S. 1717

S. 1463

S. 1557

ORGANIZATION

A. Structure

Bill creates five-man Commission, all members serving full-time. Four subordinate Directors to have functions as assigned by Commission. Express provisions against conflict of interests.

Bill creates nine-man Commission, all members serving on a part-time basis. Administrator and Deputy Administrator. Administrator given powers fully as broad as those of Commission.² Commission members exempted from statutes prohibiting dealings with Government by Government employees.

Bill creates nine-man Commission consisting of five Cabinet members and four public members. members serve on a part-time basis. Administrator and Deputy Administrator function under direction of Commission.

B. Appointment and Removal

by President. Administrator and Deputy Administrator appointed

- 1. Members of Commission and four 1. Directors appointed by President.
- 2. All must be civilians.

Forces.

by Commission.

- 3. All serve at pleasure of President. 3. Members of Commission appointed for nine-year terms. Removable only for cause.
 - ² H.R. 4566 makes Administrator clearly subject to directions of Commission.
- Members of Commission appointed 1. Four public members of Commission appointed by President. Administrator and Deputy Administrator appointed by Commission.
- Neither public members nor Administrator nor Deputy Adminis-All may be members of the Armed 2. trator may be members of the Armed Forces.
 - Public members of Commission appointed for six-year terms. No restrictions on President's removal authority.

Association Affairs

The Science Writers Annual Award

The George Westinghouse Science Writing Award Fund, to give national recognition to newspaper writers and newspapers contributing most to better popular understanding of the achievements of science and technology, has been announced by Dr. F. R. Moulton, permanent secretary. The fund has been provided by the Westinghouse Educational Foundation, which is supported by the Westinghouse Electric Corporation, in commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the birth of George Westinghouse. The fund will be administered by the AAAS, Dr. Moulton said, "to help develop closer cooperation between scientists and news writers in keeping the public informed of scientific developments which more and more affect our lives in this atomic age."

The fund provides two annual awards: (1) a cash award of \$1,000 to a newspaper writer for outstanding science reporting of the year; (2) a citation to the newspaper whose science news coverage in the preceding year is adjudged most complete and authoritative and most interestingly presented. In addition, there may also be awarded at the direction of the Awards Committee special citations in recognition of distinguished service in science journalism.

The first annual awards, covering the year 1946, will be made at the winter meeting of the AAAS in December 1946. Details of the judging and presentation of awards will be made at the spring meeting of the Association in St. Louis, 27-31 March. Members of the Awards Committee which will administer the fund include: Dr. Anton J. Carlson, chairman of the Executive Committee; Dr. Otis W. Caldwell, general secretary; Dr. Moulton; Watson Davis, director of Science Service and a past president of the National Association of Science Writers; Robert Potter, science editor of the American Weekly and a founder of the National Association of Science Writers; Dr. Morris Meister, principal of the Bronx (New York) High School of Science; G. Edward Pendray, public relations counsel; and James A. Baubie, public relations director of the Westinghouse Electric Corporation.

"Heretofore," said Dr. Moulton, "prizes, medals, and citations in the fields of science have been given only for distinguished scientific researches or for contributions to scientific theories. The science writing award is something different from previous recognitions of contributions to the advancement of science. It will be an award for superior science writing for lav readers."