Thurlow C. Nelson, of Rutgers University, discussed "A Half-Century of Oyster Research."

New officers for the Lancaster (Pa.) Branch, elected for 1951-52, are: R. M. Foose, chairman; H. A. Robinson, vice chairman; W. G. Frankenburg, secretary; and M. A. Lewis, treasurer.

In May the AAAS Council authorized the establishment of an Alaska Division of the Association, with branches in the Anchorage and Fairbanks districts. Organization of the two branches is now complete, and for the Cook Inlet Branch the following officers have been elected: Laurence Irving, president; Don L. Irwin, vice president; Rachel E. Spinney, secretary-treasurer. Members of the executive committee are, for physical science, Charles W. Wilson, Marvin L. Slaughter; for biological science, Laurence Irving, Robert Scott; and for social science, Hugh Johnson and Lois Morey.

The Arctic Branch, centering at Fairbanks and the University of Alaska, named Andres I. Karstens, president; David Stowell, vice president; and John L. Buckley, secretary-treasurer.

The scientists of Juneau and its environs are now actively engaged in organizing a Southeastern Alaska Branch.

Academies

AAAS research grants have been given by the Florida Academy of Sciences to Edward P. St. John for work on Ophioglossaceae of the Southeast; by the Georgia Academy to H. W. Straley, III, of Georgia Institute of Technology, for studies of the subsurface structures of the coastal plain in northern Georgia: by the Indiana Academy to Winona Welch, of De Pauw University, for collecting bryophytes of Indiana, and to Duane Roller, of Wabash College, for a study of the early history of electricity from 1600 to 1775; by the Nebraska Academy to Otis Wade, of the University of Nebraska, for research on the summer activities of certain small hibernating animals; by the New Orleans Academy to Elinor H. Behre, of Louisiana State University, for studies of the effect of climate on the sexual season and sexual maturity of invertebrates, particularly crustacea; and by the Oklahoma Academy to Vincent E. Kurtz, of the University of Oklahoma.

Colorado-Wyoming Academy of Science has given AAAS research grants to Oliver V. Holtzmann, of Colorado A & M, for a study of the nature of pathogenicity in bacterial wilt of carnations, and to Charles F. Stowe, of the University of Denver, for work on the effect of methionine on growth and polycythemia in rats. Other AAAS research grants have been made by the Ohio Academy to Elizabeth W. Smith, of Kent State University, for her investigations in endocrinology, and to the Committee on Ohio Flora, to assist in a study of herbaria in Ohio, leading to the preparation of "Ohio Flora;" by the South Carolina Academy to Ruth Jones, of Winthrop College, and to A. M. Chreitzberg, Jr., of Wofford College; and by the West Virginia Academy to A. W. Scholl, of Marshall College, for research on the preparation of alkyl esters.