versity of Sofia, Bulgaria, showing that Professor Kostoff has been active scientifically all through the war and is still working in Sofia."

ANNIVERSARY OF THE ACADEMY OF SCIENCES OF THE SOVIET UNION

THE names of American scientific men who left New York early in June to attend at the invitation of the Soviet Government the two hundred and twentieth anniversary of the Academy of Sciences of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, which was held from June 15 to 28 in Moscow and Leningrad, were given in the issue of SCIENCE for June 15. A party of scientific men left England for Russia on June 13. A farewell party was held at Burlington House, London, on the preceding day, when the scientists met the Soviet Ambassador, Mr. Gusev, and members of the Royal Society. It was arranged that members-of the party would include:

Professor N. K. Adam, F.R.S., Professor E. N. da C. Andrade, F.R.S. (representing the Physical Society; also the University of London), Professor E. D. Adrian, F.R.S. (also representing the University of Cambridge), Professor J. D. Bernal, F.R.S., Professor P. M. S. Blackett, F.R.S., Professor Max Born, F.R.S., Professor V. Gordon Childe, F.S.A. (also representing the Royal Society of Edinburgh), Dr. E. M. Crowther, F.I.C., Sir Charles Darwin, F.R.S. (also representing the Institution of Naval Architects), Professor P. A. M. Dirac, F.R.S., Professor F. G. Donnan, F.R.S. (also representing the Chemical Society), Mr. W. N. Edwards, F.G.S., Professor C. N. Hinshelwood, F.R.S. (also representing the University of Oxford), Sir Thomas Holland, F.R.S. (representing the Geological Society), Dr. J. S. Huxley, F.R.S., Sir Harold Spencer Jones, F.R.S. (Astronomer Royal), Professor E. A. Milne, F.R.S., Professor N. F. Mott, F.R.S., Dr. Alex Muir, Professor R. G. W. Norrish, F.R.S., Dr. W. G. Ogg, Lord Radnor- (representing the Rothamsted Experimental Station), Professor E. K. Rideal, F.R.S., Sir Robert Robinson (representing the Royal Society of London), Professor A. Sorsby (representing the Anglo-Soviet Medical Council), Professor R. H. Tawney, Dr. Henry Thomas, F.B.A., F.S.A. (representing the British Museum), Professor D. M. S. Watson, F.R.S. (also representing the British Association), and Dr. W. A. Wooster (representing the Association of Scientific Workers).

At the last minute, however, the Government refused to allow eight of the group to leave the country because the work on which they were engaged was too important to put aside.

The men who were not allowed to go were Sir Charles Darwin, Professor Blackett, Professor Norrish, Professor Bernal, Professor Dirac, Professor Mott, Professor Milne and Professor Rideal. All are engaged on work of the greatest importance in the production of war materials and research.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE honorary doctorate of laws was conferred on June 23 by the University of California on Dr. Lewis M. Terman. On June 28, at Harvard University, his son, Dr. Frederick E. Terman, director of the radio research laboratory, was awarded the honorary doctorate of science.

THE University of Hawaii conferred the degree of doctor of laws on Thomas A. Jaggar at its thirtyfourth annual commencement exercises on June 12. Dr. Jaggar gave the commencement address, which was entitled "The Great Reversal."

THE honorary degree of doctor of science has been conferred by the University of Manitoba on Dr. Thorbergur Thorvaldson, head of the department of chemistry of the University of Saskatchewan.

DR. WARD V. EVANS, chairman of the department of chemistry of Northwestern University, will receive the 1945 Honorary Scroll Award from the Chicago Chapter of the American Institute of Chemists, in recognition of his "outstanding achievements in the field of chemistry, as a great teacher, as an industrial consultant, and for his high civic spirit." He will retire on September 1, after having been a member of the faculty of the university since 1916. Past recipients of the Honorary Scroll Award have included Professor V. N. Ipatieff, of Northwestern University; Dr. F. C. Koch, of the University of Chicago, and Dr. R. B. Harper, of the Peoples Gas Light and Coke Co.

It is reported in the British Medical Journal that during his recent tour in Sweden to lecture on penicillin, under the auspices of the British Council and at the invitation of the Swedish Medical Society, Sir Howard Florey, F.R.S., was honored with the presentation of the Berzelius Medal in Silver. This medal was presented to members of the Swedish royal family and certain other distinguished persons when it was instituted in 1850. It has not been awarded since that time.

THE Legion of Merit has been awarded to Lieutenant Colonel Arthur H. Warner, associate professor of physics at the University of California at Los Angeles and head of the technical section of the air defense division of the Supreme Headquarters of the Allied Expeditionary Forces, "for his excellent work during the European invasion and campaign."