SECTION SECRETARIES

Mathematics—Prof. Raymond W. Brink, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Physics—Dr. Joseph C. Boyce, New York University, New York City.

Chemistry—Office of the Administrative Secretary, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Smithsonian Institution Building, Washington 25, D. C.

Astronomy—Dr. Charles C. Wylie, State University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa.

Geology and Geography—Dr. George W. White, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio.

Zoological Sciences—Dr. J. William Buchanan, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois.

Botanical Sciences—Prof. George W. Martin, State University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa.

Anthropology—Dr. Marian W. Smith, Columbia University, New York City.

Psychology-Dr. Harold E. Burtt, The Ohio State

University, Columbus, Ohio. (See special announcement below.)

Social and Economic Sciences—Dr. Bruce L. Melvin, 1355 Ingraham St., N.W., Washington, D. C.

History and Philosophy of Science—Dr. Raymond J. Seeger, Wetherhill Rd., Washington 16, D. C.

Engineering—Prof. Frank D. Carvin, Newark College of Engineering, Newark, New Jersey.

Medical Sciences—Dr. Malcolm Soule, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Subsection on Dentistry—Dr. Isaac Schour, University of Illinois College of Dentistry, Chicago, Illinois.

Subsection on Pharmacy—Dr. Glenn L. Jenkins, Purdue University School of Pharmacy, Lafayette, Indiana.

Agriculture—Prof. E. E. DeTurk, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois.

Education—Prof. D. A. Worcester, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska.

Special Notices

Members of Section I (Psychology) wishing to present papers should send abstracts to the secretary, Harold E. Burtt, Department of Psychology, The Ohio State University, Columbus 10, Ohio. Abstracts, which should be in triplicate and not over 200 words, will not be considered if they are received after 15 September. If slides, chart, or blackboard are necessary, a statement to that effect should appear at the end of the abstract. In the case of slides, please specify whether they are standard or 2×2 size. Moving pictures will not be shown in conjunction with the papers, but they may be scheduled in connection with Science Exhibition.

A motion picture theater will be set up in the Science Exhibition area at the Frst Corps Cadet Armory. The Committee on Exhibits is interested in receiving applications from scientists who have taken motion pictures of original research in the laboratory or in the field for exhibition. Films concerned with scientific research or scientific supplies prepared by commercial organizations will be considered. Equipment will also be available for showing slides. Applications for a place on the projection schedule should be obtained from: Theo. J. Christensen, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Massachusetts and Nebraska Avenues, N.W., Washington 16, D. C.

Judges Named for AAAS-George Westinghouse Science Writing Award

The Managing Committee of the AAAS-George Westinghouse Science Writing Award has announced the names of the seven judges who will select the winner for the year 1946. Morris Meister, director of the National Science Teachers Association and principal of the Bronx High School of Science, is chairman. Serving with Dr. Meister are two newspaper editors: Wilbur Forrest, of the New York Herald Tribune and president of the American Society of Newspaper Editors, and W. S. Gilmore, of the Detroit News and past president of ASNE. The AAAS is represented by James B. Conant and Anton J. Carlson. The two additional judges representing the public are Miss Sally Butler, president of the

National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs, and Senator Elbert D. Thomas of Utah, chairman of the Senate Military Affairs Committee and a member of the AAAS.

The Science Writing Award consists of a \$1,000 prize to the writer of the newspaper science story which wins the approval of the judges. A certificate of merit goes to the newspaper. The funds for this purpose were provided by the Westinghouse Educational Foundation and are administered by the AAAS through a committee. Entry blanks and rules governing the competition may be secured from W. L. Valentine, chairman of the Committee, Massachusetts and Nebraska Avenues, N.W., Washington 16, D. C.