Junior College on April 14, under the chairmanship of Dr. W. Armstrong Price, of Corpus Christi. Fiftyfive persons registered for the meeting. Twenty papers were presented, covering a wide variety of scientific subjects from astronomy to zoology. In addition to Dr. Price, those who were active in organizing the meeting included Dr. Gordon Gunter, Institute of Marine Science, University of Texas, Rockport, and Dr. J. C. Cross, Texas College of Arts and Industries, Kingsville, who worked with the following committee on local arrangements: Professor John S. Kelley, of the department of chemistry, and Professor S. S. Wilks, of the department of biology, both of Corpus Christi Junior College; and Professor B. E. Schulze, of the department of science of the Senior High School.

The executive council of the academy was represented at the meeting by Dean W. R. Woolrich, of the School of Engineering of the University of Texas, and past president of the academy. The principal address was given by Dr. E. J. Lund, of the university, who spoke on a proposed new "Institute of Marine Science" on the Texas Gulf Coast.

The Program Committee was made up of Dr. J. C. Cross, chairman of the department of biology of the Texas College of Arts and Industries, Kingsville; Dr. W. Armstrong Price, of Corpus Christi; J. Sutton Myers, of the Soil Conservation Service, Raymond-ville; Mrs. L. Irby Davis, of the department of science, Senior High School, Harlingen; and Miss Velma Wilson, of the department of science, Junior College, Brownsville.

Officers elected for the coming year are, President, Professor S. W. Bass, Texas College of Arts and Industries, Kingsville; Vice-president, Professor J. S. Kelley, Corpus Christi Junior College; Secretary-Treasurer, Dr. Otto R. Nielsen, dean of the faculty of the Texas College of Arts and Industries.

THE VIRGINIA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

For the first time since its organization twenty-three years ago, the Virginia Academy of Science held this year on May 11 a "skeleton" meeting attended primarily by officers, members of the council, chairmen

of committees and sections, and those living close to the place of meeting, Richmond. In the morning, a joint meeting of the executive committee of the Virginia Social Science Association and council members of the academy was held to consider ways and means by which both organizations might-work together for the welfare of the state. At the academy meeting in the afternoon, progress reports were made concerning the eighty active science clubs, the cooperation between the academy and the State Department of Education in eventually making it possible for pupils in the public-school system of Virginia to know more about local natural resources, the "machinery" set-up to make an inventory of the research facilities in state institutions and industrial laboratories, the plan to enroll in the academy more scientists from industry, the proposed Virginia Research Institute, the scholarships set aside by all the colleges of Virginia as awards in a Science Talent Search on a state level, the investigative work on local flora, the James River Monograph, the proposed State Science Museum and the endowment fund which now amounts to approximately \$14.000. A resolution was adopted favoring the "Scientific and Technological Manpower Bill," H.R. 2827.

Dr. Robert F. Smart, in retiring as president, pointed out how effectively members of the academy had contributed to the welfare of Virginia during the past year by cooperating fully with various agencies of the State and Federal governments, the State Chamber of Commerce, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the National Science Talent Search directors and educational institutions. H. R. Hanmer, director of research for the American Tobacco Company, was installed as president for the coming year. The following officers were elected by ballot: Dr. Arthur Bevan, State Geologist, Presidentelect; Dr. E. C. L. Miller, directing librarian at the Medical College of Virginia, Secretary-Treasurer; Dr. Sidney S. Negus, professor of chemistry at the Medical College of Virginia, Assistant Secretary; Dr. Gillie A. Larew, professor of mathematics, Randolph-Macon Woman's College, and Dr. Pearl M. Patterson, professor of biology, Hollins College, as new members of the council.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Huxley Medal for 1945 has been conferred on Dr. A. L. Kroeber, professor of anthropology at the University of California at Berkeley, by the Council of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland. Dr. Kroeber will deliver a lecture before the institute some time in November.

THE Lister Medal for 1945, awarded in recognition

of distinguished contributions to surgical science, has been presented to Professor Sir Howard W. Florey, F.R.S., of the University of Oxford, for his work on penicillin and its application. He will deliver the Lister Memorial Lecture, the date of which has not yet been announced.

THE Patron's Medal of the Royal Geographical