portion of the objectives of the earlier society.³ Henry Lane Kendrick, of the West Point class of 1835, and Jacob Whitman Bailey, of the class of 1832, both of whom served as professors at the Military Academy, were also charter members. The latter became a regular contributor to the *Proceedings* of the Association after 1849. Alexander D. Bache, of the class of 1825, was a charter member and president for 1850. Other

³ See Proc. Amer. Ass. Adv. Sci., August 1849, p. 65.

charter members of the Association who were also graduates of the Military Academy were J. J. Abert, James D. Graham, H. W. Halleck, Daniel Ruggles, J. G. Totten, and Charles Whittlesey.

Without question The Associate Society of West Point of the American Association for the Promotion of Science, Literature, and the Arts was a direct forerunner of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Science Legislation

S. 1850 in the House

Howard A. Meyerhoff, Executive Secretary, AAAS

The vote in the Senate on S. 1850 was conclusive and gratifying, but the division of 48 to 18 cut too close to party lines to be entirely satisfactory to scientists. The deletion of the provision creating a Division of Social Sciences in the National Science Foundation was a major casualty, but it was the only one the bill suffered. Perhaps a Division of Social Sciences will be restored in House action, but this is less a problem now than to persuade the House that action should be taken on any National Science Foundation bill, in these last, crowded days of the 79th Congress.

Heretofore, scientists have had little professional interest in, and little occasion to learn, the established modes of Congressional procedure, but intimate knowledge of procedure is critical now.

The House has before it two bills of its own: (1) H.R. 6448, the Mills Bill, which is the exact duplicate of the Senate's discarded Magnuson Bill, S. 1285; and (2) H.R. 6672, the Celler Bill, which is identical with S. 1850, unamended. In addition, it now has (3) the Senate bill S. 1850, as amended and passed. All these bills have been referred to the Subcommittee on Public Health in the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce. Any one of these bills must first be reported favorably by the Subcommittee on Public Health to the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, which, in turn, must report it favorably to the House, where it must be placed upon the calendar by the Committee on Rules, before it can be debated on the floor.

Only the conviction that the legislation is both sound and urgent will move these several committees to act with the dispatch which is essential. And it is up to the scientists to give the members of these committees that conviction.

This is, again, a time for action! No individual scientist can allow summer teaching, research, or relaxation to interfere with his duty to let his congressman

know his position on these bills. It makes no difference if he has written sometime before this. He must write again, or better, telegraph, or even use the telephone, but in some manner, he must communicate with the following key people in the House!

- (1) Members of the Subcommittee on Health, who include: J. Percy Priest, Chairman, Tennessee; Vito Marcantonio, New York; Clarence J. Brown, Ohio; Alfred L. Bulwinkle, North Carolina; Virgil Chapman, Kentucky; Wilson D. Gillette, Pennsylvania; Thomas D. Winter, Kansas.
- (2) Members of the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, who include, in addition to the 7 Representatives of the Subcommittee listed above: Clarence F. Lea, Chairman, California; Robert Crosser, Ohio; Lyle H. Boren, Oklahoma; Lindley Beckworth, Texas; Oren Harris, Arkansas; George D. Sadowski, Michigan; Richard F. Harless, Arizona; John W. Murphy, Pennsylvania; Edward A. Kelley, Illinois; Luther Patrick, Alabama; John B. Sullivan, Missouri; Dwight L. Rogers, Florida; Benjamin J. Rabin, New York; Charles A. Wolverton, New Jersey; Pehr G. Holmes, Massachusetts; B. Carroll Reece, Tennessee; Charles A. Halleck, Indiana; Carl Hinshaw, California; Evan Howell, Illinois; Leonard W. Hall, New York; Joseph P. O'Hara, Minnesota.

It is not enough merely to ask for action; you must name the bill you favor.

AAAS Council voted 233 to 10 to support S. 1850, which incorporates carefully evolved compromises on the controversial issues. These issues were re-introduced into H.R. 6448 to the disadvantage of the larger body of scientists.

It should also be remembered that, if the House passes a bill other than the amended Senate bill, there will be three more hurdles for the National Science Foundation to take before Congress adjourns: the bills must then go to conference; the final bill adopted in conference must be approved in the Senate and in the House.

Failure to clear any one of these committees, or the House, means the death of the National Science Foundation in this session of Congress!